We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West Coast gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“West Coast gem”
Reviewed December 7, 2010

The perfect B&B! We went off-season and were warmly welcomed and really made to feel at home. Breakfasts were designed to keep you going and were creative too. The Rainforest room was spacious and entirely comfortable. There is also a den/TV room, a library of books and DVDs, a very cosy sitting room and just the right balance of attentiveness to guests needs and the independence that we value. The advice we were given about local places to eat and so on was right on the money. Furthermore, the location, just a hundred paces from the beach, make this an ideal spot for beachcoming, walking, and surfing along this extraodinarily beautiful stretch of the West Coast. And then back to the hot tub! With the town of Tofino just a few minutes away, one really does have it all. The hosts, Duncan and his wife, Robin, obviously care about their home and the guests who visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_MLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    33
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
156
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sidney, bc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We went up for the Thanksgiving weekend with our puppy. The puppy got car sick on the drive up soiling her crate pad. Robin ( the hostess) gave me towels, and put the pad in the washer and dryer for me.

The b & b is located across the street from Chesterman Beach - the nicest beach in Tofino, I think. Worlwide surfing championships were being held then. Quite fun to watch.

Breakfasts were big and delicious.

The house is lovely, although the bed was very hard - a futon I think..

Never the less, I would go back in a heartbeat.

Duncan and Robin (the owners) were incredible.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merit51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Gull Cottage B&B to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. We were the only people staying there although there are three rooms available. We can't say enough good things about Gull Cottage and Robin and Duncan who own it. We stayed in the Rainforest room which was extremely comfortable and spacious. There is a TV room filled with tonnes of books and a living room with a fireplace where one can curl up and read. The breakfast both days was delicious. Both Robin and Duncan made us feel extremely comfortable while we were there. The outdoor hot tub was a pleasant added bonus. Our pet basset hound was also welcome which we also appreciated. We would both highly recommend this delightful B&B.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiskaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We have stayed many times with Duncan and Robin and we plan to have many more stays. You couldn't ask for a more relaxing place in a perfect setting. Not only are the rooms great (and we have stayed in all of them - some more than once), but the shared library and living room are cozy and comfortable. The gardens are beautiful, a real rain forest garden and the beach is a minute walk along a path right across from the house. The beach is spectacular - especially at low tide and during November storms.

Robin and Duncan takes turns cooking a delicious hot breakfast. We haven't had the same meal twice - I wonder if they keep a record of what they served you so it isn't the same next time you come out:). We haven't tried the hot tub yet but you couldn't ask for a more romantic setting surrounded by tall trees. We will highly recommend a stay in this special place.
Inge and Ken

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeRiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This was our 3rd trip to Gull Cottage and we'll be back! It's in a great location, just across the street from Chesterman Beach where our labradoodle can run and play with other dogs. Robin and Duncan are fun people and really know how to make a delicious breakfast. This is definitely a favourite get-away spot.

Sue and Michael

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson8205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We started looking for a place for our visit to Tofino in June. A lot of B&B's were booked up already and the nice hotels were beyond our affordability. Duncan, the owner of Gull Cottage, was prompt, friendly, and patient in answering all my questions before we made the reservation and before our arrival. Robin welcomed us warmly when we arrived and showed us the closest route to the beach literally 2 minutes away from the place. Our room was simple, large, clean, and surrounded by beautiful trees and we could hear the ocean roaring as we slept. This place was just so relaxing and low-key and warm... felt like we were staying with friends! I would recommend Gull Cottage especially for couples looking for a romantic get-away in beautiful Tofino!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LubbyDubby82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Located in a wooded area just outside Tofino and within a short walk of spectacular Chesterman Beach, this B&B offers a quiet and relaxed elegance. We stayed in the lovely Rainforest Room which is light, airy and offered a comfortable bed and chairs and an ensuite bathroom with shower and large tub. Our hosts, Robin and Duncan, could not have been more accommodating. We had access to their library and living room, where we enjoyed conversation, music (using their CD player and CD collection), and a glass of (our own) wine, which we chilled in a small refrigerator they set aside for guests. It was a delight to sit in their hot tub on cool evenings. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed 4 different breakfasts created by Chef Duncan. They served us our last breakfast early in order to accommodate our ferry schedule. Robin and Duncan offered valuable advice on hikes, activities, and restaurants. If you're a dog-lover missing the dog you left behind, they'll allow you to pet their two quirky little border terriers. It was one of our best B&B experiences ever.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunny4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
1.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#9 of 16 in Tofino
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1254 Lynn Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian cottage in woodland setting. Just 200 feet from Chesterman Beach. Gourmet cooked breakfast included. TV lounge/library, sun deck, guest lounge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing