We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Switch and bait”
Review of Marina West Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina West Motel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Switch and bait”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After reviewing this motel's website we noticed a special including breakfast and dinner. On calling to book, the person answering my questions, who identified himself as the manager, told me it was sort of unavailable and they didn't know if they were going to do that one again. When I asked why they were advertising the special he told me it takes a long time to change the website. When I told him that was call bait and switch he didn't have any answer. I will not be staying here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank catsatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry that you were provided with this misinformation but I can assure you that we are still offering the package in question, our "Ultimate Getaway" Package. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we have already made changes to help prevent this from happening again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    108
    93
    54
    45
See reviews for
59
169
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naramata, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are staying at this motel based on previous reviews. It is clean, recently upgraded with a new carpet, and is situated in a quiet area above the marina. Lots of parking with wide parking stalls....no door banging. The price is very reasonable. The TV is not HD so that is something they could improve on. The kitchenette is small but ok for heating soup and making a grill cheese but I would not want to do any serious food prep there. The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is very small but clean and does the job. Nothing fancy here but good value. We were worried about the adjacent pub being noisy but it was not at all. Very quiet. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all of your positive feedback as we certainly strive to provide the best value in Tofino. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My friend and I visited this resort once in the spring (under the name Weigh West, now Marina West), when it was rough water and misty, and later in the fall under sunny skies. Both stays were memorable, though the latest was superb. The resort had been updated, and continues to be. The whale watching was amazing, especially in the latest with the grey whale coming under our boat and gazing at us. The food has drastically improved as has the decor. The only criticism I have is that the new restaurant has too bright lighting, and felt like I was dining in a lighthouse atmosphere. (Do some table candles or equivalent instead). The beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet and well appointed with fridge, coffee maker and microwave, with view balconies throughout. The staff was friendly and accommodating to all our needs, and it was one stop shopping with the whale watch dock, the pub and restaurant all in one place.

Room Tip: upgrade to the second floor. Our corner balcony in 67 was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and all of the improvements that we have made. Thank you as well for your feedback regarding our restaurant lighting. We are still making improvements and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Average rooms, wicked location and best breakfast spot in town. The onsite pub was the #1 hotspot on Saturday night. I forgot my (expensive) yuppie pillow, and they sent it back free of charge! I can't highlight how awesome this hotel is.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Reviews such as yours are always wonderful to read. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience so much and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean and quiet, which is what we were looking for. I wish the windows would open, because the room got really stuffy. Decore is outdated, but bedding was comfortable. Not the best, but certainly not the worst motel I've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in February 2012. A nice motel - not a 5 star but the room was clean and faced the water. Central location in Tofino - so close to everything. They had a very nice pub next to the motel - great food and cold beer!! Off season rates were fine and if you can be in Tofino during storm season-it is worth the trip. Awesome days on the beach during a storm!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePearl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you were able to enjoy our pub as well. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.0 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
123 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Property: Marina West Motel
Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina West is a very unique west coast oceanfront resort that offers the perfect setting for whale watching, eco adventures, fishing, boating, hot springs trips, beachcombing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing