We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour House Restaurant - CLOSED

Harbour House Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Chef Chad Adams creatively uses vegetables, fruit and herbs grown in our own organic garden to create meals that are a feast for the senses. Fresh artisan breads, sauces, and dressings are created in-house from local, sustainable ingredients grown on-site. Take a tour of the farm! Then join us for great food and live entertainment every Saturday & Sunday evening from 6:30pm to 9:30pm.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Perhaps our taste is too pedestrian but we elected not to stay after the appy. Touted as organic and different - no argument there, but not for the meat and potatoes appetite. A bit pricey too for the amount of food. We did go for breakfast however, bc we were staying there and the oatmeal with toasted hazelnuts and caramelized apples was excellent. The servers were charming and couldn't do enough. Nice views.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank True54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    24
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Farm Fresh produce & Casual Warm Environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Farm fresh organic produce, grown on their own farm no less, which is right out back of the restaurant and you can actually walk in there and have a look at the gardens, the sheep, etc, and a lovely warm fireplace set this hotel and restaurant in it's own class. We go here once a week for poutine and Salt Spring porter (a kind of beer) and always have a good experience!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SaltspringDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The best at reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

First, they have their own garden and use fresh produce.
Second, the service is always prompt and friendly.
Third, The local photography club meets in the lounge for social coffee every Monday morning.
Fourth, the have large and small rooms for special events and meetings.
Fifth, they have a monthly rotating art show in the lobby and restaurant.

Of the modest priced plaves to eat on the island, this is #1 IMO. ##2 is the Seaside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaltSpringCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Seafood was fresh and the seafood pasta had nice size pieces of crab, shrimp, and salmon. Homemade pasta.

Delcious breakfast benny's. Traditional and mexican with a nice twist on a classic.

We will be back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ada98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseAnderson, Manager at Harbour House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thanks for the review! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner, success!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just wanted to take a moment to acknowledge and thank Harbour House for helping to make
my birthday dinner a great experience.

Our server was awesome, super fun and attentive, and having the pianist play a few bars of Happy Birthday as dessert came out was a very nice added touch.

The meal was great, the wine was flowing, and it was a great kickstart to the rest of the evening!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseAnderson, Manager at Harbour House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Fabulous! We are very thankful you chose us for your birthday, hope to see you again soon!

Jesse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour House Restaurant also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing