We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose”
Review of Marina West Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina West Motel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Served its purpose”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were clean and quiet, which is what we were looking for. I wish the windows would open, because the room got really stuffy. Decore is outdated, but bedding was comfortable. Not the best, but certainly not the worst motel I've stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and we appreciate your feedback. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    108
    93
    54
    45
See reviews for
59
169
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in February 2012. A nice motel - not a 5 star but the room was clean and faced the water. Central location in Tofino - so close to everything. They had a very nice pub next to the motel - great food and cold beer!! Off season rates were fine and if you can be in Tofino during storm season-it is worth the trip. Awesome days on the beach during a storm!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePearl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you were able to enjoy our pub as well. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Firstly, this motel has upgraded and changed more than just its name. (ex- Weigh West) We read a few reviews here on trip advisor and presumed the worst. We were pleasantly surprised.
Sumptuous bed, clean rooms/linens and bathroom amenities. Young staff that were glad to help with cheery dispositions.
An outstanding location! The big yellow Barn is just the beginning of the Tofino adventure.
Easy walking distance to all that the little surfing town has to offer. Good for Tofino, no box stores.
well done on the upgrades (patio chairs, curtains etc). We visited during peak season, so it was busy, still, no worries.
Restaurants...wow. Jacks waterfront Pub was cozy and busy, the Greenroom diner served excellent valued meals with by far the best view in town.
We used Booking.com and were glad we did! Oh yeah, we visited the beaches too. :)

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. No elevators. Everybody gets a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for all of your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed all of the upgrades and look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I have been coming to Tofino for a couple years, and we were happily surprised with the changes this place has made. The renovated pub has a great atmosphere, and Karaoke Night on Wednesday was a blast! You gotta get in early though, the line-up to get in was out the door!
The room was clean, and the staff were friendly, but it was obvious that the renovations hadn't quite made it to the hotel rooms yet apart from a flat screen TV. I hope when we return next year, the rooms will be updated like the pub and restaurant.
Would definitely stay here again. Great location and excellent pub right on property.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine23bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you were able to get in for some karaoke! We are in the process of making gradual improvements to the entire property so hopefully by the time you return, you will see even further changes.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our Sea view suite was very clean and well equiped for the everyday traveller. The staff were very friendly and helpful and very insightful. The location is fabulous for access to town and to the beaches. Plenty of places to eat close by. Would recommend this hotel. Don't expect 5* luxury, nevertheless you'll enjoy having bald eagles watch you from the trees overlooking the sea

Room Tip: Pick a suite if you can afford it, on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan-from-Doncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We should have known that this hotel, sorry, motel, was bad news when we couldn’t find it despite having an exact address for it and driving, repeatedly up and down the right street. Turns out that this motel had changed its name and just didn’t bother to let its future guests know (or put up any clear signage).

We were in Tofino with my parents and it was my mother who booked this place. She picked it because it was cheap (for Tofino) and in a good location.

And really, the location was ideal. Located between Tofino’s main road and the water, it’s a short walk from some pretty views as well as several shops and attractions, including Jamie’s Whaling Station, who we used to go on a terrific trip out to Hot Springs Cover. The motel also has an unpretentious and tasty restaurant called the Greenroom Diner in its backyard.

But the location is really the only thing this dump (and that’s not a term I use often) has going for it. While it looks OK on the inside the inside of our room looked like it had been set up in 1978 and then never touched again apart from the addition of a flat screen and some light cleaning.

While things were clean on a surface level, the beat-up walls, floors and furniture told us that our room had lived a very rough life (the rug of the “living room” part was connected to the tile of the kitchen part with duct tape).

Because we were travelling with my parents we got a room that had a separate bedroom and a pullout couch. The bedroom was small, stuffy and, because we were on a first floor that was built into a hill, essentially underground. But that was miles better than the pullout. The couch itself looked like something you wanted to cover in plastic before you sat on it. Thankfully the sheets on the pullout part were clean and new but the mattress was in absolutely appalling condition and left me in pain the following morning.

While I did notice springs poking me as I tried to fall asleep, I didn’t end up focusing on them because I was too distracted by all of the noise outside of our room. At first the source of the noise was the nearby bar’s karaoke night. But then that noise was covered up by our neighbours, a group of guys who seemed to have been assigned the rooms all around ours.

They spent the night drinking loudly, talking loudly, swearing loudly and, at one point, blaring what would best be described as pow-wow dubstep.

I would have called the front desk and complained but, when we were checking in, we were told that the desk is unmanned starting at 11 pm.

We did complain the next morning, when we were checking out, and that’s when we learned that there was a security number we could have called. Would have been nice to have been told that the night before.

Actually, the morning desk staff was really apologetic about the noise and even reduced our bill by about $40. So in the end we only paid $199, plus tax, for one of the poorest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in.

Oh, I almost forgot. The front door to our room was screwed up and could only be opened with a shoulder check (though given the quality of people who surrounded us, maybe that was some kind of security feature).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lindsay_K9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your detailed feedback and will be utilizing your comments in order to improve our operation in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tofino hotels

Nanoose Bay, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great place to stay in Tofin. Friendly staff, clean rooms. Right next to the dock and the cannery which is very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanitaNott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encounters1, General Manager at Marina West Motel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ryan Orr
General Manager
Marina West Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.0 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,026 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#14 of 16 in Tofino
123 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina West Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina West Motel

Property: Marina West Motel
Address: 634 Campbell St | Box 69, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada (Formerly Weigh West Marine Resort)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina West Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina West is a very unique west coast oceanfront resort that offers the perfect setting for whale watching, eco adventures, fishing, boating, hot springs trips, beachcombing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marina West Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weigh West Marine Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing