We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
Review of Gold Coast Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Coast Retreat
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed in the Haidaway Cabin with 2 friends for 3 nights in September 2011. We chose Gold Coast Retreat because of all the good reviews on TripAdvisor. We knew the cabin would be nice because of all the great reviews but when we arrived it far exceeded our expectations. The cabin was very clean, very private, and had everything and more to make our trip comfortable. The 3 cabins are a fair distance apart so you don't have to worry too much about noise from the other cabins and vice versa. Chesterman Beach is an amazing beach and is less then a minute walk down a path which is right across the street from the cabin. I will definitely stay at Gold Coast Retreat again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo10326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and I just celebrated our 7 yr anniversary at the Shipwrecked studio in Tofino. It was a pleasant surprise! A cozy clean private gem with an outdoor shower and clawfoot tub on the deck outside! The bubble bath and sauna were a treat! The owners are wonderful laid back and very accommodating. It was great to be able to just get our wetsuits on and walk out to South Chesterman Beach for a surf, then come back and enjoy the outdoor shower and bbq for dinner. We only stayed 2 nights but it felt like a week as we were so relaxed when we left. We look forward to our next visit! Thank you Sulo and Louise!

Room Tip: The studio is a romantic getaway and the larger accommodations are perfect for families or groups!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ElderberryBoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just spent 4 nights at the Gold Coast Retreat near Tofino. We chose the Haidaway Cottage which accommodated 2 couples nicely. The cabin had a well-appointed kitchen, comfortable beds and luxurious linens, a wonderful outdoor claw-foot tub and use of a wonderful Finnish Sauna which our hosts fired up for us. The setting was very private, just steps away from the Pacific Ocean lapping at the shores of Chesterman Beach. We could hear the waves and the small yard was full of birds and fragrant honeysuckle. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: The Haidaway Cottage is fine for two couples, but one of the beds is in a loft accessed my a ladder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseNicholls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a few days during our honeymoon-the first few nights we stayed on Frank Island-which was beautiful but roughing it a little bit.. When we got to the Shipwreck Cabin we were so excited-it was perfect. Quaint but modern and very clean + they have an outside deck with a grill and bathtub! It was private and romantic -make sure to reserve the sauna which was free and an added bonus. It is a very short walk to Chesterman Beach-make sure to check out the sea caves when the tide is low--it was so beautiful and lots of starfish to see. Sulo and Louise were great hosts- you can tell they take pride in their places and want you to be comfortable. We highly recommend staying at the Shipwreck Cabin-we were so lucky that we picked it because there are a lot of places to pick from and I know we got it right! We cannot wait to go back and visit again. ***Big Bonus--washer & dryer

Room Tip: Shipwreck Cabin -is perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Great spot, great hosts! If you want privacy and to be close to the ocean this is the place. We stayed here a few years ago and always looked forward to returning, we were not disappointed. Lots of little things to make the stay perfect. Wonderful spot to relax and 'just be'.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank robman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

My partner and I have stayed with Sulo and Louise several times over the past 8 years. We have enjoyed our stay every time. The price per night is very reasonable given the close to proximity to Chesterman's beach (you can hear the ocean from the property) and the quaintness of the cabins. The finnish sauna is a must; very warming and relaxing after a long day spent out in the rain. Little extras like the fully functional kitchen (tea, coffee, spices and cooking oil included), satellite radio and heated outdoor shower make for a very comfortable stay.
Our only issue is that is seems that everyone else has had an equally wonderful time staying here; in the future we will need to plan our visits farther in advance to guarantee availability!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capella161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The Haidaway Cottage is a perfect getaway! The Golden Coast Retreat property is located less than a 1 minute walk from the beach and ocean. We spent every morning and evening walking along the beach, enjoying the beautiful Tofino scenery. The Cottage has everything we needed - and more! It was clean and had free internet and satellite TV. All the kitchen amenities were there, and the gorgeous outdoor tub was especially spectacular. The owner was very helpful with local Tofino eateries and things-to-do. By far the best vacation I have taken in a long time! Love love love this little piece of heaven. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dep45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.9 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.7 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Retreat

Property: Gold Coast Retreat
Address: 1338 1340 Chesterman Beach Road | British Columbia, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Tofino
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing