We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tuff Beans

Tuff Beans
Ranked #2 of 4 Coffee & Tea in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Busy but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

It was our first time in Tofino and we had a hard time finding options for a sit-down breakfast. We were staying at a resort without an on-site restaurant and were tired of bagels and coffee in our suite. The staff were friendly and efficient, though being early, they seemed a bit short-handed, but the food was good. We managed to grab a booth to sit in but barely, there are some patrons that were lingering sipping coffee and using the wifi which isn't the restaurant's fault, but as the interior is quite small it may impede other customers from having the full breakfast they wanted, and opting for take-out muffins or the like instead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Americanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    116
    42
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We saw this shop driving into town and thought we would try it out for our morning coffees. The place is quite busy and its not surprising why. The coffee was great. A bit of a wait to get through the lines in the morning vs for example waits at Starbucks but was worth it! We went back every morning of our trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SamaraQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value and yummy breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is one of the few places open early enough for breakfast in Tofino.

They serve great coffee and our breakfasts were the perfect size to start our day. The prices are also very reasonable and we could eat on the patio which was nice, but booths are also available inside.

Our only complaint is that although our service was fairly fast, they may be short-staffed during busy times of the day with only one person operating the till and serving the food early in the am.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank visitsoon21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average breakfast place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

There really isn't much choice for early breakfast in Tofino so we ended up going to Tuff Beans. Some of their items are pricey relative to the quantity and quality of the food. The americano I had that day wasn't so great either. If I ever go back I would go with the cheaper breakfast option instead of going for the $8-9 plates since we found them to be typical tourist town food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“understandably busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We ate here a few times while in Tofino- due to opening early- inside and outside eating area- off the main road- and great food/coffee. This is a pretty busy place- you stand in line and order then grab a seat they bring it to you(number system) or take out. Food doesnt take that long once ordered and the line for ordering moves fast. Coffee is not self serve, but only .75 for refill. A couple of times we and other customers grabbed empty seats and cleared the tables since the staff is very busy taking orders and getting the food out, but it is a nice breakfast place in Tofino so worth it! Bean Bagel is great!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank threecharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuff Beans also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 
Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Tuff Beans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing