We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MAGNIFIQUE !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 42 Tofino B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MAGNIFIQUE !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent two nights in Tofino during our honeymoon and it was definitely a dream come true... We were heartily welcome by our hosts, Robin and Duncan, who made us feel at home and, well, almost in heaven. The cottage is only a minute away from the beach (walking), the room we had was lovely and very cosy. Definitely go and spend some time there !!!! We would certainly... Julie & Ismaël

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    33
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
156
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermilion, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We arrived in Tofino and were welcomed by Duncan and Robin! Their house was amazing - very clean and homey feeling! We stayed in the Rainforest room (queen bed, ensuite bathroom with soaker tub and shower) and enjoyed three delicious homemade breakfasts while we were there. The location of Gull Cottage was very convenient as well... It was only a short stroll from Chesterman Beach! With the beach being so close, we enjoyed a beautiful sunset every night we were there. Robin was also a great tour guide - she gave us great tips about where to eat, what trails to hike and what sights to see. We had a very good time, and definitely won't hesitate to recommend Gull Cottage to friends, family and the like.

Room Tip: The rainforest room is beautiful! It has many windows, and if you open them at night you can hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JThompson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our long weekend visit to Gull Cottage was very cozy! The breakfasts were very delicious and Robin and Duncan were great at accommodating my vegetarianism. It was a very show walk over to the beach which had great sun sets and rises. The bed in the room we stayed was on the firm side of things. All in all a great place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our first experience in a bed and breakfast, and it will be very difficult to beat. Everything from the comfort of the bedroom to the amazing breakfasts to the very personal customer service made this trip extremely worthwhile. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Robin and Duncan make bed and breakfast a truly excellent experience. From suggestions to where to stop on the way to Tofino, suggestions for places for dinner and local activities to a suggestion for a place to stop for lunch on the way to Victoria, they provided lots of useful guidance. Robin's tour of the house showed they had thought of everything those staying in the house might need. We stayed in the spruce room which had its own bathroom next door. We had great weather in September. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. It is a long and winding drive to Tofino and worth staying at least three nights when you get there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth_dymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Gull Cottage for five days in September in the Jay room. The room was clean and cozy. Duncan's breakfasts were definitely up there with the best meals we had on the island... and very healthy. They were very accommodating when we needed early breakfasts. While feeding us, Robin and Duncan are full of suggestions and helpful tips about the island. Robin even helped recommended a hotel and places to eat in Sidney for our last day.

Bodie, Tarka, Mulan and Cleo were quite friendly and welcoming. They gave us our pet fix for the week.

If you visit Tofino, we suggest you visit in September. It is absolutely beautiful (we had no rain) and it wasn't as busy as during the summer months. Five days was a good amount of time because we were able to pack in hikes (Schooner cove was our favourite), whale & bear watching and kayaking to Meares Island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toronto_Blueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My mom and I had a lovely two day stay at Gull Cottage in August.
It is in a great location with easy access to the beach and walking distance from Chocolate Tofino (yum)
The only minor complaint was we would have liked to have been given options for our breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gullcottagetofino, Owner at Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with breakfast - the first complaint in 7 years.
We are one of the few B & Bs that still offers a full cooked breakfast. The majority of our guests are fairly active (beach walking, surfing, kayaking,....) and are looking for a full breakfast to fuel the day. Providing a fruit starter followed by a cooked entree (fritatta, pancakes, huevos rancheros, bacon & egg, to name a few) with OJ, toast, coffee & tea has suited most.
In addition, we always cater for special diets (vegan, gluten free, lactose free) with advance notice.
Serving breakfast for 6 people at the same time, who are often eager to get on with the day, makes it difficult and uneconomical to offer choices.
We take pride in our cooking and do not want to resort to "continental breakfast", even though it would be easier and more profitable for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.4 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
1.4 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1254 Lynn Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian cottage in woodland setting. Just 200 feet from Chesterman Beach. Gourmet cooked breakfast included. TV lounge/library, sun deck, guest lounge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing