We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Tofino”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tofino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedwell Place Guest House
Ranked #25 of 41 Tofino B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in the deluxe suite at Bedwell Place for 3 nights over Easter, and right from the start everything was wonderful. There was a bit of mix-up about the bus from Nanaimo to Tofino (my fault) and we arrived at the bus depot a bit apprehensive about what to do next. Henry, mein host, happened to be on the bus and drove us to the B&B which is on the main street in Tofino and walking distance to everything, where we also met Beverley, our co-host, and settled into our digs.

The suite was magnificent, huge well-appointed living area with a full kitchen (breakfast is not included in the price), a double bedroom and a spacious bathroom. The view from the balcony is breath-takiing: snow-covered mountains in the distance, the waters of Clayoquot Sound in the foreground.

Part of the service is a drive to the supermarket for supplies, and then really we were completely left to our own devices. We had tours booked for the next two days, whale-watching and bear-watching (very successful, by the way), and we cooked the first night in our own very well kitted out kitchen. The following night we had dinner at a restaurant literally next door, Shelter, recommended by Henry and in turn heartily recommended by me - great food, lovely atmosphere, outstanding service. The supermarket really is walking distance, so one really doesn't need to shop for everything in one hit. The free WiFi is a bonus, there's a nice big TV,lovely comfy furniture, some good novels for those quiet moments, really comfortable bed.

On Easter Sunday we travelled back to Vancouver, and Henry took us to the bus depot, a service gratefully accepted!

Bedwell Place Guest House deserves its high ranking on Trip Advisor. It is a superior lodging with excellent personal service from Beverley and Henry, and we could not have enjoyed ourselves more. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Deluxe suite is worth it for the private bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Bedwell Place Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

Great clean place and super friendly landlady (Bev) who was very helpful.
Excellent remote booking via web.
Budget for breakfast though!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewRecruits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I think it depends on the room that you get - there are I think 2 bigger rooms with tall windows, more expensive, and one cheaper small room facing an indoor court. The hosts are extremely friendly and all their recommendations regarding whale watching, surfing, etc were the best.
Great location. Don't forget there's a hot tub in the back.

They should put some shower gel, shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms, the only thing there was a hand soap. I'd recommend it, I'll come back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quaala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I recently spent 3 enjoyable nights in one of the suites at Bedwell Place. I found the owners Beverly & Henry to be very helpful & friendly. The rooms were immaculate and the convenience of a kitchen was much appreciated. I especially liked the view of the mountains and the ocean from my suite and I really appreciated its location so close to the main shopping area of Tofino. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to Tofino.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy48-06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Stayed two nights, but wanted to stay forever! Could have easily enjoyed ourselves and kept busy for a week with Bedwell Place as a comfortable, affordable, and convenient home base. The managers went out of their way to give us options for what to do, where to go, and even precise directions to lesser known tourist activities. They were very helpful, respectful, and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nofixedaddress39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We found this guest house in Tofino after a long and tiring drive from Victoria. We enjoyed the room which was nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. It was also conveniently situated close to one of the better pub restaurants in Tofino where we enjoyed an excellent romantic dinner for two. Draw backs included the price and the inadequate work surface areas in a very small shared kitchen, which was also the entrance lobby to two separate guest rooms. Other disappointments included having to ask for more teabags and finding only luke warm water for our showers .

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzzTofino, Manager at Bedwell Place Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a report. I do wish you had told us there was a hot water shortage while you were here. It took this report for us to realize that we had a problem and has now been resolved. As for tea we provide 6 tea bags 2 Earl Grey 2 English breakfast and 2 Green Tea per room everyday –and if that is not sufficient we are happy to give you extra. The entrance you are referring to is for the room that you rented. The suite next to your room has a separate entrance in the front. You were here for one night, looked at the room and asked the price before you registered so I am rather perplexed when you mention you thought it expensive. Had you indicated that this was not in your budget I would have taken the time to find you accommodation at another guest-house. I am always puzzled when I read a report as yours as we are here on site all of the time and always eager to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Great value! Our host Beverly was exceptional with a warm welcome and most accommodating providing information about local sights and places to dine. We were most impressed with the cleanliness and the convenience of having all the basics (toaster/coffee machine/fridge) in the common entrance way that allowed us to have breakfast in. We hope to return to Tofino and will definitely try to stay at Bedwell Place.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VCGQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tofino hotels
0.6 mi away
Maquinna Lodge
Maquinna Lodge
#15 of 16 in Tofino
136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
0.3 mi away
Tofino Motel HarbourView
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Tough City
The Inn at Tough City
#19 of 41 in Tofino
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tofino Ospray Lodge
Tofino Ospray Lodge
#13 of 20 in Tofino
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
House of Himwitsa
House of Himwitsa
#1 of 20 in Tofino
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedwell Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedwell Place Guest House

Address: 615 Campbell St, Tofino, British Columbia V0R 2Z0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District > Clayoquot Sound > Tofino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Tofino
Price Range: $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedwell Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very clean comfortable rooms all with separate entrances and private bathrooms ideally located just a few minutes walk to down town Tofino and Tonquin beach and only a few minutes bike ride or drive to many other beautiful beaches. . Some rooms have water views of Clayoquot Sound and Meares Island. Deluxe Suite has FULL kitchen with open plan living room, fireplace, spacious balcony, sleeps 4 comfortably. The Bedwell Suite has queen bedroom, ensuite bathroom, with living room, dining table and kitchenette with propane fireplace and front porch, sleeps 4, smaller adjoining room with double bed and private bath. The Queen suite is one bedroom with comfortable queen bed, ensuite bathrooom, kitchenette and garden doors which open onto the patio and view of Clayoquot Sounds. There is a Hot Tub and BBQ on site for guests enjoyment year round. Tours and trips to see bears, whales and hotspings can be arranged. Can assist in booking Electric Bike rentals, bicycle rentals etc. Clean, modern and comfortable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing