We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“What A View”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Tin Wis resort on Boxing Day, 2012. The sun came out, we walked the beach, we saw eagles and surfers and many happy people. The rooms were clean, well appointed, and very large. Every room has a fabulous view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarisonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    485
    120
    51
    24
See reviews for
323
612
40
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have been to this beautiful property twice in 2012 and I would highly recommend it. I found the staff at the front desk and in housekeeping all very helpful and accommodating. We had a top floor room looking out over Mackenzie beach and the view was breathtaking. I would refer friends and family to this property in a heartbeat

Room Tip: Top floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krazysexykool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for one night at a Last Minute Special Rate of CAD 111.99 on BEST WESTERN website and was pleasantly surprised with this First Nations run hotel. Our quiet room was on the second floor of the main building. From the small balcony or the window on the upper floor, you get a direct view of the waves and Mackenzie beach. Free continental breakfast is adequate. Front desk staff are helpful and courteous. It was mostly the view of the beach and ocean that was stunning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theoldtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Special package listed in Vancouver newspaper, $269 plus taxes for 3 nights including continental breakfast between Christmas and New Years. ($60 extra for 3rd adult for the 3 nights). Best rate on their web site was $119 plus taxes per night.
All rooms have a great view of the ocean (Rooms in the 100's are on the ground floor of the main building, 200's on the second floor, 300's on the ground floor of the southern or left hand building which angles closer to the ocean, 400's on the second floor, 500's, 600's and 700's in the northern building on the ground, second and third floor respectively). Hot tub, sauna and fitness centre are at the ocean end of the south building. Dining room and lobby are in the middle building, with fine views from the restaurant.
Room was clean, well maintained, beds were comfortable, good shower pressure, no sounds from adjacent rooms. We were on the second floor of the main building so no noise from above. Free wi-fi was reasonably fast. Business centre has only one computer and a printer. It seemed slower than wi-fi in the rooms.
Didn't have dinner in the restaurant so can't comment. No lunch service, at least in low season. Free continental breakfast was fresh fruit, 3 kinds of yogurt, 3 types of dry cereal, cinnamon buns, strudel, bagels and muffins, waffle maker, tea and coffee. Toast, juice, eggs, breakfast meats can be ordered a la carte for an extra charge.
One day our room wasn't made up, even though the 'please make-up room' sign was posted on the door for over 4 hours. That and the fact that some of the staff could have been a little warmer and more helpful meant that I couldn't give a 5 circle rating, but for the rate paid, we felt it was excellent value.

Room Tip: If we went back, would choose the top floor of the south building to be closer to ocean for wave sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBofDeltaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here with our inlaws Dec 26 to the 29th and had a pleasant experience. The location is stunning but you do know you are staying at a Best Western. The rooms were clean and all have great views but are three star standards. That being said the beds are very comfortable. The staff were usually very polite but you can tell are there for the job and that is all. The restaurant food was quite good but the service is very slow and inneficient. The "fitness center" is comprised of three rusty cardio machines on the upper level of the hot tub room. None of us even tried using them as the room is steamy with the hottub vapors. We did not venture into the hot tub either as it is indoor and not very appealing. When our family left my wife and I moved to the Blackrock in Uclulet mostly because we wanted a better gym and hot tub and bathroom. All in all the Tin Wis is a great value and location with sub par service and totally inadequate fitness and leisure faciltiies. If you are on a budget this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Perfect for surfers to stay on the first floor for walk out surfing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Dining room service is the worst. Have to everything yourself it seems. The hotel room wasn't even cleaned when we entered room at 6 pm so changed rooms. No compensation of any kind was offered. The view and location is amazing. Highly recommend based on price only otherwise don't expect much.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blazer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tin Wis Resort

Property: Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Best Western Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing