We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'd come back again”

Rock Salt Restaurant & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Global flavour and island comfort in an 180 degree ocean view dining room. We make everything from scratch and emphasize local ingredients. Our menu is varied with numerous options for carnivores, vegetarians, kids and gluten free diets. We also have a full service in house bakery, grab and go deli and espresso bar.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“We'd come back again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stopped in for lunch while waiting for the ferry. Its a nice and bright place. We love their divider wall with various cuts of coloured and pattered glass. It is on the water at Fulford Harbour. We had a great view from our table.
Right up-front our waitress advised that due to an earlier mishap that service and food will be slow. Still we stayed as we had some time. We ordered the soup as we thought that would be already prepared and would not have to wait that long for it. We were wrong and it still was a wait for the soup but it was delicious. Cream of broccolli and it came with warmed garlic naan bread. We had also bought a sandwich from their cafe and ate it inside with our soup. It was a roast beef sandwich. The ingredients in it were fresh but it was a bit flat on flavour. Maybe because it is a ready made takeout sandwich, it is not with mayo or mustard or the bread would be soggy?? just a thought.
We saw the brunch and lunch plates going by to other tables and they looked very very generous and good.
The server was pleasant even with the stress of catching up orders to the many other tables. The other patrons looked happy and patient.
We will come back and try this place again on our next trip to SSI.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avg_40ish_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    113
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcome to Saltspring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Chef Matt Rissling has (as usual) done a great (if not amazing) job. He has wonderful food and snaks for those on the go, as well as a well appointed restaurant for those with more time to sit and enjoy the view. If you are going to Saltspring via Swartz Bay you cannot miss it, stop in on your way to your destination and grab a bite, you will not be dissapointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jolyonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the complainers: this place is GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

New owners have taken over this restaurant, but they have wisely not trashed the old menu which has many popular old favourites that keep the locals coming back week after week. The staff turnover here seems very low -- many of the servers have been here for years.

The soups as always are great, especially if you are not that hungry or else dining on a low budget. They have just replaced the side-bread that comes with the soup with a nice garlic bread. If the soup of the day does not seem to your liking (and the staff is always pleased to bring you a sample taste) the chili, in my book, is awesome!

Mexican night is great. We love the chef whose name is Joel and he is from Mexico.

There are always going to be people who don't like a restaurant. But this place is very popular, and for good reason. The food is GOOD and hearty.

The only major problem with this restaurant is that -- unless something has changed lately -- they use "Salt Spring" brand coffee which, of course, is not only not grown on Salt Spring but not even roasted here any longer. I personally know too many people who will never touch the stuff. Not even the highly skilled baristas behind the coffee bar can rescue this awful roast from the oblivion it so richly deserves.

But if you're waiting for the ferry and you need a cheap caffeine jolt, then by all means go for it. You can get a far tastier cup of coffee just up the street and it will cost you a little more. But YUCK, P-Tui! Just because coffee is branded with the name "Salt Spring" does NOT mean that it tastes good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DolphinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Long wait, not worth it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had made reservation as a group of eleven for dinner and the restaurant was not very busy when we arrived. The waitress made us aware that the stuffed chicken breast dish would take 25 minutes. But we waited for over an hour before any of the dishes arrived. In the meantime, no bread or chips or anything complimentary was offered. When we inquired about any snacks (by then we were starving!) we were told we could order a starter. We asked to speak to the manager or owner but neither one was available. The waitress said she did not have the authority to offer us anything free of charge (not even some bread!). When the food finally was served, 1:25 minutes after ordering, it was bland and uninspired and definitely not worth the wait! This restaurant depends on locals to support it thru the winter month and they just drove away 11 people from the neighborhood. We won't be back anytime soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schragette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mexican Night at Fulford Harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We live in Victoria, BC and wanted to get away for dinner, so we parked at the Swartz Bay BC Ferry terminal and took a 35 minute ride over to Salt Spring Island. We had made a reservation with several friends and together we took the ferry over. The ride was adventure time to catch up and get excited for the meal to come. The restaurant was everything we had hoped for. The staff was friendly, the ambiance was superb with a nice intimate atmosphere. The specials were authentic Mexican dishes that tasted wonderful (a new selection every Saturday). My husband had one of their delicious burgers with hand cut fries. For dessert, we had ice cream while our friends bragged about the apple pie they ordered. Overall it was a great experience and a fun get away that I can't wait to do again!

Note - we found out the restaurant is peanut free for those with allergies, and for those without, they use almonds instead

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Salt Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Rock Salt Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing