We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A close walk to the beach...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A close walk to the beach...”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

I recently spent two nights at Cox Bay Beach Resort and found the accommodations to be very good. The suites were new and very clean and it was affordable. We especially loved the heated tile floor in the bathroom. Although we did not have a view we were steps from the hot tub and the beach. They also have very nice common spaces that you can utilize. I found that staff to be very helpful and accommodating. I had forgotten something in the room and went back the next day and although the room was occupied the staff did not hesitate to retrieve the item for me. The only thing that would like to have seen different was their choice in beds, as the bed was more like a futon than a regular bed. Regardless, I would highly recommend Cox Bay Beach Resort as a place to stay in Tofino.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear June H,

Thank you for taking time to share a review on your recent visit to Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are happy that you found the accommodations to be “very good” and “very clean”, as we pride ourselves on having units that are so fully equipped that they make our guests feel like they are in a home away from home. The heated floors in the bathrooms are definitely a favorite feature of many guests of the resort!

I am sorry to hear that you found our beds to be less than satisfactory. We do use high quality Sealy Posturpedic mattresses with additional microfiber mattress pads for added comfort inside all of our units, but I do understand that not everyone has like preferences when it comes to sleeping situations and for this we apologize.

We thank you again for your high recommendation and hope that you are able to join us again here at Cox Bay Beach Resort in the future!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    98
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
91
154
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I have stayed many times through the past three years and love that it contains everything you need. Great beach access, washer/dryer, kitchen, big tub, fireplace and great common areas! Something for most anyone and our favourite combination of comfort, accessibility and location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRO6011CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear PaulRO6011CT,

Thank you very much for sharing a review on Trip Advisor for Cox Bay Beach Resort and returning to our property for three years consecutively!

We greatly value your business and are very happy that you enjoy the facilities, location, comfort of the units and property here at the resort.

We greatly look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Tofino!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

January and early February is a great time of the year to stay at the Cox Bay Beach Resort, the rates are lower and the weather was good all throughout our stay. The apartments are large, comfortable, clean and well furnished, with all the dining / cooking ware that you might need. The location is breathtaking! Great experience, a must do!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Mauricio S,

Thank you for sharing brief insight into your recent stay here at Cox Bay Beach Resort. We here in Tofino agree that January and February are a lovely time of the year to visit as rates are more affordable and Tofino in general is a fair amount quieter and more peaceful. We have also been very lucky this year to have had an abundance of sunny weather over the past several months. Whether its storm watching, beach combing or pure relaxation that you are here to experience, Tofino is a great spot year round!

We hope that you join us again at Cox Bay Beach Resort on your next visit to the Wild West Coast!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We needed a getaway after a busy Christmas season and decided to try a new place. The Cox Bay Resort was by far the best choice we could have made. We booked 3 nights and were so impressed with everything starting with the staff when we checked in. We had booked a pet friendly room and they made sure we had everything we needed not only for us but for our dog as well. The room was amazing complete with in room laundry and dishwasher. The bed was so cozy and the fireplace was a bonus as well. The patio looked right out on to the ocean too bad it was too cold to take full advantage of it. The hot tub looked very inviting but we did not have a chance to use it. Oh well, only means we will have to go back again! The beach so close is an added bonus and we spent many hours each day wandering and exploring

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear sylvia w,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your recent experience at Cox Bay Beach Resort.

Myself and all of the staff are thrilled that you found the resort to be the “best choice” you could have made in regards to accommodation in Tofino. The comfortable beds, cozy surroundings and additional amenities inside the units such as the laundry facilities and fully equipped kitchens are definite perks of the resort and are what keep guests returning to Cox Bay Beach Resort time and again.

We look forward to seeing you again on the beautiful West Coast and hope that you get to enjoy the hot tub on your next time around!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We are on our way home after a four night stay. The suite was beautiful. Good kitchen area with a practical choice of appliances. The fireplace and heated bathroom floor was a great touch and kept the suite very comfortable considering it snowed while we were there!! The common areas were fantastic. We used the hot tub the most and common area lounge and lookout were very comfortable. Surf board lockers were a bit tight but worked well enough for two of our boards.
The staff were outstanding, being most apologetic regarding a small mixup with our reservation and it was clear the staff members were honestly concerned that they offered us the best service possible.
We're two very happy customers and will be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2plankintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear 2plankintraveller,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience here at Cox Bay Beach Resort.

Myself and all of the staff are very happy that you enjoyed the comfortable unit, common facilities and outdoor hot tub during your visit to the West Coast. We have been having an abnormal cold snap over the past couple of weeks which makes the warmth of the heated floors a nice feature!

We are happy that the staff met your expectations when a small mix-up occurred. We do pride ourselves on having “outstanding staff” here at the resort, as we want all of our guests to have a relaxing and memorable experience while staying at our property.

Again we are thrilled that you were very happy with your stay and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to beautiful Tofino!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed for two nights in early December. We got a deal through TravelZoo for a 1 bedroom main floor suite with a king size bed very close to the lobby (I think it was Room #12). The room was beautiful and very well equipped. The staff were attentive to our every request. The beach is lovely to walk on, although we couldn't see it from our room. We had a nice sauna at the sauna room which is close to the outdoor hot tub, with towels supplied by the resort. The resort also has a common room with a fireplace and kitchen which looked very inviting although we didn't feel we had time to use it.

I would not hesitate to visit this resort again, although I would probably go for a 2nd floor room closer to the beach.

Room Tip: try to get a 2nd floor room close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazzamaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Shazzamaroo,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience to Cox Bay Beach Resort. We are happy that you found our suites to be beautiful and well equipped as well as our staff attentive to your every need. We do pride ourselves on having very helpful and friendly staff.

Hopefully on your return to Cox Bay Beach Resort you are able to enjoy our additional facilities such as the common lounge area with its lovely wood burning fireplace.

Please do not hesitate to request a unit closer to the beach on your next visit to our property. We will do our absolute best to accommodate your request.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was our thrid time staying at Cox Bay Resort. Phoned a couple of days ahead and they had one night at a great rate for Tofino - some resorts in the area have a two night minimum on weekends. It was a beautiful one bedroom condo on Cox Beach. Our room was close to the beach but no view. Beach is lovely to walk on and make sure you walk way out to the point to experience the crashing west coast waves! Well equiped kitchen and bathroom, comfortable bed. Nice shared hot tub with view of ocean. There is a common room but it closed at 3:00 for a private function - did not actually see anyone in it until about 6:00. Wifi reception was poor in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear jlharp,

Thank you so much for sharing a review on your third visit to our property. We are so glad that you continue to return to our beautiful resort and are happy that we were able to accommodate you on short notice.

Our apologies that the common lounge was booked out for a private event on the evening of your stay. We hope that on your next visit you are able to enjoy the lounge and its comfortable couches, cozy wood burning fireplace, board games and reading materials.

Know that we are planning internet upgrades, as Tofino wireless can often be a little finicky given our remote location. Our hope is to have a stronger wireless capability for the future and your next visit to Cox Bay Beach Resort.

We hope to see you again in beautiful Tofino soon!

Sincerely,

Sarah Curtis
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Tofino, BC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.7 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cox Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cox Bay Beach Resort

Property: Cox Bay Beach Resort
Address: 1431 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cox Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cox Bay Beach Resort, where the West Coast of Vancouver Island meets the full might of the Pacific Ocean, nature envelops you in a spiritual way. Powerful winter storms inspire awe while summer calm instills a sense of peace and tranquility. Cox Bay Beach Resort offers forty West Coast decor one and two-bedroom beach house suites. The resort also boasts a well-appointed common-use fitness centre, sauna, outdoor hot tub overlooking the beach, a wi-fi-enabled lounge with an expansive stone fireplace, and an elevated look-out pavilion where guests can sit, read and enjoy the unrivaled views of Cox Bay Beach. Nestled next to Pacific Rim National Park and situated within Clayoquot Sound, only a seven minute drive to the world-famous village of Tofino, Cox Bay Beach Resort provides easy access for exploring all the magnificence this World Heritage site has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Cox Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cox Bay Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing