We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bear Watching Experience”

West Coast Aquatic Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tofino! Wild By Nature…Tour Tofino’s wild side with West Coast Aquatic Safaris. Enjoy the West Coast’s premiere wildlife and sightseeing tours aboard our All Weather Boats, WASCO and NANUQ, both Transport Canada safety certified. Our professional and knowledgeable staff will make your Tofino experience one to remember. Get off the beaten path and experience ecotourism that is environmentally responsible, safe, and fun for the whole family with West Coast Aquatic Safaris. We look forward to welcoming you aboard! First Class Adventure, Excellent Value.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Recently went bear watching on 'Nanuq' What a great experience! Saw a number of bears and bear cubs in the beautiful sounds. Thoroughly enjoyed the large boat option, being able to move about the vessel and choice of indoor and outdoor seating made for a comfortable trip! Brent in the office was super helpful as were the staff on board. An all around enjoyable morning. Would do again for certain.

Thank NZSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Went on a whale tour with a friend this past Tuesday and walked away truly amazed! We followed a pod of 5 orcas and saw some seals and a bald eagle as well. The crew were awesome especially captain Keith who took the time to talk to everyone and ensure we had a great time :), they explained in depth about the whales and even told some personal touching stories as well!
Our day was topped off when sitting by the wharf at night watching the stars we heard the sound of a whales blowhole very close by! Truly magical, I fell in love with tofino and can't wait to go back :)

1  Thank Sari_reider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

West Coast Aquatic Safaris AKA hxxp://www.whalesafaris.com/
This is a great excursion we went as 2 couples my wife and sister and brother inlaw we from
Coronation, AB.
The Captian/Todd was a great guide he worked in the area for approx. 15 years new the waters very well,and saftey was a major concern to him.This was a great value for the money and would recommend this tour to anyone of all ages,and Physical Abilities .I will definily go again.
Amazing and excellent............

Check out the video footage(not very good :):


http://youtu.be/UCuDaI8phwQ

1  Thank Collin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaticSafaris, Manager at West Coast Aquatic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Collin,

Safety is our number 1 concern when on the water and I am glad it was a part of your gang having such a good time. Todd is an excellent and highly experienced captain and thank you for including him in your review. Both our vessels are suited for individuals of all ages which is very important as most in Tofino exclude young children and yes the larger vessel is also wheelchair accissible which is a huge advantage for everyone as we have an access ramp from the dock to the vessel which just make things more appealing for everyone!

Thanks for joining us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were not sure which tour to take, and we had booked with another company that redirected us to this one since they had not enough customers. The Whale watching was really exciting, we got to see 4 whales, sea lions, seals, sea otters and the captain was very professional and interessant in explaining the route and the animals. I definitively reccomenand them.

2  Thank Mathias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaticSafaris, Manager at West Coast Aquatic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Mathias,

Thanks for your comments and we are glad you found your way to us and chose to share your experience with others. Hope to have you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My sister and I were very excited about our whale watching excursion with West Coast Aquatic Safaris. The day was sunny , the staff were more than friendly and helpful , including Captain Keith who let me ride shotgun with him ! We saw grey whales, otters , eagles , sea lions , and as far as I'm concerned some of the most beautiful and unspoiled lush area in the world. I fell in love with Tofino and definitely will go back again. A total thumbs up and a must do if you happen to be lucky enough to cross this beautiful place.Prices were so reasonable as well.

Thank natmakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaticSafaris, Manager at West Coast Aquatic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Nat,

So glad you enjoyed yourself. We are very fortunate to have an abundance of wildlife to view and equally fortunate that backdrop is incredible as well. We are always happy to have people join us in the wheelhouse to have a look around or share some stories.

See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Coast Aquatic Safaris also viewed

 

Been to West Coast Aquatic Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing