We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bears!!!”

Remote Passages Marine Excursions
Ranked #6 of 51 Tours in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WHALES, BEARS, HOT SPRINGS, SEA KAYAKING, MEARES ISLAND 'Big Tree Trail'. Small group experience for those serious about wildlife. Remote Passages Marine Excursions is a wildlife viewing operator based in Tofino, BC on the West Coast of Vancouver Island. Specialize in whale & bear watching, Hot Springs Cove, Meares Island and sea kayaking tours. Educational programs for all ages gives this company a different feel. From the documentary presentations through the on water experience people are invited to explore the marine environment with their guide. Remote Passages aim is to have participants leave Tofino with lasting memories and an understanding of this remarkable environment that sits on the edge of the Pacific Ocean.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bears!!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I took the morning bear watching trip and our guide was super friendly. We stopped first a couple times to see eagles, then we made our way out to find bears. We got to see 3 separate bears and our guide gave us plenty of time to observe, take photos and soak in the scenery. We made our way to see harbor seals and an eagles' nest (with the pair both near by), rounding out the trip. Take the zodiac if you can - we got super close to the bears (but not close enough to bother them.) Good value for the trip. Only upgrades I'd suggest would be email confirmations of reservations and perhaps some new knit caps (mine kept wanting to fly off). Highly recommend!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teampickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remote-Passages, Owner at Remote Passages Marine Excursions, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Coastal Bear Watch program. Aren’t the photographic opportunities on the bear watch amazing? We have upgraded our system so we can now send e-mail confirmations on request . The knit hats are replaced on a continuous basis and I have had our staff go through the hats and replace any old ones. Thanks for the heads up. Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    44
    14
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bear Watching”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had an early start and the fog was dense but our guide did a great job in finding several bears to watch including a mother and her baby :). Skilfully skirting the coastline, the guide helped us get some great pictures and was extremely knowledgeable about the bears, their habitat and feeding habits. We were given float suits, hats and gloves which helped make it a safe and comfortable ride. A great trip

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woodstag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hot Springs trip on Zodiac, August 02 2013”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked half-day Hot Springs Explorer trip for the two of us and I think it was the highlight of our stay in Tofino Pacific Sands Hotel. Our 4 days stay was excellent in general, but this trip was truly amazing: the guide James was extremely knowledgeable and skilled, truly passionate about the job and the environment. We saw gray whales, including mom whale with a baby, sea otters, harbour seals, sea lions, bald eagles, including a baby eagle standing in the nest, sea stars in the cave and lots of birds: cormorants, puffins. The zodiac seating was also very convenient- with the 4 seats at the front, captain's booth in the middle and the 8 other seats placed on the sides enabled better stability as well as better opportunity to see attractions and take photos - people did not have to stand over other passengers to look or take photos, as the guide would approach the point of interest with both sides of the zodiac.
We tool lots of photos, but the best thing was the experience- to see all those beautiful creatures in their natural habitat was breathtaking.
The walk in the forest was very nice and refreshing and hot springs left as the nature made them are just fascinating, especially at he pool where the water from the hot springs mixes with the ocean waves.
At the end of our exciting trip the staff met us with freshly brewed hot peppermint tea, which was more than welcome by everyone.

It was truly unforgettable experience and we are looking forward to more trips with Remote Passages!!!
Thank you very much, guys!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Liubov Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Holland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Bearwatching from the sea”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was a trip on a small zodiac, finding black bears on the shores in the early morning. When coming close the engine was turned off, and we could hear the bears moving rocks to find food under them. Althoug it was very foggy, we found some five bears, and one mother with cub. Could make some close-up pictures.Before the trip we were drilled, and given a survival-suit, and who wanted could get gloves and hats. 4 sat in the front, and 8 in two rows behind the captain, watching sideways. The captain took care that all would have a good view, and turned the zodiac with a peddle.Although not cheap-104CAD, it was very worth it. On the way back some nice sealions, and Eagle's.On return we got a nice cup with hot tea. They have a small shop in the office, with good and practical stuff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhutantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We went on the zodiac whale tour and what a trip it was. Our guide was fantastic you could really see how passionate he is about his job. We saw all sorts of wildlife gray whales, sea otters, seals, sealions and bald eagles. I can't thank Remote Passages enough for such an awesome day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseycowmooLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remote Passages Marine Excursions also viewed

Tofino, Clayoquot Sound
 

Been to Remote Passages Marine Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing