We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gold Coast Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gold Coast Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Coast Retreat
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
“Gold Coast Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family and I stayed in the Haidaway cottage and enjoyed every aspect of it. It is a small,cozy, clean cabin that's name speaks for itself - complete privacy. Beach access to Chesterman Beach is literally right out of the driveway. Price is right for what you pay for. We're definitely returning to this retreat. Thanks Sulo and Louise. ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

OMG, this place is amazing. It is a must, if you are planning a trip to Tofino. We were super secluded and the outdoor tub/shower is just spot on. Sulo and Louise were the perfect hosts and so much detail goes into your stay. Chocolates, bathrobes, notes, Coffee machine and coffee, fresh flowers, wifi, boogie boards for the beach, everything was just perfect. The shipwreck was just fantastic and perfect for a small family or a couple. Did I mention that the radio was playing the best jazz music when we went in. Couldn't rave about this place anymore if I tried!! One of the best spots I have stayed in, if I could move in then I would!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I recently spent our honeymoon in the Shipwreck cabin and it was the perfect place for us. The cabin was just the right size for the two of us, it was spotless, and the bed was extremely comfortable. It was apparent that a lot of thought and consideration went into choosing everything from the decor to the linens. The Shipwreck had lots of character.

The location is perfect. We were able to walk to Chesterman's Beach and it's a quick bike ride into town. Our hosts were very gracious and had tons of great recommendations. Everything from places to eat, visit, rent bikes.

Would we stay at Gold Coast Retreat again? Absolutely and we can't wait to return! Would I recommend it to others? We already have!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CooperTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

What a pleasant little surprise this Haidaway cabin was for us,when we arrived the radio was playing quietly,immediately it felt very homey,the place was extremely clean,all the equipment in the kitchen was in good working order,coffee and tea available. Satellite TV and radio and a bonus to have wifi. Outdoor patio and barbeque and outdoor bathtub.
Sulo and Louise went above and beyond to help us with a personal issue.,wonderful personalities.
It really is a special Haidaway Cabin.
We certainly will go back there

Room Tip: This Haidaway Cabin has 1 bedroom and loft Short walk to the beach,can hear the Ocean from the Pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in September, in the Shipwreck cabin. It was so delightful. Very private, exceptionally clean and pleasant with tons of character. Everything was in the cabin that you would need for cooking and staying in. It had it's own small yard space and the outdoor sitting area/deck area was fun with an outdoor bathtub.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WrenLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband I and stayed in the Shipwreck cabin for our honeymoon. It was also my first trip to the ocean. It was the perfect homebase for all of our adventuring in the area and incredibly cozy and warm when we stayed indoors. It came stocked with everything from premium shampoo/conditioner to spices, dishes and so many other little details too numerous to mention! The outdoor tub was amazing! Completely private and we could hear the ocean waves while soaking in bubbles with a glass of wine. Chesterman Beach was literally a two minute walk. Sulo and Louise have created an incredible atmosphere and I HIGHLY recommend Gold Coast Retreat

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraDamonKearney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

ONE WORD - Magical.

LOTS OF WORDS - My husband and I were looking forward to a getaway that allowed us to simply spend time together and we found it. Sulo and Louise were very accommodating yet not intrusive and we had no concerns about feeling free to do our own thing.

The outdoor tub was a real treat - we had bubbles and bubbles! The kitchen had everything we needed and we enjoyed eating at 'home.' They really thought of even the simple things. We had a place to put our oversized luggage. There were more bath towels than we needed which was better than waiting for one to dry (we've all been there before). There was a bin for recyclables. We had our own little yard. The WIFI worked without a hitch. The fridge was large enough to hold our bubbles for our bubble bath. The bed was scrumptious - I haven't slept that well in a long time. The TV had all sorts of channels but didn't take over the room. There was a nice sitting area. There were freshly cut flowers in the kitchen and bathroom. There were yummy robes for when you got out of the tub. There was bubble bath for the tub along with a candle. The outdoor shower was awesome for rinsing off the bubbles. There was a hose for rinsing off your feet from the beach. The shampoo and conditioner provided were top quality. There were hooks everywhere - those come in handy! There were lots of tea towels for the kitchen and the open cupboards allowed us to see where everything was at a glance. I much prefer that than opening up cupboards all the time.

The location was nice and quiet. A few steps to cross the little road and a walk down a path took us to Chesterman Beach. We walked there everyday with our dog. Yes! We brought our dog who settled in very nicely too.

THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU if you just want to do your own thing. A home away from home.

THIS IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU IF you are looking for the busyness of people and activities a large resort brings.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shipwreck - a studio that was great for the two of us and our dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mostdirectplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Retreat

Property: Gold Coast Retreat
Address: 1338 1340 Chesterman Beach Road | British Columbia, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing