We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for great food and live music”
Review of Tree-House Cafe

Tree-House Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are passionate about serving delicious, wholesome food prepared from scratch. Our cafe is located in the heritage cottage next to Mouat’s in the heart of Ganges village on beautiful Salt Spring Island. We are a one of a kind restaurant and music venue with live music under the stars every night of the summer featuring some of the best live music you will hear anywhere.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place for great food and live music”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Loved this quaint outdoor restaurant with great food and live music. Lively place with a large tree right in the centre! Family friendly venue.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    261
    52
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“relaxing and delicious!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We happened upon this place and were drawn to its fun, laid-back atmosphere. There's a great variety of food choices and the food we saw while waiting for our meals looked appealing, appetizing, healthy and plentiful. The music playing in the background added to the atmosphere. We wish we had a restaurant like this where we live!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great ambience a perfect end to a lovely day!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent the day boating and pulled into Ganges in Salt Spring Island. we ate at the Treehouse and had a wonderful meal. Two folks ordered the ribs that were described as the best ever eaten, one fish dinner was deemed delicious and food allergies were beautifully looked after. I had a veggie burger and it was excellent! Sitting outdoors amongst the tree branches was fun and we all shared a slice( slab!) of their delicious carrot cake for desert! All in all a wonderful dinner in a neat little cafe that was delicious. Dinner for four with no alcohol was around $95. Not really inexpensive for such a casual place but the food was delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nsjetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, but...”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We just returned from a pleasant dinner at the cafe. But the "but..." comes in here. We waited 2 hours to be seated. Normally, this wouldn't be a problem as we would be presented with the ultimatum of staying or going somewhere else. When we put our name down, the hostess told us 1/2 hr. After an hr we figured going somewhere else at this point was pointless, but to wait another hr. By the time we ate we did not enjoy our dinner or the awesome atmosphere because we were all beyond hungry. There were only 3 of us, so its not like we had a big party or anything. We totally understand that people like to stay and enjoy the music, so they don't leave right away after eating. We are not complainers and did not while we were there as everything else was great. Just be honest with people when they ask how long. Err on the side of caution, then we are happy when it is sooner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
338 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A must stop in Ganges”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Tree House has a great location just above the entrance to the Kanaka Wharf. It is literally built around a large tree. We had an excellent breakfast there and we also stopped by at night for amazingly good desserts and music. We always look forward to visiting the Tree House when we dock at Ganges.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MOG808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree-House Cafe also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Tree-House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing