We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lies, all lies!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lies, all lies!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in a suite in June. The described soaker tub surrounded by glass windows was not even large enough for a child! The blinds were falling off and we could not close them! The kitchenette was a joke. No kettle! The long balcony was so narrow, it was hard to pass someone without bumping into them!!! The pull out sofa was so uncomfortable, it made sleeping impossible! Dirty bathrooms with missing labels on the products made it a guessing game as to which product was what! The only good thing was the view! Still not worth the price I paid for this two night stay in this dive of a MOTEL not a hotel! The rating should be changed! Service at the restaurant was so slow that unless you are prepared to wait 45 minutes to get a mere coffee, I suggest driving to Tofino and finding a place the cares about it's customers. Oh, I could go on and on, but get upset at the memory of a complete waste of money! Be ware as Tofino is wonderful.....rain or shine, but it is neither if you stay at the Best Western Tin Wis!!!!!

Room Tip: If you'd like a good room, Go somewhere else!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Please accept my apologies for your dissatisfaction with your stay her last month. Had I been aware of your problems I would have been happy to arrange a solution with you after you registered. I am very surprised at the number of issues you had as this is absolutely not indicative of the product or service we offer to our guests. Please contact me directly so we can discuss this further - 1-800-661-9995

Regards,

Paul Dodds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    451
    116
    48
    24
See reviews for
294
558
37
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicoutimi, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I didn't expect such a wonderful place from a Best Western, all my excuses to the name. This place is owned by the local Native community, and it has style, lots of beautiful pieces of art and craftsmanship, and the view, oh my, the view. Our room, (706) had two stories, the top one like an open mezzanine with queen bed, patio door, terrace, and a magnificent view of the Pacific, the little rocky islands, and calm waters (hence the name, Tin Wis). First floor had also a queen, a sofa bed, and another terrace, etc. Wireless internet too. Free....All furniture was or looked brand new, was comfortable, great beddings with lots of pillows; regular bathroom with all the necessities. A small fridge, but I peeked in other rooms that seemed to have kitchenette as well. The food at Calm Waters dining room was very tasty, with local fish and fresh seafood,
and oh my god, do try the oaties pancakes for breakfast. All servings were big to our standards, we are from Quebec. But then, all serving in BC and Alberta were that way.
I would return to this place tomorrow. The beach is easy, great for toddlers, but the ocean is really cold there.... Enjoy!!!! The only downside, gee, it is far from home....
This room, for a family of 5, was perfect.

Room Tip: The service at dining room is a bit slow in bringing the orders out of the kitchen, but the people a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupin15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We came off from staying 4 nights at Pacific Sands, which is a one bedroom suite so this isn't a fair comparison as we had a room with just a kitchenette at Tinwis. The room was small, with little space to put our luggage. The kitchenette only has a few dishes. You are paying for the view, since this is a beachfront property. Housekeeping was good, but a bit wasteful because we hung our towels on the racks (following Best Western's advice to save the environment) but they washed them all anyway, and even threw away the handsoap which we used only a little.

The staff were ok, not as friendly as at Pacific Sands. We paid the same price for Pacific Sands and that was a much better deal for service and accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseibi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I will discuss with house-keeping, the points you made about conservation. We work diligently at being a "Green " property and attention to detail is important in the whole approach to water and energy conservation.

Regards,

Paul Dodds BSc. CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

During our stay we had to wait for dinner main course over an hour and half ;for breakfast the next morning 40 minutes and came back from day out to find roon un-serviced.
To make matters worse there were no aplogies from house keeping or front office who presumed (wrongly) that we had left up the do not disturb sign ( the handy man volunteered to service bathroom did apologize for lack of service)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AP4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for your honest feedback - I apologize for the delay in the restaurant and for House-keeping missing your room. This should not happen and I have addressed with the House-keeping Team. Should you be visiting the area again I would be pleased to offer you a special discount, as I would like the chance to insure you have a perfect stay.

Regards,

Paul Dodds BSc. CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is on a lovely property with a big beach. To one side of the beach is tidal pools. The children in our party really enjoyed both. Some people build fires on the beach in the evening.

We were there for three nights. Our room was a King with sofa bed and was on the ground floor facing the ocean and the sunset. Excellent view. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom well appointed. Everything was in good repair and worked. The room was clean and having access to our own fridge and coffee maker was a help.

The restaurant at the hotel was good. Local fish was a specialty, but they tended to over cook it.

Carol on the front desk was super with helping me organize the reservations.

We wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We liked having ground floor rooms because it meant easier access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brontetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We just returned from a trip to Vancouver Island and stayed here one night. We would have loved to spend a longer time. The rooms are spacious, all with a views over the beach and ocean. Each has a balcony or patio. We initially checked into a room with balcony but after checking, we asked for downstairs room with patio - less windy and therefore a little warmer for sitting ourside and enjoying the sun. The front lawn goes right to the beach - great for families and for those who want to experience the water (wet-suits recommended - the water is cold) The beach is sandy and wonderful for wealking or jogging.

Rooms are not cheap but are consistent with prices charged by other hotels, and more reasonable and nicer than some others on MacKenzie Beach. We did check out all the other hotels on this beach and came back to the Tin Wis Resort Lodge. Its location is not far from downtown Tofino where there are many 'artisty'shops and restaurants. Everyone who visits this area should spend some time walking Long Beach in the Pacific Rim National Park - magnificent - as well as visiting Radar Hill, the highest point in the park, for its views of the whole region.

Room Tip: All similar and very good. Downstairs rooms provide outdoor sitting space with little more shelter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Tin Wis and had a wonderful time. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable with balcony's overlooking the fabulous beach and the Pacific. There was a fridge and coffee machine, I asked at reception for a kettle which they delivered to our room immediatelhy. Plenty of toiletries with machine supplying shower gel, shampoo and conditioner over bath which I thought was a good idea. Restaurant serving very good quality food where we had breakfast and one evening meal, service not quick but as we had plenty of time was not a problem. Staff very friendly.Free internet above reception area. Beach area and grounds very clean and well kept. We had a great time here and hope to return again some time in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach so can't really go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carollovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing