We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bear Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Four of us spent 3 nights in this lovely B & B. Great location tucked away in the forest, yet with a wonderful view across the sea. Our 2 rooms at the front shared a balcony, which was great for privacy & peace & quiet listening to nature. The large rooms were spotlessly clean, with fabulous bathrooms. Our hostess was very welcoming, made gorgeous breakfasts and very kindly cooked the salmon we caught for dinner! We would highly recommend this great spot!

Room Tip: Two rooms at the front have the sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishermensfriend1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Blue Bear Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in this fantastic B and B for two nights during our stay in Tofino. The owners were very friendly and offered helpful local tourist information.

Our room was spacious and very clean, the bed was comfortable and we had a huge ensuite.The room is very well equipped with a kettle, toaster, cutlery, plates etc. The owners provide fresh milk in your fridge and a range of coffees, teas and hot chocolate.

The breakfast is made to order and delivered to your room do you can eat it either in your sitting area or on the balcony. It was lovely to have breakfast alone together each morning on the balcony overlooking the woodland.

This is definitely one of the best bed and breakfasts we have ever stayed at. Our only disappointment was that we did not get to see the bear we had been told to look out for!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Loved staying here. Was a really pleasant surprise and I would recommend it to anyone. Our host was so accommodating. Made us the nicest breakfast (pretty much whatever we asked for!) and seemed to take a lot of pride in the place. And I think I had the best sleep in years in that bed. two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This bed and breakfast is just a ten minute walk from downtown Tofino, and an even shorter trek away from a sandy beach (Tonquin Beach Park). We stayed in an upper floor suite, which has a view across the lawn to the ocean. The property lining the ocean belongs to the neighbour, but our host informed us they didn't mind if people wanted to walk over to the railing and have a look (just not down the stairs!). We caught a nice sunset from here...

The room was spacious, and the bed very comfortable. The definite highlight here was the large bathroom with huge soaker tub, skylight, and shower! Very nice...the tub also sits right next to a window with a forest view.

Our host was very nice, and unobtrusive. She would ask what we would like for breakfast every day (as we have some dietary concerns), and even packed us something to eat when we had an early departure one morning.

The property is very quiet -- removed from the main community, yet close enough to wander in for dinner. Head out the driveway and turn right, and you can follow a path/boardwalk system to several beaches, including some that appear quite private.

We had a very relaxing stay, which was exactly what we were hoping for!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sketchy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of June for our last getaway as a couple, before the baby comes! Gabrielle was EXTREMEMLY accommodating and her breakfasts are amazing! She even asked us what we would like and what time we would like it to arrive at. We had a nice ocean view from our room and despite other guest staying, we felt like we had all the privacy in the world and did not hear them once.

The bed was so comfortable and for my finacee at 8 months pregnant, this couldn't have been better for her. She actually slept through the night! The bathroom was amazing as well. The 2 person soaker tub was such a bonus with the giant windows to the forest, with not a house in sight.

Blue Bear is a 5 min walk to the Tonquin Park Trail, which is a great place to hike around and enjoy sunsets. It also has a great beach and isn't too busy for being so close to town. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and we will definitely be back to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank west_coast_willeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The whole room is made very lovely, we were warmly welcomed with some maps and recommendations for Tofino, the breakfast is really good, the beds are very comfortable, the big tub surprising and the oceanview and -sounds just incredible.
A trail down to the sea is nearby and all the "inner city" is in walking distance. If you want to, Blue Bear is perfect for relaxing... :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorinneDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay for your Tofino visit. We rented both of the upstairs rooms and spent several nights there a couple of years ago. The location is excellent; close enough to walk downtown, yet very secluded and away from the constant traffic and crowds in town. Rooms are not real fancy, but they're very clean and comfortable. The host is friendly and accommodating and breakfasts delivered to your room are great. The sunset views overlooking the ocean from the cliff are amazing! Get the upstairs room facing west if you can; the large balcony and view are added bonuses.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Tofino Trek Inn
Tofino Trek Inn
#1 of 41 in Tofino
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bear Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bear Bed and Breakfast

Address: 327 Tonquin Park Road, Tofino, British Columbia BC V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing