We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent resort in a world-famous Pacific Rim”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was our first time in Tofino. We heard a lot about it and now - after our visit - we finally understand, why do so many people go there :-) Nowhere else you'd see such breathtaking views that are just indescribable with simple words!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Karina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

A first class place on the beach...we we do mean ON the beach, just south of Tofino. I'm writing this as the sun is going down behind the fog (fog is "usual" here). The islands just offshore with a few pines and other trees...the people wading in the water...the pines in the foreground: all would make a wonderful picture if I were not too comfortable to walk down to the car and get the camera.

This place is NOT CHEAP! The rooms are expensive, and the view demands it! Our "inexpensive" room is $245 (C$)/ night. For us, this is a "treat" habitation.

The whole thing is lovely, but, well, we're worried that it might not be so in a few years: The paint work and sealing on the outdoor wood (the whole place is wood, of course, given the location) needs painting or staining. No, it isn't "shabby", but the rails are dried out and splintery, the siding needs a little work, etc. Good enough for now, but, in a few years?

The beach is to die for! Must be a mile or more long (shared with other habitations),even on this holiday weekend it wasn't crowded. No surf here (off shore islands), but wonderful "beach walking". Very fine, pleasant-to-walk-on sand. Water warm enough for a toe or two...kids would probably find it fine.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a "sea view", so pick the accessories you want: in winter I'd w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend on Vancouver Island and stayed one night at the Best Western Tin Wis in Tofino. Our only regret is that we didn't stay an additional night. The view is spectacular and the beach is lovely. At night there are fires permitted all along the beach. It is family friendly. The restaurant is reasonably priced, considering it is in a hotel, and the food was excellent. The only negative is that we were on the ground floor and the noise from the room above disturbed us. When they showered or walked around it was very loud. I suggest a top floor. Other than that the location, food, accommodation and people were all great.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room to avoid the noise of those walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great Best Western with private beach access. All rooms have great view of the ocean. Was able to get a very reasonable rate for Tofino. Great value for the location of the hotel. Wifi is very poor though - often doesn't work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spud0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband didn't book his summer holiday vacation until the last minute and we go to Long Beach every year or at least, try to. As this would be my husband's last year before retiring, I wanted to ensure we got in as much relaxation as possible before the big date, so I tried to get us in where ever I could on such short notice - and that was the Best Western. As we always get a kitchen unit, we booked the King kitchenette unit and these are painfully expensive during the high season and the "kitchenettes" really aren't that handy when you are used to a full kitchen unit.

The "kitchenette was not our problem - the king sized bed that was like sleeping on a slab of concrete was definitely putting a kink in our summer getaway! I requested 2 additional blankets, hoping that if we slept on the duvet and covered up with the blankets, it would pad the mattress enough to give us some relief. This helped me somewhat but my husband ended up sleeping on the couch - or at least attempting to sleep on the couch. This was 3 nites of hell.

We did not complain to the hotel as I felt that all mattresses would be the same in the hotel and what exactly could they do at this point?

We found that all the staff that we encountered were more than friendly and we had no problem with them at all. The restaurant was great, though we only had two breakfasts there. Frankly when you are as sleep deprived as we were you kind of lose your appetite!

Room Tip: Maybe you can find out ahead of time whether there are options such as a foamy to go on top of the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesmocellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our resort, your honest feedback is very important in allowing us to work at improving our product and service. I am sorry that you found the sleep set to be too firm, I know what it is like to have a poor nights sleep. Unfortunately this is a matter of personal preference, and obviously the degree of firmness is much higher than what you are used too at home.

Again, I am sorry that you did not sleep well.

Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If it was anywhere else you would question the nightly cost. Summer visits to Tofino are expensive, everything costs more than it really should if it were not for the beaches, the scenery, and, if the weather holds, the sunshine on the water and surrounding islands. Went back to Tin Wis (used to visit on business in the area) for friends' wedding on the beach in front of the hotel. The sun was lovely (as was the bride), the reception catering was well done and the country/bluegrass band at the reception was in keeping with the event (bride arrived at the reception on the back of the groom's a big blue Harley ). All the rooms face the beach and have balconies or little patios. Secure your reservations well ahead if you want a particular weekend, people from Vancouver, out of province and outside Canada arrive by float plane, helicopter and car.

Room Tip: One room 706 is two level with two balconies, bed on each level, one bath...could work for friends w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenda002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel has an amazing position on the beach of the Pacific Ocean-how amazing can that be. The room was large with a kitchen area and a small bathroom. Like others have said you can hear other guests in their rooms and along the corridors. The view from our room was perfect for sunsets. The dining room was lovely and the food and service were good. This really is a good choice. We too stayed when there had been a wedding on the beach. Food in the restaurant was still fine, as was the service. It didn't pose problems for us. The Internet wasn't brilliant, but was better than we have had during our time in Canada. It's a great place to be.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sla40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tin Wis Resort

Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Best Western Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $81 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing