We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty! tasty! tasty!”
Review of Tacofino Cantina

Tacofino Cantina
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: located in a bright orange catering truck at the back of parking lot complex. GREAT food. must be listed on here.,
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Tasty! tasty! tasty!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Superb fish tacos; fresh, fresh, fresh fish. As good as the taco stand on the south end of beach at Cabo.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,281
    306
    72
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
“A review of fish tacos from a San Diegan who knows tacos...”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having come from San Diego for our Tofino adventure of getting back to nature, my husband and I certainly did not expect to come across a taco truck. Taco trucks are everywhere in San Diego and being self-proclaimed foodies and connoisseurs of fish tacos, we didn't expect too much from Tacofino. Boy were we wrong. Holy crap the food was good. In fact, we've spent a bit of time in Baja Mexico and my husband remarked that these were the best 'baja style' fish tacos outside of Mexico. And it's found in Tofino. Who knew?

Details: my husband had two Baja style fish tacos and a beef taco. I had the chicken burrito. Service was super friendly and quick, even though there was a line. Food was done in 5 minutes. Everything was super fresh, cooked nicely, and had good flavor. The burrito was not authentic mexican because it included mayo - not my favorite, but whatever - but authentic things aren't always the best tasting anyway. I don't know about anything else on the menu but I would swear by the fish tacos. The only gripe I had is to ask Tacofino to provide more hot sauces with more heat. I know Canadians aren't the most adventurous heat seekers but it would be a nice touch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harlequinx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great for a quick lunch”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is a good, casual spot in a van approx 3kms from Tofino. Would recommend if you like basic, unpretentious Mexican street food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WombatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overhyped but okay”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice fresh ingredients and some good flavour combinations but too much cabbage and not enough of anything else, would have tasted better with something other than cabbage. Has one too many overly positive hipster and poser reviews. Service could have been less too-cool-for-school and a little more friendly. Great to eat outside but guacamole and drinks are too expensive considering there are no real estate expenses.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank canadien_canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spend all day eating Tacos!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Tacofino food truck is AMAZING! I could spend all day popping back to eat tacos or burritos or Gringas. When not in Tofino this is place is the place I miss the most. Grab a spot outside on the benches and choose more than one taco, have 2 or 3 as they are quite small and go down the hatch fast. Friendly staff and fun friendly spot. DELICIOUS very very FRESH TASTY FOOD!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirdyM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacofino Cantina also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tacofino Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing