We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Remote Passages Marine Excursions

Remote Passages Marine Excursions
Ranked #5 of 49 Tours in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WHALES, BEARS, HOT SPRINGS, SEA KAYAKING, MEARES ISLAND 'Big Tree Trail'. Small group experience for those serious about wildlife. Remote Passages Marine Excursions is a wildlife viewing operator based in Tofino, BC on the West Coast of Vancouver Island. Specialize in whale & bear watching, Hot Springs Cove, Meares Island and sea kayaking tours. Educational programs for all ages gives this company a different feel. From the documentary presentations through the on water experience people are invited to explore the marine environment with their guide. Remote Passages aim is to have participants leave Tofino with lasting memories and an understanding of this remarkable environment that sits on the edge of the Pacific Ocean.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We took a whale watching tour today. It was well organized. We were given all necessary instructions and didn't have any issues of not knowing what to do during the trip. Our captain Jay, very experienced professional, was an example of a perfect guide and captain. He managed to find 7 killer whales and a grey whale. The trip was very exciting and my family and I enjoyed it. We really recomend this place.
We are also going to take a bears watching and hot springs tours in a couple days. Grea place, great business. Keep it same way guys!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikolay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    39
    12
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Remote Passages, Tofino”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had been recommended Remote Passages by various people as the best excursion company to use in Tofino. Every single aspect of our dealings with them were second to none. They were very helpful via email and over the phone. Our plan was to do the Hot Springs tour the first day, and the bear watching the next. When we arrived, they advised us it would be a better day to do the bear watching tour, and as no one else had booked onto it, we would have a private tour. This tour was the highlight of our 2 week holiday across Canada. The service from their office/shop was brilliant. Everyone was so kind and informative. Our guide, Ryan, was amazing. He was so passionate about the area and the wildlife. We saw 4 bears in total, and plenty of harbour seals and eagles. The next day we did the Hot Springs Tour and that was also great. The Hot Springs can get quite packed, but we were the last boat to arrive, and therefore the last boat to leave... so we had the hot springs to ourself. On the way back we saw 2 Grey Whales. We would like to thank Remote Passages for making our holiday as perfect as it could be. We will definitely return to Tofino, for an even longer duration, and will be sure to go back to Remote Passages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_lianne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Solid Service and a great ride!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We found ourselves at Remote Passages while wandering through town and were pleased to be educated about all the adventure options available from Hot Springs cove to whale/bear watching to a simple trip to Meares Island for the walk along the Big Tree Trail. No pressure and friendly service worked so we signed up and had a great time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Black bears close up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were doubtful about this trip thinking it seemed rather expensive and we had seen a black bear near Lake Maligne. Then the sun came out and we had the trip of a life time seeing 13 mature bears and cubs feeding at the water side (second highest number of the season). Our guide demonstrated his kills in knowing where to go then taking the launch as close as possible to the shore. I wish I could show others the video snaps rather than this still photo. Trips are taken out at low tide so check on the tides. Well worth every cent!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AEM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional experience! Great service. Amazing guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had such a great day today. Three gray whales. A bunch of sea lions. Sea otters. And one eagle. And we were not even on a wildlife tour! We were heading to the hotsprings but this guiding company adds huge value to their excursions. Our guide Jay was incredibly knowledgeable and passionate - and a pilot that was completely trustworthy.

Helpful?
1 Thank JayFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remote Passages Marine Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Remote Passages Marine Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing