We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local based fare”
Review of Harbour House Restaurant - CLOSED

Harbour House Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Chef Chad Adams creatively uses vegetables, fruit and herbs grown in our own organic garden to create meals that are a feast for the senses. Fresh artisan breads, sauces, and dressings are created in-house from local, sustainable ingredients grown on-site. Take a tour of the farm! Then join us for great food and live entertainment every Saturday & Sunday evening from 6:30pm to 9:30pm.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent local based fare”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I love the Harbour House restaurant, even if the hotel itself seems a bit like Salt Spring Island version of a Howard Johnson's. I love that they actually grow most of their salad and lamb on a farm right out back of the restaurant. We go there all the time and just have a Salt Spring Porter each and a poutine, which is without a doubt the best poutine on the Island. Also notable seafood dishes and pretty much every thing they serve is excellent quality and very good value, for Salt Spring which tends to be fairly expensive to eat out compared to a big city where there is more to choose from. Still i feel confident that you will enjoy the restaurant at Harbour House, it's a local favourite for sure and consistently great food and service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaltspringDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseAnderson, Manager at Harbour House Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thanks for your positive words Ken! We hope to see you again soon. I know you like the local porter but next time you're in, try a sample of our new Saltspring Ales collaboration brew, cucumber mint ale.
It's coming early next week and we are excited.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    24
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Parksville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very disapointing”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Decided to have supper here. Food was awful as well as overpriced. The kitchen was extremely slow as well despite there only being about 6 other customers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseAnderson, Manager at Harbour House Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We are truly sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience. We always try to do our very best to make everyone's visit enjoyable and it obviously wasn't for you. It`s rare that we receive feedback like yours, but mistakes can happen and its unfortunate that it did. We would love the opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

LOVED their meals. Tried brunch and dinner. MANY organic items on their menu that are produced right there on their own farm -- herbs, veggies, eggs, even meat. They favour 'fresh and local'. Their chef prepares delicious food, beautifully presented. Lovely view and outdoor seating. I heartily recommend this amazing restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KTeresaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseAnderson, Manager at Harbour House Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Its great to hear that all our efforts are being noticed and enjoyed. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Reading your review makes us feel that all the hard work is really worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good service and view of the harbour”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The food is largely prepared from organic gardens on site at the hotel. Service is very good with pleasant and accommodating staff.
Live entertainment on the weekends adds to a very comfortable local amtmosphere..

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Briank49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseAnderson, Manager at Harbour House Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
We appreciate your kind review. Thanks Briank49, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We recently visited Salt Spring and ended up here for dinner. We were recommended to go here by the people working at the winery Mistaken Identity and I'm glad we took their advice. The restaurant is very pretty and if it had been nicer weather, we'd have sat outside, which overlooks the harbour. The waiter was really nice, efficient and helpful. The food we had was cooked perfectly and really enjoyed it. It was a lovely evening and a great meal. Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Unknown_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseAnderson, Manager at Harbour House Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
It's great to hear that we are being recommended by local businesses. We are working very hard to offer an experience that is unique and satisfying. I'm glad you had a chance to join us and share your review. Cheers Unknown_7 I hope you return from the land down under for another visit soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour House Restaurant also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing