We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt Spring Inn Restaurant

Salt Spring Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A recently restored heritage propety in the centre of Ganges Village.Indoor and outdoor seating for the restaurant with a charming 7 room hotel above. Quality dining at moderate prices, lounge atmosphere with fireplace is popular with locals and visitors.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my parter spent a night here, for my birthday trip to salt spring, and we couldnt have asked for a better stay. The resturaunt has a great variety of food choices and is located in the heart of ganges. The staff were all very kind and great too. The owners are very sweet people, and we got to meet the famous cat Rita that snoozes in the lobby. Cant wait to stay here again !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you Tasha, on behalf of Rita and her staff, Thank You.
Your taking time to send your comments are most appreciated. We look forward to having you as our guests again. Kind regards, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    98
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The food is average..........no more than that. I like to eat here because of their hours, nice people, and a nice atmosphere.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank shark58SSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback; we always try to find ways to improve on those elements that our guests bring to our attention. We hope to see you again. Regards, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Hotel was nice, friendly, affordable, clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was at first deterred by the slightly haunted look of this hotel but it turns out it was great, clean and modern with all amenities and a nice feeling to it. Despite the black cat sleeping behind the candelabra.

Our room with private bathroom and gas fireplace was quite small but clean and modern, overlooking the street of downtown Ganges. The bathroom fixtures and fireplace all seemed to be quite pristine and new. The bed was soft and comfortable and the linen was nice, I especially appreciated the touch of the duvets just because I could relax knowing it was clean with the cover, unlike other hotels with questionable top sheets :)

The front desk staff was nice and allowed us to extend check out just a bit since it was new year's eve the night before! The only downside was being woken up by the black cat in the morning, once and then twice just as we finally fell back asleep again. I guess he or she was stuck in the hallway and the poor little thing was howling.

A suggestion, it would be nice if the in-room brochures had a little more information, such as the wifi password or helpful information about the town such as location of amenities like gas stations, grocery or convenience stores and things like that. However I really appreciated reading the local newspaper and the in-room booklet about the local artisans, even the more reason to come back.

The restaurant looked nice but we didn't have a chance to enjoy it yet.. I did see it has great reviews though. Thanks Saltspring Inn! We had a great mini vacation with you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ccduckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and excellent suggestions. At this time of year, in particular, our Village businesses tend to close earlier and your suggestion to provide a Ganges business guide would be a great resource.
I will personally have a chat with Rita (the cat) about being "out of bounds"..she had recently been invited into a guests room and now expects everyone to be similarly accommodating!
We look forward to having you as our guests again and hope that you have an opportunity to dine with us too.
Regards, Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hotel and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Love this hotel! We have stayed here twice. It is quite an old hotel but has been renovated and it is lovely. Jeremy, the owner, is very friendly and helpful and is a going concern. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The rooms at the front of the hotel have their own bathrooms and the rooms in the back have shared showers and toilets down the hall. Either way it is a great stay. Sometimes the rooms in the front can be a bit noisy from the "traffic" (very small island so traffic is relative, but if you hear the traffic you should be up and exploring the island.
The restaurant downstairs is fabulous! We had breakfast lunch and dinner there and were not disappointed. We tried other restaurants on the island and loved them but we kept coming back to the hotel for food. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you Lisa, we are always thrilled to receive a compliment..especially one like yours. We appreciate your taking time to let us know that we met your needs so well. Have a great Christmas and hope that you will visit Salt Spring Island and our Inn again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Brunch on SSI?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Really friendly and genuine people, a comfortable atmosphere and an excellent brunch all guarantee we will be back to the Saltspring Inn in future. Be sure to ask for a little of the house-made hot sauce... it was excellent, and if they bottled it we would definitely buy it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tour d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy M, Owner at Salt Spring Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you! We really appreciate you're taking time to provide a review and to hear that we were appreciated.
Please come to Salt Spring again, hope to see you.
Cheers,
Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Spring Inn Restaurant also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Salt Spring Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing