We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Place to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Schooner Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Schooner Motel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tofino
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Place to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ah Tofino! A place to empty even the tightest of wallets. This was the last of the mid week rooms at almost $200. At best a closet with 2 beds. Thin towels, sheets, coffee and walls. If you have to see Tofino and have to stay over night this may be one of the bests bargains in town. Right downtown within walking distance to most shops and restaurants. What a setting! Just be prepared to pay for the view.

Room Tip: Reserve early and get a view room on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradford7050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    25
    16
    14
See reviews for
14
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midcentral, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had a good view from the room. Was clean but boiler in bathroom. Desk girl does an average job of selling rooms. Owner is very enthusiastic and helpful. Price was a little high end for what you get. Eating place down the road was within walking distance. It was really good breakfast.

Room Tip: Get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenLor60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were originally suppose to stay at long beach haven but that was a fail
Because we judged it by the outside and didnt feel safe. So last
Minute we were looking for a place
To stay and we
Came across
This
Motel because it was the only place that responded when we rang the bell early in the
Morning.loved it how it was soo clean!!! there was a small fridge and tea kettle and a coffee
Room downstairs.its a walk away from restaurants and across the street is a grocery store.
If u just want a place to sleep and just the basics then i would recommend this
Place. It was $120 but there was 3 of us so we just divided the
Cost so it turned out well.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spike2log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here last February for 1 night and though it is a modest motel it was very comfy and homey feeling. The bedding and room was clean, though it is an older motel. There were adirondack chairs outside the room and a patio area. Motel overlooks the ocean and is in the center of town. There was a continental breakfast of muffins, coffee, juice. The shower worked well and the staff were very friendly. There is a large grocery store across from the hotel which takes about 2 minutes to get to which has a super variety of food. The room had a microwave and coffeemaker so we were able to get our food really quickly, head back to the room and heat it up. There is also a sitting area in the room with a table and a couple of chairs. The price of the room that night was about $79 plus tax, very reasonable.
We didn't care for the town too much in that to us it was just another sea town. On the way into town, the bus goes past Long Beach, which is gorgeous. (We didn't drive, took a bus). The beach is white sand, very pristine and you really need a car to get there. It is pretty secluded. And it was a long winding road into Tofino that we thought would never end. Anyway, we were relieved when we finally got there. We felt like we were at the end of the world. It was so secluded and cut off from everything. We checked out the Native museum which was beautiful and super interesting. Aside from that, it is a really quiet town. Not a lot of night life. And the restaurants are really overpriced, though really nice, food good.Would we go again? No. But we may check out Long Beach one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was dated and basic, but clean. The fridge in the room didn't work and there were no coffee making facilities in the room. There was a room that was unlocked at limited times to avail yourselves of pre-made coffee. I only used that once as the coffee was like dishwater!
The motel was in a good position in Tofino next door to an excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the schooner hotel for 1 night, we got in late and everyone was closed up, even though we woke them up they gave us a room thank you kindly. The room was very clean :) chairs and ashtray outside for smokers very thoughtful

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctran37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have stayed in better camping barns than this place, with no faculties i.e coffee machine or kettle in my room and the bed was so hard and uncomfortable the floor was a better option.
to be honest bring your own tent rather than stay in this dump

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedragon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tofino hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.1 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 18 in Tofino
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 18 in Tofino
4.0 of 5 stars 924 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schooner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schooner Motel

Property: Schooner Motel
Address: 311 Campbell, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Schooner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Schooner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing