We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Hr Kayaking Trip”

Remote Passages Marine Excursions
Ranked #6 of 51 Tours in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WHALES, BEARS, HOT SPRINGS, SEA KAYAKING, MEARES ISLAND 'Big Tree Trail'. Small group experience for those serious about wildlife. Remote Passages Marine Excursions is a wildlife viewing operator based in Tofino, BC on the West Coast of Vancouver Island. Specialize in whale & bear watching, Hot Springs Cove, Meares Island and sea kayaking tours. Educational programs for all ages gives this company a different feel. From the documentary presentations through the on water experience people are invited to explore the marine environment with their guide. Remote Passages aim is to have participants leave Tofino with lasting memories and an understanding of this remarkable environment that sits on the edge of the Pacific Ocean.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“4 Hr Kayaking Trip”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Loved the trip to Meares Island and the rainforest trail although it was a bit sketchy as far as the footing went! The guide went through one of the boards! My sister found the trip a little rushed but I enjoyed it thoroughly!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    44
    14
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tour, great guide!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were in Tofino in March and did whale watching with our tour guide Tyson. We had a wonderful trip and a passionate and guide. Tyson was very knowledgeable and we had the luck to see orcas, grey whales, sea lions and otters.
We also stayed out longer than we planned to, because everyone had so much fun.
After a very long trip and a great experience we were welcomed back at the Remote Passages office with tea and were able to ask additional questions.

Very recommendabel.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a whale of a time!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Tyson gave us an amazing tour! Friendly and professional, and maybe a bit lucky ;)
We had two (some claim 3) grey whales swimming right up to the boat for 45 minutes - blowing snot on us - we had a great time!
Thoroughly recommend it! We saw sea lions, cormorants, and seals too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best West Coast Excursion ever!”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Weather great on Thursday Oct.17th, sunny calm day in Tofino. My impression was well lets see how they fair towards Victoria, BC Tour boats.... We 4 would do it again...guide James made it so easy in his covered boat to follow all nature, path, with it surprises for a small group to enjoy. He made it fun, interesting . At the office staff is greeting you with interesting,facts, knowledgeable clean, surroundings. The grey whales, bald eagles, and of course hot
spring cove will give us wonderful memories for years to share. Highly to recommend for any time of the year. to visit Tofino and surroundings...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Magdalena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE place to take a whale watching trip”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Staff are a real team working together to make sure all will have a great experience. Equipment is clean and they look like they can handle large crowds! We took off in a Zodiac with our guide James on a quiet ocean and he shared with us a myriad of facts about the geography, the wildlife, the seasons and what we could expect. Starting with Bald Eagles, then sea lions, sea otters and harbor seals, we saw it all! James moved about on the outside (ocean side) of the islands until we saw some whale activity and then it was AWESOME. A half dozen whales in Cow Bay (?) but one that came straight to our Zodiak and played with us for several minutes, in / out and back and forth, under the boat, behind the boat; way too exciting. James was excellent at maneuvering about the local waters to give all of us the best opportunities for great pictures and visibility. This company is my go to company when we return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remote Passages Marine Excursions also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Remote Passages Marine Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing