We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sauna House B&B
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Tin Wis Resort(Tofino)(Great Value!)
$241
$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$225
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tofino Motel HarbourView(Tofino)(Great Value!)
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Sands Beach Resort(Tofino)
$412
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Beach Lodge(Tofino)(Great Value!)
$125
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveler rating
26
7
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
7
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbird loversblue jaysevery morningchesterman beachminute walknikkimuffinsloftskylightforestbed
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 39 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in the Bird Lover's Loft, with a fantastic view straight into the dense forest, through a huge window. Stellers Jays were very inquisitive and sat outside the window eating seeds from the feeder. The bed was large and comfortable. Fantastic breakfast of freshly baked muffins (the rhubarb loaf was our favourite) kept warm on hot stones and fresh fruit was served every morning. We always had enough to take a muffin for lunch. The room was clean and had everything you could need, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, a microwave, board games and bird books. The room has its own shower and toilet. The lack of curtains on one small window and a small skylight described on other reviews didn't both us at all, but if you want to sleep in until midday in pitch darkness then this isn't the place for you. I will definitely be coming back.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank crispyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights. the house is like to be in a rainforest. so it was mois ( i didn´t liked it )t! it takes only 1 min. to the beach which is amazing! it takes only 5 min. by car to tofino!
the room seems not to be ready for us, because there were dust everywhere. maybe from the saisaon 2011? the cleanliness was only ok. the room is alternativ and not like a nice b &b TO ME! ( ! )
the breakfast was good. a lot of muffins and a big bowl of fruit!
i would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebelfeve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Sauna House is really a big garden shed at the bottom of the garden, but it is clean, cosy, surrounded by nature & tranquility and has everything you could possibly need or want.
The bedroom has very basic cooking facilities (we only made tea and it was perfect for that), a great collection of books (mostly on local wildlife & attractions) and even some games in case of rain. Then there is the bathroom, separate big shower room and the sauna itself which the owner will set up for you for whatever time you would like. We thoroughly enjoyed the sauna after the chilly strolls on the beach. In the morning you are woken up by the island's birds to a wonderful breakfast of warm muffins and fruit salad. The owner is super friendly and helpful and will even make your breakfast earlier if you need it. If all of that is not enough, the sauna house is across the road from one of Tofino's splendid beaches. You could spend days just wandering along the beach, though be sure to bring a fleece. Beautiful sunsets. Note that it is a good 30 min walk from the town centre (there is a walkway along the road), but almost all of the accomm in Tofino is actually outside the town itself. Finally, the Sauna Hause is very good value in comparison to the generally pricey options in the area. We stayed 3 nights and wished we could have stayed more.

Room Tip: The Sauna House has more privacy than the bird loves cabin.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingFeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in the bird lovers cabin for a few nights. We loved the sun shining into our room, the birds and the squirrel visiting us every morning, the small distance to the beach, the hot muffins in the morning. Some small minusses though: the bin was not emptied daily and the room not cleaned.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at the Sauna House on our first trip to Tofino. We loved the tranquility, the birds chirping, the great breakfasts and the SAUNA! It was so close to Chesterman Beach, just a 5 minute walk - we were able to enjoy the great weather and lots of walks on the beach.
Thanks Nikki, the Sauna House was lovely. It made our first mother-daughter excursion truly memorable.
Loved the fruit salad and yummy muffins.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews