We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Gem”
Seashack
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seashack
Make a cozy fire in the evenings Relax and watch a movie in the living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Seashack
Make a cozy fire in the evenings
Relax and watch a movie in the living area
Enjoy a surrounding deck with ocean vistas
Watch surfers from the deck
Seashack from the Beach
Bed at the Seashack
Window seat
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound, Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2BBandBey...
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The Seashack Cottage is a hidden gem. It is located just steps from the beautiful Chesterman Beach but is so well situated that it affords excellent privacy as well. The cottage is cosy and comfortable and is outfitted to a high standard. The small kitchen has all manner of cooking utensils and there is a gas barbecue on the spacious deck. The large skylight and many windows bathe the cottage in light. There are panoramic views of the beach and ocean both from inside the cottage and from the outdoor seating areas. Check out the video on the website. The Seashack is exactly as advertised. We were delighted with our visit and look forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being steps from the beach
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McWarg
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Why stay at the Wickaninnish Inn when you could stay here!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

New Yorkers who hike and kayak regularly in Maine, we were drawn to Tofino for the opportunity to do the same, but in a coastal rain forest on the Pacific coast. Initially, we considered staying at the famous five star Wickaninnish Inn, but then we found SEASHACK! Nestled among the furs and beach hedges on the north end of the justly famous Chesterman Beach, Seashack is like a luxury hotel suite (robes, soaking tub, fine bath products, fine bedding, Bose CD player, dvds, arrival gift basket with a bottle of Prosecco) for two but with the added benefits of a full kitchen, rain gear, free wifi, beach towels, wood burning stove, gas grill, multiple decks for sunset gazing, direct access to the beach and divine privacy. The interior is bright, white, charming and very beach cottage - with picture window seats that are inviting even when it rains. Convenient to both Tofino and the Pacific Rim National Park, we rented beach cruiser bikes from Marc at Tofcycles, who delivered them directly to Seashack. And the Wickininnish Inn is there, just a beach walk (or ride) away for coffee or wine at their beach side cafe, dinner (book ahead!) at the Pointe (excellent!)and spa treatments, should you desire. There are fancier properties on Chesterman, and many McMansions being built (really sad), but none of them have the charm or integrity of Seashack which just seems to belong here. While not inexpensive, it was worth every penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau
Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BC
Reviewed March 1, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FergusVan...
Comox Valley, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An outstanding experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We have stayed in Tofino over the past ten years, this was our best experience. Seashack makes you welcome even before you go inside. We arrived on time to find the house light up and a welcome basket inside. The fire was laid for us and we walked in a felt immediately at home. Seashack gets the little things right, the towels, the soap, the shampoo. It's all in the detail and they do it better than anyone on Chesterman Beach. We have tried many to them and this is the best for a couple (with two dogs).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The care to detail. It was like someone said here is the key to my home, use it!
Liked least: We had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
likebeing...
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect location...”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed at the Wickaninnish Inn during previous visits to Tofino/Long Beach, we knew we loved being right on Chesterman Beach. The Seashack Cottage couldn't be better. We arrived to find a cozy, well-appointed cottage with direct access to Chesterman Beach. The owners have provided a 'welcome book' which answered any questions we might have had and also provided great information regarding restaurants and amenities close by. The kitchen was extremely well-equipped for a self-catering property and there is a BBQ available as well. The cottage is decorated in a charming West-Coast, shabby chic fashion and the wood stove was welcome on cool rainy evenings. Plenty of firewood was available. The extra details, like DVD's and CD's on hand, WiFi internet, beach towels provided for use and locally made bath products really made us feel right at home. Of course the location can't be beat. The property has a lovely garden planted with native species and a short path through a salal hedge leads you right onto the beach. There are 2 patio areas beach side in addition to the large deck that wraps around the cottage. We will definitely stay at The Seashack again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AB
Reviewed October 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing