We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    413
    111
    46
    24
See reviews for
272
502
32
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ST. ALBERT
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our November trip to the Pacific Rim on Vancouver Island was truly amazing, thanks to Tin Wis. The hotel is situated directly behind the beach with a clear view of the ocean just steps away. We go everywhere with our 4 legged child, a border collie, and Tin Wis welcomed her warmly. They have an amazing set up for dogs - doggie bags, a warm water washing station to get the sand off, a great beach to run on, just an all round great place for a dog. All pet owners were very responsible with their animals.

Our room was cozy and perfect for a 4 day stay. We had patio doors that allowed us to walk directly into the green space and to the beach. We kept our window open slightly every night to hear the ocean while we slept. The hot tub and sauna were spotless and there was a well equipped exercise room. The staff were extremely friendly, efficient and professional. The restaurant (overlooking the beach) was amazing - the food was great, service impeccable and the location priceless. We travel a lot and eat and stay in some pretty nice places. The Best Western Tin Wis is close to the top of our hotel/motel experiences.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank RockyMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very comfortable king size bed, good water pressure in the shower, nice fireplace and unique 1st nations artwork on the walls. And the view was unbeatable! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The price was a bit higher than we normally pay but that's just Tofino.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor & the view was fabulous. (#701)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie,Western Austarlia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife & I stayed at best Western Tin Wis for one night on our recent Canadian trip, we hadnt expected to as we were booked into a small establishment in the centre of Tofino, but they closed down, didnt even bother letting their caretaker or rellies know what was going on, as far as they were aware no bookings had been made so whilst driving around we saw the sign to a Best Western and as we tend to stay at Best Western in Australia and we had already stayed at Best Westerns in Banff and Jasper (and it was a wise move as both had been very good) we thought we would see if Tin Wis had any vacancies, they did and we consider ourselves lucky they did because we cannot say enough about it,great new, spacoius buildings and rooms,so clean and tidy.
We had a ground floor superior room with a balcony that opened straight onto the lawns and beach.
So so scenic,what a picture book setting.
We ate at the restaurant that night and again for breakfast and once again,great meals good staff,the lady on the front counter so so good to deal with as well.
Will definitely stay here again and for more than one night!

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otistdriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Excellent property, reasonable price, all rooms face the ocean. Housekeeping staff excellent. Restaurant on site, although did not eat there as under renovation for majority of our stay. Located two minutes from Chesterman Beach and five minutes from Tofino. Wonderful friendly staff, guest laundry, hot tub.

Yetiman, High River, AB

Room Tip: Had a kingsize bed with Kitchenette, balcony, great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yetiman508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Best Western Tin Wis in tofino for 1 night November 6 for a quick getaway. Last time we stayed in tofino was about 10 years ago and we had stayed at Long Beach Lodge which had been wonderful but quite pricey. We decided to cheap out this time and stay at Tin Wis. Overall this is a decent hotel. Our room was clean, we stayed in an ocean view King bed room with fridge and paid the extra for micriwave in room. The view from the room was lovely, fireplace in the room was also a nice touch. Big private balcony with chairs were nice to watch the waves roll in. I dunno, it's an ok hotel, but for the price...my hair just wasn't blown back. We tried out the hot tub, was extraordinarily hot. Boiling really. Any more than 5 mins in it, and we'd surely have cooked our livers. I had read previous reviews on how nice it was to overlook the ocean in the hottub but personally found the windows were so steamed up it was impossible to look out. Anyway, we had been advised when we booked that the restaurant would be closed due to renovations, however construction started at 8am with skill saw and hammers banging away right outside of our room. Nice way to wake up...not. The staff at this resort I must mention were fabulous! Very friendly. We did mention how upset we were to wake up to all the racket and the manager promptly emailed me offering 50% off our next stay which was kind. Overall like I said before, for the price of the room it was just "ok". Would I stay again? Probably not, but that's just me. I'd either pay more to stay somewhere nicer or pay less somewhere else and feel like I got a bargain. Cheers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toshposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a typical modern Canadian hotel with a wonderful view across the bay, set in pine trees not far from down town Tofino. Beautiful sunsets. Restaurant very good. Service excellent. Rooms comfortable and well equipped.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 17 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 17 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing