We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale watching tour aboard the Nanuq , Awesome Day !!”

West Coast Aquatic Safaris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tofino! Wild By Nature…Tour Tofino’s wild side with West Coast Aquatic Safaris. Enjoy the West Coast’s premiere wildlife and sightseeing tours aboard our All Weather Boats, WASCO and NANUQ, both Transport Canada safety certified. Our professional and knowledgeable staff will make your Tofino experience one to remember. Get off the beaten path and experience ecotourism that is environmentally responsible, safe, and fun for the whole family with West Coast Aquatic Safaris. We look forward to welcoming you aboard! First Class Adventure, Excellent Value.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My sister and I were very excited about our whale watching excursion with West Coast Aquatic Safaris. The day was sunny , the staff were more than friendly and helpful , including Captain Keith who let me ride shotgun with him ! We saw grey whales, otters , eagles , sea lions , and as far as I'm concerned some of the most beautiful and unspoiled lush area in the world. I fell in love with Tofino and definitely will go back again. A total thumbs up and a must do if you happen to be lucky enough to cross this beautiful place.Prices were so reasonable as well.

Thank natmakris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaticSafaris, Manager at West Coast Aquatic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Nat,

So glad you enjoyed yourself. We are very fortunate to have an abundance of wildlife to view and equally fortunate that backdrop is incredible as well. We are always happy to have people join us in the wheelhouse to have a look around or share some stories.

See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 264 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Excellent whale watching tour! Something our family had been really looking forward to! Had a bit of a misty murky morning but we still saw grey whales, sealions, harbour seals, sea otters, the eagle nest, porpoise!!! Had booked over the internet way, way in advance - just in case - so no problems with anything and can thoroughly recommend them! Both the captain and/especially the guide were fantastically enthusiastic and knowledgeable - making sure everyone was kept up to date with animals spotted and where we were/where we were off to and interesting facts on the history of the surroundings etc. The boat is beautifully clean and our safety obviously of importance to the staff. They were very professional. It was brilliant. We can't wait to go again!!!

Thank Moosehead2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaticSafaris, Manager at West Coast Aquatic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hello Moosehead,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate you mentioning that the weather was grey and misty. We get a lot of that in the area and often times when this is the case being on the water is the best to place to be. Clearly from your list you had the chance to see all kinds of things regardless of the weather.

Cleanliness and safety is extreemely important to us and thank you for noticing. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We made 2 trips with West coast Aquatics: whale watching and bear watching. You get a nice discount when booking more trips, but look out for discount vouchers in the brochures, they give you an even better discount!
Both boats used are very nice and clean, great viewing areas both inside and outside. The staff is very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
The whale watching was very exciting, saw lots of them around the boat. You also pass some rocks with lots of giant sea lions and another one with harbour seals. We also spotted 3 sea otters just next to the boat and few puffins. Awesome experience.
The bear watching was also very nice and much more 'relaxed' than the whale watching since you stay in sheltered waters. We had the small boat all to ourselves and saw some 4 adult black bears and 3 cubs! An harbour seal and a small dolphin accompanied us for a portion of the trip.
The captain really takes his time to let you enjoy the view and knew exactly where to go.
On both trips we also spotted bald eagles.
We had a very positive experience with West coast aquatic and their price was actually of the lowest on the market there while the quality was definitely very high!
I would book with them again in an instant.

Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaticSafaris, Manager at West Coast Aquatic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Karl,

Thank you for your very detailed review of your experiences and the helpful tips on discounts. I will also suggest that people book far in advance as that is often when people will find the best prices on our specials page of our website.

Thank you for taking the time and we hope you will join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We took both the whale and bear tours with West Coast Aquatic and they were great. The guides were very knowledgable, the boat was comfortable, quick and offered excellent viewing. We all had a great time and saw an impressive range of wildlife of which the crew were always willing to talk about and provide information.

Thank Charlie_Cosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaticSafaris, Manager at West Coast Aquatic Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Hi Charlie,

We are happy that you had the chance to take two of our tours and that you enjoyed each of them. Our guides have all kinds of information and stories and love to share with interested people. It is a very important part of the tour which enhances the overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our captain, Keith, proved to be a most informative and knowledgeable guide. He pleasantly explained and pointed out points of interest and animals. He was in touch with other boats in order to locate the whales and he kept an eye on the safety of his passengers. He and Diane looked after us well and were very accesible.
We appreciated the jackets that were provided by the company as it did get quite cold, even though we had a nice sunny day.

Thank emengee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Coast Aquatic Safaris also viewed

 

Been to West Coast Aquatic Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing