We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”
Review of Schooner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Schooner Motel
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Thompson, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

we got the LAST hotel room in Tofino at the Schooner Motel. the staff was great, the rooms were clean. I highly recommend if you just need a place to sleep. The decor was a bit dated, but when you're in "hippie country", does it really matter?

Room Tip: book early. Tofino is a busy place in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outdoorchick2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    30
    21
    24
See reviews for
20
43
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Schooner July 30, 31, Aug 1 2013. We were well aware of some of the negative tripadvisor reviews. Booking a room by phone was easy. The owners and staff were extremely pleasant and efficient on the phone, and in person onsite. Adequate parking on the property. Our room was $150/night plus taxes.

We had room #1 on the ground floor. It was spotlessly clean; all the bedding and towels were clean and fresh. Basic amenities were provided: phone, kettle, cups, mini-fridge (nice and cold), hair dryer, TV, bedside alarm clock, and bathroom soap. Nice electric fireplace, too! No microwave in our room. As others have said, this property is within easy walking distance of multiple restaurants and stores; we had no compelling reasons to eat in our room and hence the lack of microwave wasn't an issue.
There is a sunroom/coffee room near the main office, providing free morning tea and coffee for guests.
The beds, while firm, were not the least bit uncomfortable. The pillows could have been a little softer, but again, not uncomfortable.
The rooms are strictly non-smoking, but chairs and ashtrays are provided in front of each room for smoking outdoors only.

We found the Schooner Motel to be a perfectly acceptable place to stay. There were a few minor issues we found, however:
-our bathroom was missing a couple of towels: corrected immediately by staff.
-our shower door leaked water onto the bathroom floor.
-a slight musty smell in the bathroom, remedied by leaving the window open for a few minutes.
-bathroom door caught the doorframe moulding, making a noise when opening the door.
-bright outdoor lighting might disturb some sensitive sleepers. The room windows have thick curtains and Venetian blinds, which blocked much of the outdoor light.

We really don't understand the very negative reviews here. The Schooner motel is an older, basic, motel-style property. As such, our room provided a clean, comfortable, convenient place to stay for one of our frequent getaways to Tofino.

(PS- the stairs to the upper floor are just fine! We tried them.)

Room Tip: -upper floor rooms have a slightly better view over Tofino and it's harbour. Ground-floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Island_Sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We decided 5 days prior that we wanted to come back to Tofino. Our usual motel was booked, so we tried for the Schooner and were given two choices of rooms. We wanted the lower floor and had room #1. Basic, the decor a bit dated, but it suited us just fine.
The location was even better than our usual place as the Schooner is right across from the Co-op supermarket, and just a few steps away from the Aerie Gallery. We ate twice at the Schooner Restaurant next door (great place and service) which is not part of the motel.
Our beds were fine, very comfortable, and though the pillows were not to my personal taste, I had a great night's sleep. Yes, we had a boiler in the bathroom but as it made no noise, it was no problem and was behind doors. We had plenty of hot water which was more important! Our towels were fine, not threadbare, but I did have to ask for another hand towel as we were missing one. Not a big deal. We had a kettle and fridge in our room which was fine. I am not a coffee drinker, but was assured that the coffee from the solarium tasted great by the other half.
The only minor criticism is that our shower door leaked at the bottom - a new door hadn't been installed properly, maybe?
The motel is family run, the owners turning their hand to cleaning also. Very pleasant folks! All in all, we'd stay here again.
One note for travellers - all of Tofino IS expensive. It is in a remote location and shipping costs add to the prices we are all used to. However, the beauty of this area make the trip and stay worth it.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website to see what types of rooms are available and the rates. We prefer ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Popoki_Iti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenora
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

$293.00 for a room that was so musty we had to leave the window open and put up with being too cold. It was not by chance that this place was the only accommodation that was not booked in town. I literally felt like the stairs were going to collapse as I was making my way to the second floor balcony. Tofino is generally over-priced but this one is what a science guy would call an outlier...I frequently use trip advisor but this was the first time I felt compelled to write a review. Literally the worst place I have ever stayed in many trips across Canada.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tofino hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ah Tofino! A place to empty even the tightest of wallets. This was the last of the mid week rooms at almost $200. At best a closet with 2 beds. Thin towels, sheets, coffee and walls. If you have to see Tofino and have to stay over night this may be one of the bests bargains in town. Right downtown within walking distance to most shops and restaurants. What a setting! Just be prepared to pay for the view.

Room Tip: Reserve early and get a view room on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradford7050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midcentral, Alberta Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a good view from the room. Was clean but boiler in bathroom. Desk girl does an average job of selling rooms. Owner is very enthusiastic and helpful. Price was a little high end for what you get. Eating place down the road was within walking distance. It was really good breakfast.

Room Tip: Get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenLor60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were originally suppose to stay at long beach haven but that was a fail
Because we judged it by the outside and didnt feel safe. So last
Minute we were looking for a place
To stay and we
Came across
This
Motel because it was the only place that responded when we rang the bell early in the
Morning.loved it how it was soo clean!!! there was a small fridge and tea kettle and a coffee
Room downstairs.its a walk away from restaurants and across the street is a grocery store.
If u just want a place to sleep and just the basics then i would recommend this
Place. It was $120 but there was 3 of us so we just divided the
Cost so it turned out well.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike2log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.1 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
134 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
2.3 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
313 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Motel

Property: Schooner Motel
Address: 311 Campbell, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Schooner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Schooner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing