We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like being at home...”
Review of Tofino Trek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tofino Trek Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like being at home...”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place and I can see why it has received such positive reviews from other travelers. Yes, it is a great choice for the budget traveler, but by no means does that suggest that the quality and the comfort of the stay is any less than that expected from the pricey hotels nearby. The place is impressively clean!! One of the highlights of this place is that it is a heritage home (with modern updates), so it still shows off a lot of its character particularly with the high ceilings and colorfully painted walls. Our room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. I can appreciate how this is a great place to meet other travelers..the kitchen acts as a really nice gathering place to sit and share travel stories.
Joe is an amazing host, I cannot say enough good about him! Believe all the praise he has received in the reviews. He is very caring, and will go through great lengths to ensure the comfort of his guests and to make them feel welcome. He was very thoughtful to accommodate my dietary restrictions (which I failed to mention until the moment we arrived and met with him). Thank you, thank you Joe! It is very apparent that he has done incredibly well in his dedication to offering a warm and safe place to all those who come knocking on the door.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shutterbug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    43
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
122
145
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saturna Island
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Joe's thought about what he's doing and he's thought about what a budget traveller needs and he's put it all together so it fits comfortably and smoothly. And he's right there to help in any way he can. He sets the tone for whatever else Tofino may offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at Tofino Trek Inn for a few nights at the end of October and loved it. For a really affordable price we got a lovely room, breakfast in the morning and a great location. Joe, the owner, is a wealth of knowledge about the area and is more than happy to give advice on the best places to eat, best trips etc. Will definitely stay there again on my next visit to Tofino.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wonderful and homely guest house in a very convenient, central location. The owner Joe is the best part of the experience. Excellent local knowledge and sense of humour. Clean rooms with renovated bathroom facilities. Also, comprehensive kitchen facilities for guest use. Great attention to detail. Excellent breakfast included with fresh bread everyday. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent from what I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at the Tofino Trek Inn for 2 weeks in October. It was by far a place where we have some of our best memories from our Canada trip. For us, we were on a budget where we couldn't afford to stay in a pricey hotel. Yet at the same time, we were after something a bit smaller and more homely than a youth hostel. The Trek Inn felt like a home away from home. It was clean, has a communal lounge and kitchen area, and shared bathrooms. There's a lovely balcony out the front with water views which is fantastic when the sun is out. Joe was an amazing host - extremely generous with his hospitality and fantastic company. If we are ever back in Tofino, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronaghandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotkreuz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Joe is a welcoming and super friendly host. He can explain and tell you lots of things in and around Tofino. The facility is very clean and Joe looked after everything in detail. We spend three nights at Joe's and enjoyed every bit of our stay. Thank you for your hospitality, Joe!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Thanks Joe for a very enjoyable stay. Glad our daughter Emma recommended you. Your advice and assistance was greatly appreciated and the bear watching a highlight of our 2 day stay in Tofino. Great walks and a beautiful coastline. The communal living area and breakfast room gave us a chance to meet with other likeminded people from around the globe.
Wouldn't hestitate to recommend you to anyone looking for a place to stay in such a centrally located spot.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tofino Trek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tofino Trek Inn

Property: Tofino Trek Inn
Address: 371 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tofino Trek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tofino Trek Inn is a Hostel style Bed and Breakfast with a beautiful Ocean view. With only 2 private rooms and two dorm style rooms each with 2 bunk beds and a single bed making it a quiet and comfortable stay. Guests receive fresh baked bread,fruit,coffee & tea in the morning, full use of the kitchen, and BBQ on the deck, over looking the ocean. Whole house rentals also available for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Tofino Trek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing