We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Tofino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Me and my fiancée use living social coupon and stayed in cox bay may 25th and 26th and surf for the whole weekends.

Pros:
1) location is the best if you want to surf! It's my second time to stay in cox bay and second time to take surfing lesson with different company and they all chose cox bay. It is one of the two most popular spot on the island for surfing and hotel has very easy access to the beach.

2) Excellent service! I book very early and the staff was willing to switch my date to a more expensive date for me due to living social's coupon date limitation. And after we left, they called us right away for something we left in the room and after communication, they fedex to us within an hour and send us an email to follow up! We truly feel that the hotel staff tried all they can to make our stay enjoyable!

3) excellent hotel inside out! First time here we stayed in a loft on second floor and this time we stayed in one bedroom suite on first floor. Room size and decor are both nice and even though we can hear some heavy walker couple times during our stay, it only last few seconds and it doesn't bother us at all. We knew they dont have resturant so we prepared our meal in their fully equipped kitchen and had lunch at Tacofino which is just 5 min drive away!

4) hotel facility which includes hot tub, gym, game room and surf
board lockers. That's all we need! Lots of guests just like us, rinse the wetsuit outside of the locker and jump into hot tub right after! Who would need a swimming pool if the ocean is right there?!

5) we were so tired from surfing the third day so we drove in town to ALL the hotels on pacific rim highway since we are coming back to tofino again in July. However, none of them is nearly as good as cox bay. We didn't walk inside, but just from looking at the buildings and their parking lot and the beach, cox bay offers the most!

Cons: no restaurants nor just a small cafe. It did effect us the first time visit since we have no prepare but it doesn't bother us at all the second time. If a restaurant demand too much space then a tiny cafe spot that offer some snacks might help some unprepared guests.

Thank u for the wonderful stay and whoever that's working that weekends. (Didn't catch the names)


Rachel

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 333 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

Pros: Close to beach. Nice looking unit. Great View.

Cons:
These are townhomes you're renting. For $250/night (1 bedroom), you've got people above you where you can easily hear their footsteps or in my case, kids running all over the place. When I called the reception, the girl told me the family had just come in with their kids and she was sure they'd be sleeping in a couple of hours. Really? You know their sleeping schedule? I was then told she would need 2 hours to get back to me to see if she can move me to another unit. Oh. If I wanted one above, where I wouldn't need to hear people's foot steps? that would an extra $100 for the 2 nights. She did end up calling and said that if it happens again the next day, she would try to find a place for me. Guess what? I shouldn't need to call you again for that issue.


Wireless Internet - If you're with Fido/Rogers, the reception in Tofino is going to be horrible. So having good wifi would be great right? Well for $250/night, you get wifi.. 1 bar. Extremely spotty coverage.

Small water tank - Don't try filling up the bathtub if you want to use hot water for anything else.

Bedding - Massive pillows + thick bed padding = you sinking into the bed and waking with a stiff neck.

Reception - Better not check out too early to too late, they have working hours. That's right. For the $250/night you're spending, there is no 24 hour service. Oh, and they'll come to clean your room. Once every 3 days.

Room Tip: Best advice for getting the best room? Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Calvinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear Calvinyc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. I am disappointed to hear that your experience was not to your satisfaction.

We always strive to handle guest concerns in the best way possible at the time of the occurrence. We did notify the guests above you of your concern and in a follow up call we were told that the noise was no longer an issue. Your experience will be reviewed by management and raised with our guests’ services team as a training exercise.

Internet providers and service in Tofino is limited, this is something that is set to change in the coming year. We have recently undergone an upgrade to our WiFi network to ensure that we can provide our guests with the best service available. We also now offer the option of in-room direct connection.

Our room service policy is in line with environmental concerns, however, in addition to stay-over service provided every 3rd day, daily stay-over service is available upon request. Guests comfort is of utmost importance to us, thus housekeeping is more than happy to attend to any concerns to amend individual comfort preferences.

Our office hours are 8am to 9 pm, in which time we are able to arrange early check outs for our guests. An emergency night time phone number is provided in our guests directories, should any concerns or issues arise when the office is closed.

I would like to encourage you to contact our management team directly should you have any other comments or concerns. Our hope is that should you return to our area, we would be given the opportunity to show you that your past experience does not represent our brand.

Kind Regards,
Cox Bay Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cox Bay Beach Resort during Easter weekend 2013. It was both of our first time's in Tofino. We used a coupon off of Living Social (2 nts/$299) and stayed in a standard 1 bedroom suite. My first impression pulling into the place was good. Lots of secure (gated) parking, though you are in for a bit of a hike from the lot if parking is full and you have your arms full or are elderly. I wouldn't say it had a warm welcoming feel to it, but the lobby was beautiful, clean, crisp wood cabin type feel. Before we departed, I noticed on their website that the staff photo showed all young adults running the place. This was confirmed when we arrived. I didn't see anyone who looked older than about 25. However, that didn't affect anything negatively - the service we got was impeccable. This place is extremely dog friendly.

The room was small, but so beautiful. It's layed out condo style, two levels. We were on the bottom level and worried a bit about noise above us, but only ended up hearing a few heavy handed walkers occassionally. The room had a small living room, dining room, medium sized flat screen TV, beautiful bathroom (complete with organic type shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and shower gel - nice stuff but smells like Pine Sol) with soaker tub and heated floors (amazing bonus!!), full washer/dryer, large fridge, dishwasher, gas range, and gorgeous brand new cookware. They provided a steel french press for coffee along with a small coffee maker, wonderful sharp knives, blender, toaster, everything you could need. The bed was a queen and on the softer side, very comfortable with a duvet. I didn't feel like we had a ton of privacy when we first walked in, but drawing the blinds changed all that. There was also a cute little patio outside the back door that looked out to the other rooms/condos and the main walkway that runs through the place to the beach.

Amenities included a hot tub, sauna, SMALL gym (treadmill, elliptical and free weights, that it) and a small yoga room. There was also a communal lounge with a fireplace (basically a large room with assorted seating and a kitchen - nice for a get together), a quiet look out room with a fireplace and seating (to watch storms) and two BBQ's for guest use. That's pretty much it for ammenities. Do not expect food onsite. There is no restaurant or even a vending machine. No pool, no billiards & no 'games room'. The closest restaurant is next door at the Long Beach Lodge Resort (Breakfast is only for registered guests until 11am), which is easy to get to by using the beach as a walkway. Ask the front desk to let you back out to the beach to get back to Cox Bay Resort though, or it's a long walk around. Long Beach Lodge also had a coffee bar, with good coffee run by young, incredibly friendly staff, but it is also expensive ($12 for 2 Americanos). They also rent out surf gear if you are so inclined.

The beach is not viewing distance from the rooms (maybe the top floor ones, not sure), but is only a few steps from the room we were in (#10, second from the beach). The beach is very large, spacious and even in April, was filled with surfers. It was gorgeous.

The first night our neighbors had decided to leave their yappy little puppy when they went out and they didn't come home till quite late. That puppy yapped alllllllll freakin night long. The walls aren't super thin, but I could hear her as soon as our dryer stopped running. We complained to the front desk the next day (worried we'd loose another night's sleep) and they handled our complaint very well. They said they would contact the owners and said that they were fully booked but would try to find a solution for changing our room if need be. They then called us back after they spoke to them a few hours later and filled us in - they had spoken to the owners and they did have a room for us if we wanted it. We elected to stay in our own room and didn't hear the dog at all after that.

All in all, our stay was very nice. The only cons I can think of are the fact that there is no restaurant, and you also need a key for the lookout, gym/sauna, and common room. This doesn't seem like a big deal, until you are informed that you must return the key by 9pm everyday. Which essentially means you have a curfew of 9pm, or you return it before you leave. Not a huge deal, more of an inconvenience than anything else.

Good stay, beautiful rooms, gorgeous appliances and cookware, great staff, amazing beach, 4.5/5 in my books.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indigoscratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear indigoscratch,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at Cox Bay Beach Resort. You provided great detail for future guests, as to all of the room and resort features one can expect when staying at our property.

We take pride in having wonderful staff, who are always looking to provide a high level of service to our guests to ensure they have a memorable West Coast experience. We are happy to hear that you got to experience this first hand.

A lot of our return guests think of our resort as their “home away from home”, and love the fact that they can prepare meals here as they would at home in our well stocked kitchens. It is certainly nice to take a “chef’s day off” and explore the amazing selection of top notch dining options Tofino has to offer- luckily we are only a short drive away to our favorite lunch time spot- Tacofino.

Once again, thank you for taking your time to review our resort and we hope to see you again during your next trip to Tofino.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This resort is great for getting away from the urban pressures and to relax in a natural setting right on the Pacific Ocean. My wife and I especially enjoyed watching more than 50 surfers riding the waves in Cox Bay. Hiking with the grandchildren was fun on the beach as well as in the many trails in the area. The two bedroom unit we had was furnished with electric blinds in the loft so that the early sun was not a problem. A restaurant is conveniently located about 100 feet away in an adjacent resort and a 10 minute drive put you in Tofino with lots of quaint shops, dining and shopping. A sauna and hot tub are on site but no swimming pool. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side get the afternoon sun more in the spring and units close to the beach have g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managercoxbay, Manager at Cox Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Mikey243,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Cox Bay Beach Resort. Tofino is truly an amazing destination to relax and revitalize the soul.

It’s quite fun to watch all the surfers catch waves right in our backyard! And whether it is exploring the colorful tide pools at low tide or taking an adventure on the trails through the rain forest to the point, our location makes it quick and easy for our guests to access and explore all of the wonderful things that make Cox Bay a favorite beach by many.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to your return to Cox Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had stayed at this resort about 3 or 4 years ago and when we seen a LivingSocial deal for $99/night, we jumped on the chance for a return visit. The location is amazing with a spectacular beach and we were even blessed with good weather. Since we got such a great deal on the room, we splurged and went to the restaurant at the resort next door and had a perfect dining experience! Although we did not use it, the condo had a well-equipped kitchen that would be great for a return visit with our kids. The condo was clean and beautifully decorated with a deep soaker tub and heated bathroom floors. We love the outdoor hot tub, especially in the evening on a clear night. We manage a resort in Parksville and always recommend this resort for our guests that our continuing on to Tofino.
My only complaint is that we did not have more time to spend at this lovely resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OceanSandsResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location in Tofino on Cox Bay. Resort would be a great place for longer stays and if there are more than 2 of you and especially if you are bringing the kids along. Fully equipped kitchen and washer/dryer. Our room could have used a vacuuming and dusting. By the amount of dust on the floor and debris on the carpet it had been a while since the floors were cleaned. If you are depending upon wifi service, I would not recommend this location. Wifi service was consistently poor over 3 days. Rooms are only cleaned/refreshed if you ask.

Room Tip: Don't be shy about asking for a room close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skye757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

A friend and I stayed in a one bedroom cabin, unfortunately only for a night. The condo's size is perfect. The kitchen is great with all the appliances, even tea and coffee provided. The living room is very cosy with the fire place. Everything was very clean and the bedroom's mattress very comfy. I only used the sauna but there is a good gym and the hot tub looked nice too. The beach is a stone toss away. I hope I go back soon and I highly recommend if you are looking for a soft trendy condo, west coast style.
Note: we had a living social deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skitraileuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,086 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
331 reviews
0 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cox Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cox Bay Beach Resort

Address: 1431 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $155 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cox Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cox Bay Beach Resort, where the West Coast of Vancouver Island meets the full might of the Pacific Ocean, nature envelops you in a spiritual way. Powerful winter storms inspire awe while summer calm instills a sense of peace and tranquility. Cox Bay Beach Resort offers forty West Coast decor one and two-bedroom beach house suites. The resort also boasts a well-appointed common-use fitness centre, sauna, outdoor hot tub overlooking the beach, a wi-fi-enabled lounge with an expansive stone fireplace, and an elevated look-out pavilion where guests can sit, read and enjoy the unrivaled views of Cox Bay Beach. Nestled next to Pacific Rim National Park and situated within Clayoquot Sound, only a seven minute drive to the world-famous village of Tofino, Cox Bay Beach Resort provides easy access for exploring all the magnificence this World Heritage site has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cox Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cox Bay Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing