We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“fantastic value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. We had stayed here 5 years ago and the service, amenities and experience was just as good as our previous visit. Very spacious, well appointed rooms. Lovely location on the ocean with superb views. Very friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    461
    118
    48
    24
See reviews for
306
568
38
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed in August and were blown away by the location and views from our room. The only thing that let this visit down was the quality of service and food in the hotels restaurant - Go out, there are lots of great places in Tofino.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoRoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Last year we were at the Tin Wis in October for two days so this year we decided to return for three days because last year was so wonderful. We arrived on a Monday, expecting no problems without a reservation and there was plenty of vacancy inspite of it being Thanksgiving. We were issued a pet friendly room and charged extra for the pet (a common but agravating situation). The room had a king bed and fireplace BUT was completely shaded from the sun and the view was obstructed by a bump out of the next rooms. I believe the room was 304. Last year we were in the main building and looked straight out with full sun and view, so we requested that same room which was vacant. We were told that those rooms were remodeled and not pet friendly so they moved us to room 302 which was two queen beds, no fireplace and had only a slightly better view and sun exposure than 304. The front desk says the extra fee is for extra cleaning but the carpet in the room had obviously not been cleaned in some time as there were LOTS of stains from food and urine. We reported this and they said "oh, we haven't had time to clean the carpets yet". PET OWNERS ARE CHARGED EXTRA, BUT DON'T GET EXTRA! Then the smoke detector began to "beep". An employee was dispatched and he said he fixed it by exchanging the battery with an unocupied unit. In reality he lied...they don't have batteries and are hard wired but he just disconnected the unit. No more "beeping" but no more detecting either. The pillows were very lumpy and firmer than I like so I awoke with a stiff neck and to make it short, we left after 2 days. In compliments, the outside and the grounds have had upgrades and the new outdoor seating and BB-Q areas are nice additions and the exterior is in good repair. But, the Calm Waters restaurant quality has not maintained the high level that it was last year. In sumation, why are pet owners penalized by higher fees but lesser quality rooms? Most of our pets make less mess than toddlers and are quieter. I don't believe toddlers are charged extra. We don't leave our pets unattended and if they are with us they have been trained to behave and are house broken. We don't want anything to happen to them any more than parents of children want misshaps. However, we pay extra and can't enjoy amenities and accomodations that others take for granted.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300 building have less view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide me with your feedback - I apologize for the problems with the smoke detector (we had no maintenence staff available that evening to replace the unit) I also apologise for the house-keeping issues you mentioned and I will address wit the department head.

Please contact me directly as I would like to make you a special offer by way of apology. I can be reached toll free at 1-800-661-9995
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A truly pleasent place to set your head. Clean well managed and the location - one should feel honored to be there. For centuries this location is the Tla-o-qui-aht First Nations home and we get to use it. At the price there is no better deal I know off for Tofino area hotel.

Room Tip: Whether you take second floor or the patio level will be a personal preference - no mistake in eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobFarr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We returned to the Tin Wis as we had enjoyed our stay there 5 years ago. The hotel is still as good and the rooms very comfortable. However the Calm Waters restaurant lets the hotel down.In the evening service and food were good once you got past the miserable lady who shows you to your table. One evening our table was in a dark part of the room and we asked to be moved to another table in better light but she refused as it was for someone who was waiting.
At the breakfast buffet though, dishes are not replenished often enough so you take your chance whether there is anything to eat. They charge $14.95 for the buffet even if you only want a continental breakfast and if you ask for fruit jice in addition to coffe you get charged extra - what a rip off.
On one morning we were there, there was only oe waiter and although he worked hard we even had to get our own cutlery. The restaurant should have provided more staff. When we asked about dishes being replenished we were told that the chef was busy preparing Lunch boxes for a tour group, what about your other guests, don't they deserve good service?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suma16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Please accept my apologies for the lack of service received in our restaurant, we are currently peparing to move to a complimentary breakfast for all resort guests, buffet style, and preparing to do extensive renovations to the restaurant. I will address the scheduling issue as well as how your comments were handled, with the supervisor. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, as we need to know what aspects ofour product and service need improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Best Western and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean, surprisingly spacious and very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and they have a great restaurant on site with delicious food. One of the best moments was being able to sit on our balcony and watch the sunset over the beach. The beach is fun for exploring and what a view to wake up to every morning! I had no complaints and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller3229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just out to Tofino for a couple of days and wanted to stay somewhere on the beach. The B&B we've stayed at before (BriMar) was fully booked so decided on a Best Western as most of the big resorts are very expensive even this time of year. Good hotel, very good staff - the room we settled on was bright and very clear with a balcony overlooking the beach and the Pacific. Still expensive but a little cheaper if you book over the internet. If you do go try and you don't need a kitchenette and get a room in the C building on the 3rd floor for a great view.

Room Tip: it looks like there is 1 room on a 4th floor that would have a great view - otherwise the C building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beach1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing