We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant go farther west in Canada ...in style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Cant go farther west in Canada ...in style”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The rooms are designer touch and very well kept up. Comfortable beds, sleep well.
Coffee maker, minifridge . Coffee on balcony watching ocean is heavenly
Unfortunately sounds travel But loud kids have major decibels.
No free breakdast.

Well maintained grounds. Gardens, trees and walkways.Little touches like foot washing stations for beach sand.

Conference centre and restaurant. Awesome eats. Salads are first rate. Salmon on alderwood is worth the flight from Toronto. Curry seafood on wild rice. ASK if allergies, as menu is not precise. Wait staff are very knowlegable and attentive.

This is not a rustic cabin in the woods. No pool. You came to see the ocean. Remember?

Whirlpool and Sauna needs to heat up before use . Energy conservation. This is BC .

Two vacation thumbs up.

Room Tip: Ask for third or fourth floor for ocean view. All face ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoyagerCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    484
    119
    50
    24
See reviews for
320
611
40
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stopped by to check out lodging availability, but decided to stay elsewhere, not because of the resort, which looked nice, but because of the unfriendly, arrogant, know-it-all attitude of one of the front desk staff members. It was clear that he did not care about my business, so I left, and found another (nicer) resort nearby.

Room Tip: There are nicer resorts nearby, with much friendlier employees to greet you. My suggestion is to sta...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelReviewer150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Please accept my apologies, for the poor service and attitude you experienced with one of my Guest Services staff. This is certainly not indicative of the staff here at the resort, and not acceptable. I will discuss your comments with the employee. Please contact me directly so I may apologize and perhaps I can offer you a complimentary night stay or dinner in our restaurant, by way of an apology.
Best Regards,

Paul Dodds CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Spectacular ocean view rooms with cozy fireplace and lovely deck. Run by first nations band and the employees are very warm and friendly. North coast aboriginal decor. A genuine nice place. Great housekeeping staff who taught us a few words of the local aboriginal language. A very welcoming and comfortable place to stay with small kitchenette. Loved it

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGuys1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed 6 nights, from Mar 18-24, 2012. We had a king suite with kitchenette on 3rd floor in building C. I'd recommend the location on MacKenzie Beach. Beautiful beach views right outside our balconey! The room was spacious, clean, cozy gas fireplace, and the kitchenette was very handy (fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, and all the dishes supplied). The king bed was perfect and firm. The bathroom had dual sinks, nice. We did not try the restaurant. I'd highly recommend the hotel. Had a wonderful vacation, thanks!

Room Tip: I too would say stay on 2nd or 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimba65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Our World Harmony Run team stayed in this hotel and we loved it. Fabulous staff, excellent service, amazing view at the ocean, just pure tranquility. Highly recommended. Overall we got a superb treatment and are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milena1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our resort. It was our pleasure to host your group. All the best.

Regards,

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Tin Wis for 3 nights of our 2 week trip to Canada. I have to say first impressions of the hotel on arrival were not fantastic - the hotel's external appearance seemed a little dated & needing a little attention.

However, after a long drive, we were greeted by friendly front desk staff and arrived at our stunning beach view room. Room couldn't be faulted. Modern, very comfortable beds and has everything you need. We sat on the balcony every night after a walk along the beach, often watching the beautiful sunset. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Peaceful location/setting & perfect for relaxing.

Just a 3-5 minute drive into the centre of Tofino and a 2 minute drive to the wonderful Shelter restaurant.

I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this motel. The view is fantastic! It is clean, quiet and comfortable. As with many Best Westerns, it is a motel trying hard for respect. We recommend it. The room and bathroom are a bit small, but acceptable. We also liked the free wi-fi, laundry and free parking. Our first impression was not the best however. We arrived about 7:30pm and were quoted a rate for the room. I told the front desk clerk I saw a much lower rate on Tripadvisor. He reduced it a bit, but would not come down to the rate I mentioned. The next morning, I printed what I had seen on TA, and he reluctantly lowered the rate. He seemed annoyed. He also refused to accept my Best Western rewards number saying the low rate would not qualify for points. My wife went back, after a shift change, and another clerk gladly accepted the number. Overall, we just did not feel welcome. What a shame because it is a very good motel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDfan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
127 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tin Wis Resort

Property: Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Best Western Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing