We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Three days in Tofino” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cox Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Three days in Tofino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and 5 month old just got back from a 4 day three night stay in Tofino at Cox Bay. The hotel and property were excellent. The room we had which was probably the smallest most basic available was still very nice and more than enough for us. The hotel backs onto cox bay which is gorgeous and great for walks. Location puts you about a 5 min drive into town and 5-15 mins from most other things you'll probably want to do while there. The only thing I could suggest would make this hotel better would be an onsite restaurant. While not having one didn't detract, it would have been something enjoyable to have for one night over cooking.

Anyway, if your looking for the Tofino experience without a doubt consider this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjames604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    94
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
85
150
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I just returned from a two night stay, and have to say it was one of the best stays ever! I was in the one bedroom main floor and just loved it! It has everything one could need for a stay. It is right on the beach, and while the room did not have a view of the ocean, it was a two minute walk to it. I could hear the roar of the surf from my patio. Am planning another trip soon with my husband this time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mairidh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights this past month. Got a really good internet rate - $99 a night/1 bedroom/ground floor. Definitely a west coast style condo - good choice of colours and materials. Very impressive walking into the condo. Compact but spacious. Clean. Bed was comfortable but the pillows were thick - would not flatten - woke up with a sore neck. Entrance area had no closet or hooks for outdoor clothing so had to hang items in bedroom closet or drape over a dining area chair. Unit contained washer/dryer and dishwasher. We enjoy cooking - had all the utensils that we needed.

Outdoor patio for sitting on but one doesn't see the ocean (which is a feature that I missed) but looks across to the other units. Yes, this is a pet friendly place but dog owners please clean up after your dog. There was a pile of dog poop right by my chair - ugh!

Both the entrance door and bedroom door had glass panels. The outside entrance light stayed on all night. Lots of light came into the bedroom - not great if you like a dark room for sleeping in.

I was surprised at how the sound travelled down from the unit above - could hear voices. Quite the racket when the housekeepers were cleaning.

We did enjoy staying in the unit - it is a nice retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 400Rose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The resort is so pretty and the rooms are super comfortable. With direct access to the beach, outdoor hot tub and friendly staff, the resort has it all. We came away feel very refreshed and would love to visit again in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca_A727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon, but wished we had spent the entire trip at this location. We loved every moment of it, the setting was beautiful and the whole experience was perfect in every way. Our unit was just the right size, and had everything we could possibly want or need in it. We were very close to staying next door at Long Beach but once we arrived we realized we had made the right choice. We hope to return someday and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chesarahsera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have always wanted to stay at Cox Bay Resort, but it can be a little pricey. Luckily I was recently able to find a very good deal online and in the car I was..driving for a night to Tofino. The staff were very friendly when you walk in, and the place is so tranquille.

I was put up in a 1 bedroom condo, that had a fireplace, a huge kitchen, a bath tub that you get lost in and the most comfrotable bed ever! At the end of the walk way is the hot tub for everyone, where you can sit in at night and listen to the waves of the beach that is literally knocking on the front door.

The only downside is that there isn't a view from your condo, you're looking into othger condos, so it kinda teases you as you can hear the roaring ocean off in the distance.

Love, Love, Love this place and would book it again, if I can find that deal!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmissmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cox Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cox Bay Beach Resort

Property: Cox Bay Beach Resort
Address: 1431 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cox Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cox Bay Beach Resort, where the West Coast of Vancouver Island meets the full might of the Pacific Ocean, nature envelops you in a spiritual way. Powerful winter storms inspire awe while summer calm instills a sense of peace and tranquility. Cox Bay Beach Resort offers forty West Coast decor one and two-bedroom beach house suites. The resort also boasts a well-appointed common-use fitness centre, sauna, outdoor hot tub overlooking the beach, a wi-fi-enabled lounge with an expansive stone fireplace, and an elevated look-out pavilion where guests can sit, read and enjoy the unrivaled views of Cox Bay Beach. Nestled next to Pacific Rim National Park and situated within Clayoquot Sound, only a seven minute drive to the world-famous village of Tofino, Cox Bay Beach Resort provides easy access for exploring all the magnificence this World Heritage site has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cox Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cox Bay Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing