We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
56
31
11
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
56
31
11
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea lions whale watching adventure center dyson fan baby bear waterfront pub twin room hot springs tour grey whales whaling station well worth the trip light sleeper hot chocolate min walk bear watching adirondack chairs perfect stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 112 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

We were told about the Tofino Resort and Marina by our host from the Liahona Guest House in Ucluelet. After spending some time in Ucluelet, we decided to book our last night in Tofino at the Tofino Resort and Marina.

We first called the resort and inquired on availability, rates and if they were pet friendly. We were delighted to hear their rates were perfectly reasonable, they had availability (this was late February) and they were pet friendly! We booked in for the Saturday night right away.

Since we were arriving from Ucluelet, we requested an early check in which was no problem. Upon checking in, we were impressed by the Yeti retail display which my husband collects (all fairly priced). There was a lovely coffee and tea station set up in the lobby, free for hotel guests (good quality at that!).

We arrived to our room to see an adorable little doggy bed, water bowl and dog treat waiting for our little guy - our mini husky was stoked! I was thrilled about the bathtub and my husband was happy to see the Canucks game was on when he turned on the tv! Every minor detail was well thought out and didn’t go without being noticed - from the dyson fan, to the roller shades, down to the Canadian made bathroom amenities.

We stopped in to the Hatch pub for a quick beer before heading out for the day. The atmosphere was perfect - big windows right out to the water and the decor was very inviting. We were happy to see they offer a very reasonable happy hour.

We returned to the resort after our hike and decided to make a dinner reservation at 1909. My husband called to make the reservation and requested we have a window table if possible. They asked us if we were celebrating anything special and if we had any food allergies.

Upon arriving at the restaurant, we were seated at our requested window table and served my gentleman named Sean - who was attentive but not overbearing. We ordered a bottle of Pinot, the pate, the feature scallops, the steak and a dessert- all of which were delicious and perfectly executed. We loved the hip-hip music in the background - nice touch!

We are from Sooke and travel and dine extensively, this is our new go to place in Tofino and we will be sure to recommend and rave about this place to everyone!

Great job Tofino Resort and Marina! Looking forward to our next visit - which will be sure to include some fishing next time!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne V, Manager at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2019

Deal Michelle S,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review with us as well as other travelers. Your feedback is a big compliment to our hard work throughout all departments. It is truly heartwarming to hear that you (and your pup!) enjoyed all aspects of our downtown, waterfront Resort.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Tofino!

All the best,
The Tofino Resort + Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

I totally recommend this Resort. Prices are very fair for Tofino. The rooms are nice, you can get basic rooms and pay less or get a little something with a view and pay bit more. Location is very convenient if you like to walk around town. I enjoyed the service in the Hatch, view and food.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Go779871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne V, Manager at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2019

Dear Go779871,

Thank you so much for staying with us on your recent trip to Tofino and leaving us such a nice review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our convenient waterfront location and our friendly staff.

We truly hope to be welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Tofino Resort + Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2019

We travelled to Tofino as a couple for the first time this January. Staying Tuesday - Thursday. We checked in okay, front desk staff member wasn't helpful, or friendly whatsoever. Which was fine, we can ask our questions we had to somebody that actually cared and wanted to be helpful. Our room was booked through BC ferries vacations as a Christmas gift to us. We got a lower level room facing the parking lot. Which was ok, we could still see a bit of the marina and the parking lot was practically empty, so no problem. We asked to upgrade as we were probably 1 of 5 people who were staying in the hotel. We were told it was $35 extra per night. We decided not too, as we have been upgraded before while travelling mid-week complementary as the hotels are quite dead, and didn't feel it was worth it. So whatever. We wanted to spend most of our time out exploring anyway. Our room was probably the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, which was fine. But nothing like the photos. One queen bed, a chair, small dresser, pedestal sink in bathroom, and shower stall. Not as cozy as we hoped, but again oh well. Upon returning to our hotel room the next day we found a UHAUL truck parked DIRECTLY in front of our one window we had. So now our view was the back of a truck. I am not entirely sure why a truck of that size would be permitted to back in, in front of rooms. Especially since we had nobody staying on either side... Shouldn't there be designated parking for vehicles such as that? We called front desk to see if they could have the owner move it over a bit or something as that was really disappointing, and again were told by the same rude staff member as the night before, that we paid for a room with no view, so we get no view. Which is comical as the parking lot was empty besides our car and another car. The truck had tools on the passenger seat, and no guest parking pass like we had to display. So I guess it was a worker in the area?. The truck was still there the next day when we checked out. I would never stay here again, and never recommend this hotel to anybody we know. The guy working at reception needs some customer service skills, and honestly we've never been told flat out "you paid for no view, so you get no view". Even if there was the slightest of solutions, this guy wasn't down to help. When a hotel is probably at 10 - 15 % capacity I don't see why you wouldn't want to help your guests. Glad we saved our $70 bucks on "upgrade". If you want guests to return I'd recommend being more helpful and friendly, it really is as simple as that. The only good thing about the hotel was the Hatch Pub and the friendly staff there.

Room tip: Book a room with a view, or else you could be staring at the back of a truck your whole stay.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabikali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne V, Manager at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2019

Dear gabikali,

Thank you so much for your detailed review, and for choosing to stay with us at Tofino Resort + Marina.

I am very disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. All your comments are essential to educating our staff and I will ensure your feedback is followed up with our Guest Services Team.

We appreciate this review and will certainly use it to fine tune our operations, please feel free to reach out to us directly to discuss your experience further.

On behalf of all of us at the Resort, I sincerely apologize. We really do strive to provide excellent value and service, though it sounds like our efforts have fallen short this time around.

I hope we can make it up to you!

All the best,
The Tofino Resort + Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019

Nice room but no view from room. Buildings are on a steep hill side.

Coffee maker and kettle in room and hot chocolate and milk supplied.

No USBs but handy bedside sockets in light base.

Easy walk into town and very near to Jamie’s Whaling Station.

Nice restaurant and bar on site.

Very friendly staff

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowieKnitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne V, Manager at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2019

Dear BowieKnitter,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are excited that you took advantage of our convenient waterfront location and on-site dining facilities. If you ever come back to Tofino, please contact us. We would love to host you again and show you all the adventures Tofino has to offer.

All the best,
The Tofino Resort + Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018

The whale watching excursion was pretty surreal in that it was almost entirely foggy the whole time. It really gives you and idea of how wild it would be to snake around the coast without radar.
We saw the backs of whales, lots of cute sea otters ( bring binoculars ), eagles, seals and enjoyed a pretty neat experience.
I had a poutine at the pub afterwards but can only assume there was a potato shortage as I could have bought 25 pounds of potatoes for the half pound I got. Beautiful location though.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FangsOwners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne V, Manager at Tofino Resort + Marina, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Dear FangsOwners,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your wildlife excursion and our waterfront location!

Please accept our sincere apologies that your meal in the Hatch was not up to your expectations, and I hope this hasn’t put you off in visiting us in the future.

All the best,
The Tofino Resort + Marina Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews