We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Prairie Meal Served on Salt Spring Island”

Rock Salt Restaurant & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Global flavour and island comfort in an 180 degree ocean view dining room. We make everything from scratch and emphasize local ingredients. Our menu is varied with numerous options for carnivores, vegetarians, kids and gluten free diets. We also have a full service in house bakery, grab and go deli and espresso bar.
Calgary
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Prairie Meal Served on Salt Spring Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I picked up my wife at the ferry in Fulford Harbour, decided to stop for breakfast, so glad we did. We were served the most amazing breakfast by the lovely and impressive server, named Prairie. I asked if this was in fact her name and she confirmed. The meal, the server, the harbour combined to make this a most amazing breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank donnieBlue61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    113
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rock Salt Café”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were in line for the ferry and didn't have a lot of time to spare. Because the restaurant is right beside the ferry, they understand that speed is important. Had smoked salmon eggs benny. The best Hollandaise sauce EVER! We made the ferry :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mossylog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The green curry seafood bowl was delicious. Everyone else in our party of agreed their food was also very tasty. I would definitely return again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank seasoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Local Produce, fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Salad was very fresh and dressed beautifully. Seafood was lovely and caught in the area, paired with local wines what can I say...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlanandAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I came here and had lunch while we were driving around. It was fantastic! We had come here about 7 years ago, when we first were living together, and were delighted it was still there. Food was fantastic, and so was the service!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LaughingEagle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Salt Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Rock Salt Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing