We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black bears close up” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Remote Passages Marine Excursions

Remote Passages Marine Excursions
Ranked #5 of 49 Tours in Tofino
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WHALES, BEARS, HOT SPRINGS, SEA KAYAKING, MEARES ISLAND 'Big Tree Trail'. Small group experience for those serious about wildlife. Remote Passages Marine Excursions is a wildlife viewing operator based in Tofino, BC on the West Coast of Vancouver Island. Specialize in whale & bear watching, Hot Springs Cove, Meares Island and sea kayaking tours. Educational programs for all ages gives this company a different feel. From the documentary presentations through the on water experience people are invited to explore the marine environment with their guide. Remote Passages aim is to have participants leave Tofino with lasting memories and an understanding of this remarkable environment that sits on the edge of the Pacific Ocean.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Black bears close up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were doubtful about this trip thinking it seemed rather expensive and we had seen a black bear near Lake Maligne. Then the sun came out and we had the trip of a life time seeing 13 mature bears and cubs feeding at the water side (second highest number of the season). Our guide demonstrated his kills in knowing where to go then taking the launch as close as possible to the shore. I wish I could show others the video snaps rather than this still photo. Trips are taken out at low tide so check on the tides. Well worth every cent!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AEM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    39
    12
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional experience! Great service. Amazing guide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had such a great day today. Three gray whales. A bunch of sea lions. Sea otters. And one eagle. And we were not even on a wildlife tour! We were heading to the hotsprings but this guiding company adds huge value to their excursions. Our guide Jay was incredibly knowledgeable and passionate - and a pilot that was completely trustworthy.

Helpful?
1 Thank JayFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Amazing tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We enjoyed the hotsprings cabiin boat tour on a dreary Saturday in october. Our guide Ryan was great - showing all kinds of wildlife on our route to the caves. We saw eagles, sealions, otters, a grey whale and a variety of birds. We spent time admiring and taking photos along the way & really appreciated his commentary about the area. The hike to & from the hot spring was beautiful, but not for the faint of heart. Wear good walking shoes! We were surprised by the confined nature of the spring area - wouldn't want to be there with 3 boatloads of tourists...too crowded, but for us on offseason, it was ok.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Hot Springs Trek!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were in Tofino for Thanksgiving and the weather was incredible. We booked a last minute spot on the hot springs trip as it was getting rave reviews. Well we weren't disappointed! We had Bobbi as our guide and he did a fantastic job of showing us bald eagles, sea lions, sea otters, grey whales, and waterfalls. The zodiac ride to the hot springs was wonderful and this trip is truly diverse as you spend time on the rugged coast line, relaxing in the hot springs, and walking through old growth forests. I would definitely recommend this trip given the diversity of things we were able to experience. They even had hot peppermint tea and hot chocolate when we returned...bonus points!! Thanks to the team for making this my best trek to Tofino :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fieldhockey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“kayaking in Clayoquot Sound”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We joined owner Don and guide Mel for a 4 hour kayak trip to Meares Island on Thanksgiving weekend.

Don has lots of great stories from his 20+ years of Kayaking in the Sound and took some amazing photos, which he sent to us afterwards. He was very patient with the varying levels of kayaking experience in the group and kept a watchful eye to make sure everyone was coping well.

The weather helped (we were in t-shirts, which is unheard of that time of year) and we saw porpoises, which was a special treat.

We had an amazing time and would highly recommend Remote Passages for a kayaking excursion. It's a bit off the beaten track in Tofino, but definitely worth finding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Remote Passages Marine Excursions also viewed

 

Been to Remote Passages Marine Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing