We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beatiful resort and beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Tofino in July 2011. We were amazed that there weren't crowds of tourists like we expected. The beach was quiet and peaceful and we enjoyed shore fires and hiking, reading just taking in the breath taking views. The staff were so welcoming and helpful and the room was very comfortable with spectacular views from the ocean front balcony! Can't wait to return!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannaRLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul D, General Manager at Best Western Tin Wis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here, it is greatly appreciated. I look forward to having you as our guest again, please feel free to contact me directly if I can be of service in making your reservations.

Best Regards,

Paul Dodds
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Tin Wis Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

i would just like to say the customer service was great, clean rooms and awesome views right on ocean front. loved our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a floor up or too.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tylee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Came to Tofino so that a friend could experience the Pacific Ocean for the 1st time! The views from our room were so spectacular that he didn't want to leave... so we stayed a second night! (see the attached pic)

The hotel is not fancy, but it is beautiful! Our room was very clean, nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Compared to other hotels in the area, it was an awesome value for the location (we got a deal for $135 on Sat $118 on Sunday incl.tax)!

The only complaint I had was that they didn't have room service. You can order food from the restaurant, but you have to pick it up! That I found a bit awkward since the food is not cheap at the hotel. The breakfasts are in the 10-14$ range and dinners start at $18 for chicken to $30 for steak and prawns (approx.). I had the filet mignon for $24 and it was great!

You will not be disappointed if you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep... to the sounds of the pacific, with great views and beds!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuropeanGal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A group of friends and I had the chance to spend the night in a block of waterfront rooms at this hotel. The rooms were so luxurious and cozy with the most beautiful view of crashing waves.
The beach was private and although it was fall the weather was beautiful. We had a fire on the beach and retired to our rooms at 11pm. Some of my friends wanted to stay up later and we were worried they would keep us up, but the walls are so incredibly insulated you could not here a thing.
I slept like a baby and awoke to the waves and seals out side on the beach. So beautiful.
Nice to sit on the deck chairs and enjoy a tasty west coast coffee while taking in the view.
Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canuck31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Let me start by saying if you want glitz and glamour then this isn't the place for you. If you DO want beautiful views, clean rooms and a pet friendly resort with all the necessary amenities then the Best Western Tin Wis Resort fills the bill. The ground floor units have sliding doors to the expansive lawn in the front and the upper rooms have decks so the fresh air and beauty can be enjoyed. Each room has a refrigerator and full size coffee maker (not one of those 2 cup makers that you put a pancake of pre packaged grounds in). The rooms are large and bright and recently refurbished. The lawn is separated from the sandy beach by a natural vegetation barrier that doesn't detract from the view and there are plenty of paved paths to the beach. The restaurant is attached to the office and provides gourmet eating without the need to leave the property, an especially nice feature.
If glitz is what you desire, there are other properties on McKenzie Beach that will take your rental money and pay gardeners for upkeep, but for the money, the Tin Wis provides you with comfort and convenience. We would be glad to return to the BW Tin Wis.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night in October during a business trip. The hotel is nice, rooms are clean, breakfast was....ok...but what really turned me off was while having breakfast and enjoying the stunning view of the beach a man walked is dog along the path right in front of the restarant windows. The dog stopped 10 feet in front of the windows and did its business while people are trying to enjoy their breakfast and then having its owner pick it up. I think the hotel should consider designating a dog walk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pendrgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

From the outside this hotel doesn't look like much, i prefer hotels that are all enclosed and accessed through the lobby rather than your room opening onto an open walkway. The rooms had been recently updated inside and looked nice, the 2 beds were comfy and it was really clean. The bathroom a little basic.

The problem we had was that there was poor soundproofing. It sounded like there was a herd of elephants above us, every step they took sounded like a stomp and we could loudly hear drawers opening and closing. my husband asked if we could be moved to the top floor. The hotel was full that night, but the staff were happy to let us move the following night. It was much better on the top floor, although you can hear a lot outside like people walking past (may be due to the massive gap between the door and the frame - bit drafty too).

The hotel is located on a lovely beach, just a few steps away and all the balconies have good views of this.

Room Tip: Top floor room will be quieter
Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank praianowedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
322 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Tin Wis Resort

Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Best Western Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $119 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing