We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Summerhill Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
56
22
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
22
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset suitepancake mixcomfortable basethe kitchenbig bathroomlovely hostsroom was cleanfire pitbotanical gardenswildside grillstayed nightsgreat place to staylong beachmelodyharoldbeachesbbq
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 82 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Summerhill Guest House was a quiet and very comfortable base for our stay in Tofino. The suite was very clean and well equipped. It was great to be able to return after a day out in the open to cook fresh produce in the kitchen area. The beaches were within a few minutes walk and the town centre just a couple of minutes by car. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SSW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thanks so much for sharing what appealed to you about your stay in one of our suites. We're so glad you enjoyed the amentites. We appreciate the time it took to describe your experience, and are certain that your comments will be helpful to our potential future guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. It's close enough to the town. Nice size room and everything was clean.

We particarly liked the big garden with the campfire place and the bbq that was available.

The people were very friendly and had a couple of nice suggestions for enjoying the area.

It's not a B&B so there is no breakfast, but everything besides bread was available to make something Yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marcel-de-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your review about our property and your stay in our Rose Room this summer, Marcel. We enjoyed meeting you both, and really appreciate that you took the time to write about us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Summerhill Guest House is a great choice for Tofino if you want to be a short bit out of town and away from the commercial area. We were glad that we were not right in the middle of town.
We had two rooms; both were immaculately clean and comfortably furnished. Harold and Melodie were wonderful hosts. We enjoyed sitting by their outdoor firepit. The BBQ is a tabletop model, and so doesn't get quite as hot as we needed to cook our dinner.
Overall, an excellent choice in Tofino.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

I have contacted this reviewer to find out more details about his barbeque experience, and how we could improve it. This was his kind response:
The BBQ was quite suficient for most of our needs. When it came to cooking our coho salmon we should have marinated it to help add moisture, but we did not. We are used to cooking on a much larger grill and didn't adjust our cooking for this smaller equipment. In total, Melody and Harold have supplied more than the basics for cooking - pots, pans, a very efficient hot plate - and best of all a fire pit and fire wood. They are interested in providing a wonderful guest experience. And there is a bonus - they are within walking distance of the Tofino Botanical Gardens - a lovely and restful spot to visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for my father's birthday trip. We are a family of 5 and Harold was very acommodating and made sure we have a comfortable stay by offering two rooms adjacent to each other. We stayed in the Sunset Suite and Rose Room. Both rooms were clean and well kept. It felt like home. It was really cozy and pleasant. That's exactly why we prefer to stay at a guesthouse instead of a fancy hotel or resort.

The place was comfortable and spacious enough for all of us. We loved the complimentary breakfast "fixings" they provided. There were DVDs, books and magazines that guests can use. There was a binder of information for places to go to which was VERY helpful to us, and I'm sure it will be for all other guests. The hosts have been living there for a long time so we can certainly trust their suggestions of places to go to (for surfing lessons, hiking trails, restaurants, whale watching companies, etc.)

We also enjoyed our little bonfire in the yard, where there's a spot for it, some comfortable chairs and even free firewood.

Harold and Melody were both very friendly and helpful. They were very acommodating hosts. We truly enjoyed our stay and we would definitely go back here and recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmarq22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We truly enjoy the privacy n comfort of Summerhill. Both Harold n Melody are very friendly n generousl in their hospitality. We enjoy doing BBQ n cooking crabs n they cleanup the equipment after us....they even provide firewood for campfire! Great place for family!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Traveller8882013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerhillguesthouse, Owner at Summerhill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed staying with us. Personal attention is probably one of the main benefits of staying with (and supporting) a local family. Thank you very much for taking time to write your review, and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews