We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Located on a great beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Located on a great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Rooms were clean and well kept but not luxurious. Located on a great beach. Price was high for that type of room but not for Tofino in summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 154913Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    449
    116
    47
    24
See reviews for
291
558
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Staying at Tin Wis was a total pleasure- great location, wonderful staff and the best food imaginable in the restaurant that views the beach......highly recommended! The beach here is the safest one for swimming and lovely for walks and photos. There are some rooms that allow pets. internet connections can be intermittent in the rooms but a reliable connection exists in the reception area, where a computer is available for guests. IThere are some outstanding pieces of indigenous art to be seen. If you are looking for a place to relax well and to enjoy the spectacular surroundings, this is it!

Room Tip: There is an ocean view from all rooms, two levels!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylviahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinWisManagement, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience and information you've gained from staying at our property.
We are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We've been working hard to improve our guests' experience.
I hope that you will consider coming back, maybe even for storm season this fall/winter. This is always a great experience.
We hope that you will come back and visit us again soon.
-Jenny Touchie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

This was my first time staying at the Tin Wis and I was less than impressed. Over our 3 night stay there were a few issues. Housekeeping was awful. Our towels were not replaced, nor was the glassware. As well getting into bed at night realizing that the beds had not been made, just simply the duvet put on as the top sheets were crumpled up at the bottom. The worst of our stay was that housekeeping left our sliding glass door on the ground level room wide open after they 'cleaned'. And not only did this happen once, but twice. The location was great as well as the beach and scenery but I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinWisManagement, Manager at BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
I would first like to sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us. However, I am thankful that you have taken the time to share your experience with other travellers. All forms of feedback, both positive and negative, allow our management team to continuously monitor our progress as we strive to exceed guest expectations. The type of feedback you have left has allowed us to gain further insight and information of areas that need additional and immediate attention.
The challenges of having a lot of newly trained staff sometimes means that some of the very basic elements of our operation need to be reviewed regularily. This is not an excuse in anyway for your patio/balcony door being left open by a staff member. Our guest security and security of belongings is our top priority and I am sincerely sorry that this occurred during your stay.
However, I am hopeful that you did enjoy our property and location. We are the only property in Tofino with all of our guest rooms facing the ocean and an incredible view from every room.
Our entire staff are constantly going through new training programs to ensure that wherever possible, we provide each guest with a unique and memorable experience.
I truly hope that one day, you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Tin Wis again. We are eager to change your opinion of our establishment.
Again, please accept our apologies and once more, thank you for providing us feedback in which we can gain valuable opportunities to ensure we do everyting possible to exceed our guests' expectations.
-Jenny Touchie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend the evening at the Tin Wis Resort and enjoyed every minute of it. The service at check-in was excellent, despite a short wait to check-in (the clerk was dealing with an unreasonably upset guest at the time). She welcomed us, apologized for the wait, asked how our travels were going and where we were from. She took the time to give a brief history on the resort explaining the partnership with Best Western and the aboriginal tribe that ran the resort, along with some great history on the area of Tofino itself.

Our room was fantastic! Very nicely decorated with tradional-inspired aboriginal art, modern touches, fridge, microwave, nice flat panel tv with sitting area and plenty of room overall. The best part of the room was the balcony overlooking the coast and the best part of the hotel was the oceanfront beach with easy access.

We ate breakfast the next morning in the dining room, which was completely windowed offering great views of the ocean and the resort as a whole. Breakfast was delicious. I had the pot latch skillet with fresh pacific maple salmon and I highly recommend that.

All in all, great resort, great rooms, great staff!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sugartune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Tin Wis is right on MacKenzie Beach and has very beautiful views. The beds were really comfortable. I was happy to have rented a room with a kitchenette as I didn't find the restaurant to be very good so we went into town and picked up groceries to cook a few meals in our room.

I definitely recommend stay at the Tin Wis if you're looking for a nice hotel in Tofino that won't cost you an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CD154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Even though the weather was dreadful, our room was warm and cozy and had a great view of mackenzie beach and bay. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and a good restaurant. What more can you wish for if you stay for one night...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine_r0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

All the bedrooms overlook the sea and have balconies, which is great. Our room had two double beds but housekeeping could have been better as bedroom carpet needed hoovering and we found hairs in the bathroom. Dinner was excellent and we had a great table at the window. Menu was good but surprised to find burghers on an evenig menu. Very pleasant waitress and the food was good. However breakfast was a different story. The restaurant is small compared to the number of bedrooms and so tables are at a premium at certain times. We got a table o.k. but even though there were plenty of staff, no one seemed to be in charge, and it was very chaotic. The hot buffet took ages to be restocked, but the food was o.k. once you had waited 20 minutes. Everything was self service, which was fine, apart from the toast which came out spasmodically buttered! May be a good idea to have a toaster which would give the staff more time to do other things. When we left there was a queue for tables. Would suggest a holding lounge serving tea and coffee tea and coffee until the tables have been reset. Also have dedicated members of staff restocking the two buffets, which would speed up customers and release tables faster.
Apart from these hicups it was a pleasnt stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inntheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.2 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
Address: 1119 Pacific Rim Hwy | Box 389, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tofino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 85 luxurious oceanfront rooms The Best Western Tin Wis Resort Hotel offers impressive Tofino accommodations. Relax on your private patio and enjoy a perfect summer sunset. Feel the pulse of a winter storm from the comfort of your cozy bed with a most breathtaking view. With a variety of rooms to choose from, our Tofino Resort Hotel is sure to have exactly what you're looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tin Wis Hotel Tofino
Best Western Tofino
Tofino Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing