We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience with Great Fishing Included!”

Tofino Fish Guides - Private Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tofino’s premier sportfishing outfitter offers premium saltwater charters and unique freshwater fishing experiences with a focus on providing exemplary service. We take pride in operating luxury vessels and high quality fishing equipment. Whether you are an experienced angler or just want to give fishing a try, we will ensure that your charter is customized to meet your needs. TofinoFishGuides support salmon enhancement and habitat protection.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Awesome Experience with Great Fishing Included!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I highly recommend Tofino Fish Guides to anyone. It was my special needs brother 40th birthday and to celebrate we booked a fishing charter with Lochie on his 'Rye Not'. It was full day, catching our limit with salmon fairly quickly and rest of the day we fished hard for halibut :) Lochie was friendly, knowledge and a pro with the downriggers; he saw the jigging of line before we did! We all had a great time and definately we will book again with Tofino Fish Guides. Thanks Lochie!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lavigne2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Some Great Fishing!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just had two great fishing trips onboard the "Rye Not"...

Guide Lochie MacKenzie pertains a highly proffesional yet equally friendly approach to his buiness. His boat is meticulously maintained and the fishing tackle is of a high quality.

He's a knowledgable guy who worked hard to find us the fish, even in the last half hour or so, Lochie was repeatedly adjusting the downriggers in attempt to find the fish. During quieter times I enjoyed his stories and conversation.

In the end some great fish and photos.
Highly recommended regardless of ones fishing experience...

I'll be back sometime!

Thanks Lochie.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Caught our limit”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I had a great time out with Lochie on June 2nd. It was a slow start but we were able to reel in a number of fish even before any of the other boats in the area had a bite. We even got to check the crab traps and learn a bit about how these are "fished". We enjoyed fresh caught seafood for two evenings, it was fabulous.

Would highly recommend - we will book again when back in the area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAlta europe
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a memorable experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I would suggest this charterer to anyone.. Going out on the ocean was a fantastic experience. the sea was quiet choppy but we were all comfortable and too busy looking at fishing rods!Lochie was so helpful and nice and did his best to find us fish. We were not that lucky but still we got a couple of nice salmon and halibut and loads of crabs! Would go back with Lochie for sure..he then took us around coast so we see some sea lions. Boat is strong and sturdy and we felt safe at all time even when we were riding waves fast! thank you Lochie for a great day. A must do experience in Tofino! Look out for whales!! :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dandela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts Creek, Canada
1 review
“Awesome first salmon!”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had an amazing day out on the water. The boat was comfortable even when we went outside the islands into rougher water. It handled the waves really well and I had no trouble reeling in my first salmon in the ocean. Lochie put in a huge effort to find us fish and managed to get us into a couple even though it was slow for everyone that day. He really loves to fish and made it very obvious how much he wants his passengers to go home successful. It was a great day and Lochie definitely made it better with boosting our catch with some fresh crab from his traps. They were definitely appreciated with butter and beer. All the gear was great to use and everything was well organized. Our fish was cleaned for us when we got to the dock and the crabs were killed so bringing it all home was easy. There are also packaging facilities right next to the dock in case you catch a tonne of fish so everything is really convenient. Lochie was really easy to get along with and took care of everything. He had great knowledge of the area which helped us track down the fish. We all had a great time. I'm really looking forward to coming back at the end of the season and hooking into some monster fish. I would definitely reccommend spending a day on the water with this guide if you're headed out to Tofino. Thanks a tonne Lochie! See you soon.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Braeden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tofino Fish Guides - Private Charters also viewed

 

Been to Tofino Fish Guides - Private Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing