We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our belated honeymoon in Tofino!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2011

So many good things to say! First off Duncan and Robin are super helpful and happy to tell you anything you want to know about Canada, and tell you all the tricks of trade for navigating Tofino, including which restaurants have the best value and which activities give you the biggest bang for the buck. They really want you have a local's experience and will provide you with everything from enough grubby towels for the hot tub and beach, to spare sunglasses, umbrellas, etc. Chesterman Beach is amazing, you literally walk out Gull's doors and it literally is a two second walk across the tree lined street. Breakfast is super filling and yummy, and if you can't make it at the designated time they are happy to pack you a breakfast before you start off for the day. If you aren't sure about whether to stay "downtown" or outside of town, assuming you have a car, it's a no brainer, you choose the beach and Gull Cottage. Town isn't really that far away at all and it's nice to putz around there during the day and head back to your refuge at night. Also Gull Cottage has easier access to Uke and other stops along the main highway. If you are a soccer fan, don't mess with Duncan, he is a huge Manchester United fan! We'd gladly return!

Room Tip: If you want to feel like you are in trees and don't want to share a bathroom, choose the Rainfor...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise Lourdes D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 222 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at Gull Cottage. Duncan and Robin make you so welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are spacious and there is a TV/ library and separate music lounge. Breakfasts were great and Duncan's homemade yogurt is just the best. The beach is only a minute away and Robin and Duncan know the area well and can guide you on the many varied things to do and see no matter your particular interest. An excellent friendly easy going stay. We'll be back for sure.
Gordon & Renee Courtenay BC.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Our two night stay at Gull Cottage was most enjoyable. Nothing too much trouble for our hosts Duncan and Robin. Clean, comfortable rooms. Tea and coffee on hand 24 hours a day and a good healthy breakfast to start the day. TV room and separate lounge for guests to relax in. We walked across the road to the beach to enjoy a beautiful sunset - one of the many pluses of this delightful B&B. Many thanks. John and Linda, Solihull, England.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Gull cottage B&B in Tofino, is a wonderful place to stay and visit the Pacific Rim. Our hosts Duncan and Robyn were great, very helpful with advice on where to go in the area and their home is warm and welcoming. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast very good to start out day. They would make calls to local places and help book excursions, thanks for a great time in Tofino, regards David and Kerry, Sudbury Ontario.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kipmunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I had just hiked the West Coast Trail and really apprecaited the sense of still being in the forest and near the ocean. What a peaceful location. 200 metres to the ocean and Chesterman Beach, fabulous breakfasts and knowledgable hosts with ideas for the surrounding areas (as well as the east side of the Island). Robin and Duncan are so welcoming, love to cook and every breakfast was a feast to the taste buds. Gull Cottage is a great spot to settle in. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We were in tofino during a busy long weekend and found the gull cottage very relaxing and rejuvenating. A short walk to the beach, hearing the waves rolling gently from our room was the icing on the cake. Excellent hosts and delicious breakfast too!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gieffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights to start our 2 weeks of travel. The location is perfect, a 30 second walk from the drive way to the beach, its right across the road. The beach is fantastic - Chesterman Beach , absolutely beautiful visually and aurally, a total experience for the senses and the soul. .
The house and rooms were very clean. We stayed in the Spruce room and also got to look into the other 2 rooms. The Rain Forest suite was the largest with a big tub and lots of windows - definitely the best room . Our room was a little small for us but not too small that it was uncomfortable although the windows were small and on the warm days it was a little warm/stuffy in the room at night. The bathroom was located outside of the room but right beside it. The other 2 rooms had ensuites. There are 2 common rooms down stairs for guests that give you room to relax and spread out with tv and reading options as well.
The breakfasts were good and hearty and it was enjoyable to talk "football" with Duncan as he knows his sports . Robin was very helpful telling us the best spots to eat and they were spot on.

End result : Great location , clean accomodations, friendly hosts and good breakfasts. We would stay in the Rain Forest suite on a return visit

Room Tip: The Rain Forest suite was large , open and had a large tub . If you like a larger room you may find...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank G0Rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#7 of 16 in Tofino
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
Jamie's Rainforest Inn
#8 of 16 in Tofino
321 reviews
1.0 mi away
Long Beach Lodge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gull Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1254 Lynn Road, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $82 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian cottage in woodland setting. Just 200 feet from Chesterman Beach. Gourmet cooked breakfast included. TV lounge/library, sun deck, guest lounge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing