We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely spot for a first family vacation!”
Review of Gold Coast Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Coast Retreat
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This was the first vacation we'd been on with our daughter, who's only 6 months old, and the sweet little Shipwreck cabin at the Gold Coast Retreat was absolutely perfect. The place was clean and cozy. We used the outdoor bathtub every day and enjoyed the close access to Chesterman Beach (we were there for 5 days). The place was totally charming and private which were big bonuses, but also very affordable for such a prime location, which we really appreciated. I can't think of anything bad to say at all... it was a wonderful little spot. (Oh, and one more thing: having your own washer/dryer right there was FANTASTIC when traveling with a small baby!) I've been recommending this place to everyone. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2parentsandababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Gold Coast Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2010

Having stayed at several hotels and B&B's in Tofino we were so fortunate to find GCR over ten years ago and have always stayed there since. Both cabins are blissfully quiet and private in a beautiful position just steps from Chesterman beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jscarfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Wow, what a absolutely perfect romance gem. So pittoresk and serene. And only 75 meters away from the beach. At night sitting outside in the bath looking at the stars and listening to the waves on the shore you couldn't be in a better place. We booked the Haidaway Cottage and it was complete in every way. The hosts Sulo and Louise are so nice and friendly. The finnish sauna made it complete. We regretted we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_and_Annemiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

What a treat it was for us to to stay at the Hacienda. Fresh flowers from the garden, a homey space with lots of privacy, and such lovely hosts! We highly recommend staying in any one of their homes if you are considering a trip to Tofino. Chestermans beach is right across the street and a very short drive into town. We ran out of propane while barbecuing and in 5 minutes or less our host had us hooked up and ready to go. Also, very safe for kids to play in the yard and the home was clean, clean, clean! Go!!!! Relax and Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisamread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

My husband and I recently went up to Tofino for a long weekend with our two young daughters. What a treat it was to arrive at Hacienda....the fireplace was lit and music was playing.....it immediately felt like home. The first two days were wet and wonderful as we got hurricane force winds and driving rain. A minute walk to Chesterman beach to get utterly soaked and then back 'home' again to get dry before the next excursion. The next two days were utterly beautiful...sunny and warm. With an indoor and outdoor 'rainforest' shower, sauna and a great big front deck to sit out and view the stars at night, staying at Hacienda was my idea of heaven :)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinggal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

We have been going to the Gold Coast Retreat, on Chesterman Beach Road for over 10 years now and plan on continuing to do so. It is indeed a 'Golden'
retreart. Quiet, comfortable and close to a wonderful beach to walk; Chesterman. Eucluelet is not too far from here it too has some great trails. Once you stay at the retreat you will return again and again. The host and hostess are surpassed by none in the hospitality world and we give the whole experince a 10 out of 10.
John and Kary,
Vancouver,
British Columbia

1  Thank Gretchen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We spent a fabulous week at Gold Coast Retreat in Tofino, BC. Gold Coast is indeed a RETREAT! We felt secluded from the tourist-rush of Tofino, and yet we were a leisurely 20 minute bike ride from town (or 5 minute drive), and literally a minute from South Chesterman Beach.

We (6 adults and four children all under the age of 4) rented the "Hacienda" and Haidaway" for a week and loved our stay. Beach walks, beach bike rides, sunsets, boogie boarding, surfing, leisurely strolls, hikes in Pacific Rim National Park were all minutes (if not seconds!) from our door step.

The "Hacienda" and "Haidaway" (see www.goldcoastinfo.com for more information) are extremely comfortable, with nice kitchens, and just the right amount of character. They instantly feel like home.

The outdoor showers and baths (don't worry there are facilities inside too) are fantastic, and the sauna is wonderful!

We were thrilled to arrive, sad to leave, and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finlay2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,067 reviews
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Retreat

Address: 1338 1340 Chesterman Beach Road | British Columbia, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing