We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bear Watching”

The Whale Centre & Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 Museums in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open year round with very competitive pricing. The Whale Centre invites you to join us for an exciting sea adventure in pristine coastal ecosystems! Celebrating over 30 years of operation on the west coast of Vancouver Island, The Whale Centre continues to venture out into Clayoquot Sound, off the coast of Tofino, BC, taking passengers on Whale Watching Tours, Bear Watching Tours, Hot Springs Soak Tours, Bird Watching Tours, Pelagic Birding Expeditions and water taxis to Meares Island on open and covered vessels. We specialize in the natural history and marine wildlife of the Clayoquot Sound area. Located in the heart of town in Tofino, we offer free parking, complimentary dogsitting and a gift shop complete with a full gray whale skeleton! The Whale Centre is a member of the Pacific Rim Association of Tour Operators. We support and abide by the guidelines for responsible whale watching and safety. A portion of proceeds supports local wildlife research and marine wildlife rescue programs.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bear Watching”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great Bearwatching tour! Small boat that gets closer to the shore than the others (bigger ones) can do. Very concerned about the bears, tried not to stress them or disturb them too much. Nevertheless we got really close to a mother bear and her two cubs. Friendly staff all over.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flugdrache77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    23
    7
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Whale Centre Hot Springs Tour”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a great experience for anyone wishing to enjoy the natural hot spings in the area and I'd highly recommend it. We enjoyed sitting in the pools which were indeed hot (!) and had a packed lunch afterwards looking out on to a spectacular view. We had a knowledgeable guide who directed our attention to the natural wildlife including seals, walruses, otters and seabirds. We also spotted two grey whales and a humpback and were given ample opportunity to take pictures. The staff and guides were tremendous. Had a great time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellowmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best I've ever been on!”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had no idea a whale watching west coast nature tour could be so good. As an islander, I've taken a few whale watching tours locally and up island, and have been ho hum, that was neat. But! The Whale Centre's tour really floored me with the personal attention to the guests and the education we received about the area was outstanding. We saw lots of wildlife, including seals, birds, otters and of course whales. I was impressed with our tour guides boating skills manoeuvring us closer to these impressive animals in and amongst rocks and kelp beds. It truly was a magnificent Pacific West Coast experience my family will never forget. As a bonus, our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and experienced in wildlife photography so he helped many people on the boat set up some great shots!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirl293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best trip we've ever been on!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a very early start - 6.30 am - but it was well worth it!! We had great views of 3 families (mother and cubs) of bears, as well as decent sightings of a bald eagle, harbour seals, and harbour porpoises. Our skipper was friendly and very knowledgable about each of the species we saw and also the surrounding area. The boat was particularly quiet, not too large, and we enjoyed drifting quietly, close to the bears without disturbing them. We would all strongly recommend this company, who seem to care about the wildlife and the environment.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CrispyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A true nature experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great team ! Very professional and knowledgeable people ! The sightings were excellent. It was a true nature trip as we saw harbor seals, Steller sea lions, sea otters, different species of birds (our skipper was really happy to show me the very rare tufted puffin and took some time to assure that I had good shots), grey whales, orcas, eagles ... So much wildlife ! It was really amazing. I took also a black bear tour with them, it was extremely worth it. We saw 5 bears among them a female with 2 cubs ! Really close views ! It was amazing !

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whale Centre & Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Whale Centre & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing