We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home!”
Review of Tofino Trek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tofino Trek Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
“Home away from Home!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My sister and I spent 5 days in Tofino and I could not have imagined a better host. We instantly felt at home. Joe was an extremely friendly and welcoming host. He booked the hotsprings and surfing for us, and made excellent suggestions for local restaurants and things to see. The fresh bread every morning was awesome and definitely the cherry on top of the experience. I would stay with Joe again in a second next time I visit Tofino.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    43
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
122
145
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went to Van Island for a couple of days to see what it had to offer and spent two nights in Tofino at the Trek Inn. Joe is a brilliant host who makes you feel right at home the second you step through the door!
We had a private room which was pretty basic but felt cosy and well maintained.
The hostel is clean and has a nice aurora about it. (breakfast and wi-fi come in the price) we had the place to ourselves more or less and it was very reasonably priced. If you're heading to Tofino head here, you will not be disappointed!

We were pretty sad that we left our pack lunches on the side and left without them, I hope they went to a good cause Joe haha. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattwynne1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After extensive research, my boyfriend and I decided to book a three night stay in the Driftwood room at the Tofino Trek Inn. From an online perspective, the location seemed desirable and the price was definitely right at $95.00/night. After arriving in Tofino and grabbing sushi at Tough City, we checked in and met Joe, the most wonderful host we could have asked for! Joe showed us our room and then kindly sat down with us and mapped out our short three days in Tofino to ensure we made the most of it. He gave us recommendations on everything from tour providers and excursions (trip to Hot Springs Cove), to restaurants (such as the fish tacos at Tacofino -- a must!) and surf schools (Bruhwhiler). Each morning we sat down to delicious fresh baked bread, jams, peanut butter and coffee/tea. It was also a great opportunity to meet other groups/couples from across the globe that were staying at the inn. Joe would also take this time to make sure our day was set (booking reservations, marking out trails, etc). Our stay here was unforgettable. The inn was clean and had all the essentials. The bathroom on the main floor is especially spacious and emits a coastal-vibe. There is a quiet living room-type area to read or catch-up on the day's events. My boyfriend and I enjoyed a pint of Tuff Session Ale from Tofino Brewery on the inn's veranda before heading to dinner each night (at our favourite local establishment, Shelter -- at Joe's suggestion of course), which overlooks the harbour and offers a beautiful view of the sunset. I cannot say enough positive things about our experience at Tofino Trek and the town of Tofino in general. When it came time to check out, we asked Joe if our room was available for another two nights (we weren't quite ready to leave). Unfortunately it wasn't -- to no surprise -- but we did decide to splurge and stay at the beautiful Long Beach Lodge for our final two nights of our West Coast trip (instead of heading to Vancouver as originally planned). As beautiful as Long Beach Lodge was, I would have been just as content at Tofino Trek Inn -- a true gem on Vancouver Island. I highly recommend this budget B&B to any group or couple (young or old) looking for a rustic and rejuvenating getaway. Joe's knowledge of the area and kind disposition adds a special touch to this inn. We could not have asked for a better stay!

Room Tip: The Driftwood room is particularly desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Room is clean.
We can use kitchen and eat breakfirst.
And orner is sooooo kind!
He was thinking best way of spend for me.
Tofino is good place to visit and sunset.
You should go and stay here.
Thank you so much!
I will be buck:-)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toffffino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everything was just right: we had (unfortunately only) two wonderful days in the Trek Inn in Tofino. We took almost every tip our friendly host Joe gave us and saw nice beaches, made a beautiful hike, had great food and at last the highlight: a perfect first surf lesson!
And in the evenings and in the mornings we had such a nice time in the kitchen chatting with Joe and the other guests!
Thank you Joe for this really good time! Hope to see you again soon!
Alexander and Silke from Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silke_gHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I can highly recommend this hostel! I stayed at Tofino Trek Inn for two nights. These were the best two nights I spent on my entire trip in Vancouver Island! The host, Joe, creates a very sociable and cozy atmosphere in the hostel, and he is so helpful providing you with all the information you need about tours, sights, costs, etc. The rooms and wash rooms are very clean. The breakfast is unforgettable :)
This is also the ideal place for solo travellers (as myself) since you meet other cool people staying at the hostel while sitting in the kitchen eating breakfast or hanging out in the living room.
I found it very hard to leave Tofino Trek Inn and hope I get the chance to go back sometime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We came for the long weekend of Thanks Giving and our stay in Tofino Trek Inn was awesome !
At first, we had a car problem and so we were by foot most of the time. It was no longer a problem thanks to Joe (the owner) who helped us some much by adapting our plans, calling the hot springs company for a reservation and so much more ! We really apreciated his kindness and generosity.

Also, the Inn was beautiful, colorful and very clean. We took the Cedar Room which was very confortable and gave us an excellent rest. The breakfast was very healty and yummy.
We would love to come back to Tofino and be Joe's guests again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YannandMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.2 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tofino Trek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tofino Trek Inn

Property: Tofino Trek Inn
Address: 371 Main Street, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tofino Trek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tofino Trek Inn is a Hostel style Bed and Breakfast with a beautiful Ocean view. With only 2 private rooms and two dorm style rooms each with 2 bunk beds and a single bed making it a quiet and comfortable stay. Guests receive fresh baked bread,fruit,coffee & tea in the morning, full use of the kitchen, and BBQ on the deck, over looking the ocean. Whole house rentals also available for groups and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Tofino Trek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing