We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cox Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We enjoyed staying here -- it felt like a cleaner, more peaceful version of home. Except it was right by the beach.

While one other reviewer is right that there isn't a terrific view from the unit, there is easy access to the beach and the view from the deck of the resort proper was amazing.
The first night, after the long drive across the island we just ordered pizza. The folks at the front desk were pretty helpful about local delivery-- there was a binder with all the choices. I dashed down to the deck and must have snapped 100 pictures of the sunset.

The next night we BBQed some local salmon on the provided BBQs then went up in the little lookout room and had some wine and played board games-- wonderful. The only downside is you have to be the first group to do this as there is only room for 4 up there.

If you surf, the beach the resort is on is one of the prime spots or surfers in Tofino so you're 'right there'.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 333 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from three lovely nights at the Cox Bay Beach Resort in Tofino, British Columbia. This property is as nice as other reviewers have described. We stayed in a two-bedroom loft unit that was dog-friendly. Everything about this place is quality from the wonderful stonework and wood floors and furnishings to the dinnerware made (can you believe it!) in England, not China. We appreciated the heated floors in the bathrooms and the down comforter on the cozy bed. The loft bedroom allowed enough privacy for us to never have to use the window shades. It was a treat to sleep with an open window, the fresh breeze wafting its way in. We could also hear the sound of the ocean waves, and in the morning awake to the sight of evergreens and blue skies. Yes, despite pouring rain on the day of our arrival, we were blessed with sunny days after that. With the sunny days came beautiful sunsets at night. The resort grounds were lovely, meticulously groomed and landscaped in grasses and shrubs - the whole place had the feel of the local Native culture. Though located in a more remote part of Vancouver Island, we had wireless available, and though we never lost power, the resort has generator backup just in case. The staff were friendly and helpful, what we have come to expect when visiting Canada - lovely people. As wonderful as this place might be in the summer, it also makes for a wonderful winter getaway. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend in early March at the Cox Bay Beach Resort, despite the cold & rainy weather. We chose to stay here because of their seasonal special rate of $129/night for a one-bedroom.

Pros:
- Great self-catering units with a spacious layout, modern but cozy, with comfortable furniture and a gas fireplace
- Lovely bathroom with heated floors and a huge deep bathtub (made up for the less-than-impressive hot tub!)
- Well appointed kitchen (for the most part) with a gas stove, microwave, individual cup coffee maker and typical drip coffee maker, blender, wine glasses, dishwasher, etc.
- Excellent location on the Cox Bay beach, not quite ocean view but the surf is only a few steps away, and just a short drive from Tofino
- Helpful staff that accommodated an early check-in for us on the day we arrived
- Wireless internet

Relatively minor issues that could be improved upon:
- Hot tub was disappointing...more like a small white outdoor bath tub...not what I would expect from the one shared outdoor hot tub in a resort like this
- Frying pans in kitchen of poor quality
- Would have been nice to have another cutting board and better knives
- BBQs for each unit would be ideal
- Bed was too soft for our liking
- Light outside front door was very bright and couldn't be turned off, and shone into the bedroom at night even with the shade drawn down over the bedroom door

We'd definitely come back again. Ideally I'd come with friends and get a loft 2-bedroom unit on the upper level with a big deck (all one-bedrooms are on the ground floor).

If you go - treat yourself to a fresh Dungeness crab dinner...buy live crab for dinner from the "Crab Lady" in Tofino and cook them up yourselves! She sells large crabs (~2 lbs) for $15 and medium crabs (~1.5 lbs) for $12. We did this the first night and enjoyed it so much we bought crabs again the next day!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomvula_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The resort itself is great. We stayed in Unit #31, a 2 bedroom loft condo. Very happy we did as you then get a beach view from the bedroom upstairs. You do have to carry your own luggage to and from your condo using a little cart. Not a problem but just keep it in mind; you will be carrying it upstairs if you are on the second level.

We booked a pet friendly room as offered by the resort. I had told them I was possibly needing to bring my cat. The first morning of our stay we were notified that we weren't allowed to have the cat there.We had brought a covered litterbox to make sure so mess was made in this "pet friendly" accommodation. We were allowed to stay the rest of our stay which was two more nights. It did however make us feel uncomfortable as we felt we were doing something they didn't allow. So, just be aware,,,You are allowed to bring a 200lb dog but housecats are considered trouble. LOL

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ and get a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TipToeOnRainDrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We just returned from 4 days at Cox Bay Resort (end of February). We'd taken advantage of a TravelZoo special for $99 a night, which was good value for this property.

We'll start with the good points:
1. Cox Bay is one of the top surfing beaches in the area, so for surfers this is a good place to stay. The beach is wonderful for walking, and running your dog.
2. Our 1 bedroom ground floor condo unit was spotlessly clean, and the housekeeping service was good.
3. The overall decor is lovely; decorated in a way that reflects the beach location. It was very comfortable.
4. The bathroom is a good size with a lovely deep tub. The heated floor is a nice touch.
5. The kitchen is well equipped - much better than many others in the area. Full size propane stove, large fridge, dishwasher. A full range of coffees, teas, hot chocolate and 2 coffee makers. There was even a salad bowl with servers, a set of large nested stainless steel bowls, and a blender!
6. The unit includes a compact washer and dryer - perfect for a longer stay or for drying out rain drenched clothes.
7. There is also a compact but functional area inside the front door for hanging coats and kicking off boots. A small bench for pulling on boots, and a full length mirror for a quick check as you head out the door. A complimentary umbrella is provided - a nice touch!
8. We both loved the comfort of the featherbed on top of the mattress. It was like sinking into a nest.. For those who like a really firm mattress, this may not to be their liking.
9. The bedroom closet has plenty of shelf and hanging space, extra pillows, ironing board and iron. No chest of drawers, and that's not needed with the shelves in the closet.
10. There are separate storage lockers provided for those with sporting gear (surf board, bikes etc.). Bring your own padlock, since there is not other way to secure the lockers.
11. The WiFi access was easy and the connectivity consistent.

Next are the "it's great, but ....." aspects:
1. While the bathroom was a good size, the lighting is terrible for shaving or putting on makeup. In fact, I was unable to find anywhere in the unit with lighting for putting on makeup - and I'm not particularly picky about lighting.
2. The hot tub was clean, but it's completely open air so that you're exposed to the rain while in it. That may not be an issue for some people, but we suspect many would appreciate some sort of a roof overhead - particularly during the rain deluges of "storm watching" season. Because of that, we only used it once during our 4-day stay. If it had a roof overhead we'd have used it twice a day.
3. The common lounge is large and beautifully furnished. It has a kitchen and would be a perfect place for a group gathering, or just to hang out with a book. BUT - it has no view of the beach or the ocean. It looks straight across the central walkway at the hot tub and fitness building on the opposite side!
4. The lookout is a small room perched on top of pilings adjacent the common lounge. For those who have difficulty with stairs, they probably can't get access, but the ocean view from this location is lovely.

And finally, the negatives:
1. NO OCEAN VIEWS FROM GROUND FLOOR UNITS! This is a thin strip of property with very little ocean frontage. As a result the condo units are built in a double row at right angles to the beach, stretching inland. There's a central walkway between the two rows of condos. The ground floor 1 bedroom units have no ocean views at all - they look across the central walkway at the unit opposite. Given the $99 a night we were paying, that was not a major issue for us, but we wouldn't have felt as happy if we'd been paying the full price.
In all fairness, nowhere on the website does it say there's ocean view (other than the lookout). They show several beach photos and talk about "direct beach access." And they do provide a narrow access - a platform about 20' wide with an attached pedestrian gate.
2. Privacy is an issue. We spent the 4 days with the living room blinds down otherwise the occupants of the units across from us would be able to peer in, also those walking by on the central walkway.
3. Privacy is also an issue for the bedroom, and again we had to keep the blinds down 24 hours a day. The main access to all units is via a paved pathway leading from the reception building, down the length of the row of condos - right under the bedroom window of each unit.
4. More on the access. This can be a challenge for those who have difficulties packing all their gear in a handcart from the parking lot to their unit.
5. We found the door locks very difficult to use! Fortunately the main entry door lock was standard so we could at least get into the unit, but the door from the living room and also those locks to the fitness area, the sauna and the common lounge were a constant challenge. They're complicated - something more guest friendly would be appreciated.
6. In order to access the fitness room, sauna or changing rooms, hot tub, common lounge or lookout, it was necessary to sign out 4 separate keys at reception, available from 8:00 am to 9:00 pm since those facilities all closed at 9:00. They had to be turned in each night. This was annoying and could easily be resolved with a timed cardlock system for those facilities.

In summary, we had an enjoyable 4-day stay. Is Cox Bay comfortable and well maintained? Yes. Would we stay at Cox Bay again? Probably not. Though we certainly got our $99 worth, we both agreed that if we're making the effort to come to the Tofino area, we'd prefer to pay a higher rate and be able to enjoy an ocean view.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dusty242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I were given a 2 night stay at Cox Bay Beach Resort as a retirement gift which we used in late February. The staff at the front desk were very professional and I found the cleaning staff I spoke with on the property so friendly and accommodating. Our Unit (#21) was a patio unit closest to the beach and the interior was decorated nicely including a cozy fireplace and large bathroom. After discovering there was only one bath towel the housekeeping quickly provided me with additional towels. The girl wa very apologetic and asked if there was anything else we needed. The Resort was very peacefull (perhaps due to it being during the low season). Sitting infront of the fire with the faint sound of ocean waves was so comforting. Cox Bay Beach is beautifull and accessible to nearby hiking trails. Being a favourite surfing beach we were entertained by the large amount of professional surfers on one of the days there. If we had one complaint, it would be the bed. Although the mattress cover was feather and the feather comforter was great, we found the bed to be too soft and not enough support for a perfect night sleep (to our liking). This is something the owners should concider as most people do need a little more support/firmness in a bed.

We didn't get a chance to try the sauna or hot tub as we had forgotten to bring our bathing suits. Cox Bay Resort is like having a little home away from home where you can easily drive to Tofino (5-10 minutes) to pick up your groceries and wine. Overall, we would recommend this Resort as a good place to escape the big city atmosphere to relax and enjoy easy walking and sightseeing.

Room Tip: If you want a large patio, pick one on a corner. All Units are layed out to have some glimpse of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I love staying at Cox Bay Report in Tofino, and have stayed with them half a dozen times. The best thing is the location, steps to a wonderful quiet beach, great for sunsets and wave watching. It's like a home away from home with a great kitchen with everything you need to cook for yourself. Comfy and cozy bed and finsihing touches. They offer great deals in the off season for people who subscribe to their newsletter. The only down side is the front desk customer service is a little slow and reluctant.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom room are more private but the patio is not covered. The rooms on the right when facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moselle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
2.1 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,083 reviews
2.9 mi away
Meares Vista Inn
Meares Vista Inn
#13 of 16 in Tofino
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cox Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cox Bay Beach Resort

Address: 1431 Pacific Rim Hwy, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tofino
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tofino
#6 Family Hotel in Tofino
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tofino
Price Range: $147 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cox Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Cox Bay Beach Resort, where the West Coast of Vancouver Island meets the full might of the Pacific Ocean, nature envelops you in a spiritual way. Powerful winter storms inspire awe while summer calm instills a sense of peace and tranquility. Cox Bay Beach Resort offers forty West Coast decor one and two-bedroom beach house suites. The resort also boasts a well-appointed common-use fitness centre, sauna, outdoor hot tub overlooking the beach, a wi-fi-enabled lounge with an expansive stone fireplace, and an elevated look-out pavilion where guests can sit, read and enjoy the unrivaled views of Cox Bay Beach. Nestled next to Pacific Rim National Park and situated within Clayoquot Sound, only a seven minute drive to the world-famous village of Tofino, Cox Bay Beach Resort provides easy access for exploring all the magnificence this World Heritage site has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cox Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cox Bay Beach Hotel Tofino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing