We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Romantic Escape”
Seashack
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seashack
Make a cozy fire in the evenings Relax and watch a movie in the living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Seashack
Make a cozy fire in the evenings
Relax and watch a movie in the living area
Enjoy a surrounding deck with ocean vistas
Watch surfers from the deck
Seashack from the Beach
Bed at the Seashack
Window seat
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gogogal55
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A Romantic Escape”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is the perfect get away and it is all yours. No long hallways to get to your room , just a welcoming private driveway and beautiful property. This is a quaint sea cottage tucked away on Chesterman Beach, it is well equipped should you just want to never leave or it is just a quick drive to Tofino where you can dine or take advantage of a whale watch.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinderale
Sidney, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow,”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The previous reviewer was correct..." Why stay at the wickinninish inn ?" when you can stay a stay a short distance away and still enjoy the amenities the Inn has to offer.
We have been trying to book this cottage for a while now but it was always booked on the dates we were available. Fortunately we were able to go last week and were more than pleasantly surprised . It was everything and MORE than we anticipated . I hesitate to write this review as I realize that more people will try to take advantage of this amazing cottage.
Absolutely loved the shabby sheek beach decor. The cottage was extremely clean with everything you could possibly need like band aids , wonderful natural soap, conditioner, lotion. Even seventh generation washing liquid :)
Netty and her husband, who are the caretakers of this property do an outstanding job of ensuring everything is perfect. Obviously the owner requires standards to be maintained.
I am very particular about dust and general cleanliness...and on occasion have stayed in accommodation on Chesterman which was not properly prepared for the next guests. I cannot say enough about the attention to detail paid to every part of this cottage.
Waking up and actually being able to see dogs running on the beach or watch the surfers was a bonus. The garden is spectacular with flowers, shrubs trees thoughtfully positioned and paths leading to two beachfront viewing decks.
Just thinking about the cottage makes me relaxed. Sitting in the window seat reading in the bright living area listening to the waves was special.
We took our dog with us and being able to access the beach so quickly was wonderful. Rupert quickly settled in and after jumping in the waves for hours I just had to say 'let's go home" and he ran towards our private retreat gate. We actually felt the same...it was like our second home.
Already planning our next visit in the fall . Having been twice yearly visitors for more than ten years we now have found a place that has everything we want AND need...looking forward to the fall ......

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mistakenl...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Cottage with a Breathtaking View”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I, along with our little 4-legged companion, stayed at the Seashack Cottage for a week in December and we definitely wanted to stay longer. The cozy cottage is on a private oceanfront section of Chesterman Beach. It is laid out in a spacious studio/one room fashion with a beautiful yurt-like ceiling and huge bay windows that look out onto the most beautiful ocean view money could buy. Falling asleep to the sound of the ocean and next to a crackling pot-belly wood fire was heavenly. (Tip: bring a box of Duraflame firelogs with you – the wood in Tofino tends to be damp, so getting the fire going with a firelog makes life a little easier.) It is just steps to the ocean for long walks along the beach and a few minutes drive into town where you can enjoy a meal at one of the many top-notch restaurants. We had great lunch experiences at Shelter and The Schooner, and great takeout from Red Can Gourmet where we then popped across the street to Tofino Brewing Co. for some amazing beer. We also bought some fresh seafood in town and cooked it in the fully equipped kitchen at the cottage. Every creature comfort of home is available and it is obviously loved by the owners who have left plenty of homely touches; pillows galore, books and dvds (but you really shouldn't watch tv with that spectacular view out the windows), a jacuzzi tub and a comfy king bed just to name a few. It is clean, so other than an initial quick vacuum because I am a neat freak, I felt at home. I would recommend this cottage over one of the many resorts that Tofino has to offer, to any couple.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2014
Thank you for all the kind words about the Seashack. Yes, the wood in Tofino can be wet; usually we have firestarter in the cottage but from time to time we run out of as it is not available for purchase in Tofino. So my apologies and the firestarter has been restocked from the city.

The Seashack receives a full clean before each stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2BBandBey...
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The Seashack Cottage is a hidden gem. It is located just steps from the beautiful Chesterman Beach but is so well situated that it affords excellent privacy as well. The cottage is cosy and comfortable and is outfitted to a high standard. The small kitchen has all manner of cooking utensils and there is a gas barbecue on the spacious deck. The large skylight and many windows bathe the cottage in light. There are panoramic views of the beach and ocean both from inside the cottage and from the outdoor seating areas. Check out the video on the website. The Seashack is exactly as advertised. We were delighted with our visit and look forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being steps from the beach
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McWarg
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Why stay at the Wickaninnish Inn when you could stay here!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

New Yorkers who hike and kayak regularly in Maine, we were drawn to Tofino for the opportunity to do the same, but in a coastal rain forest on the Pacific coast. Initially, we considered staying at the famous five star Wickaninnish Inn, but then we found SEASHACK! Nestled among the furs and beach hedges on the north end of the justly famous Chesterman Beach, Seashack is like a luxury hotel suite (robes, soaking tub, fine bath products, fine bedding, Bose CD player, dvds, arrival gift basket with a bottle of Prosecco) for two but with the added benefits of a full kitchen, rain gear, free wifi, beach towels, wood burning stove, gas grill, multiple decks for sunset gazing, direct access to the beach and divine privacy. The interior is bright, white, charming and very beach cottage - with picture window seats that are inviting even when it rains. Convenient to both Tofino and the Pacific Rim National Park, we rented beach cruiser bikes from Marc at Tofcycles, who delivered them directly to Seashack. And the Wickininnish Inn is there, just a beach walk (or ride) away for coffee or wine at their beach side cafe, dinner (book ahead!) at the Pointe (excellent!)and spa treatments, should you desire. There are fancier properties on Chesterman, and many McMansions being built (really sad), but none of them have the charm or integrity of Seashack which just seems to belong here. While not inexpensive, it was worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$205
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing