We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious local food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour House Restaurant - CLOSED

Harbour House Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Chef Chad Adams creatively uses vegetables, fruit and herbs grown in our own organic garden to create meals that are a feast for the senses. Fresh artisan breads, sauces, and dressings are created in-house from local, sustainable ingredients grown on-site. Take a tour of the farm! Then join us for great food and live entertainment every Saturday & Sunday evening from 6:30pm to 9:30pm.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

While staying at the Harbour House Hotel for 2 days over the winter holidays, we ate essentially every meal at the hotel restaurant because it was so delicious we had no reason to branch out! Portions were generous and the food was so fresh and well-made. The gnocchi was housemade from ricotta and the most tender and delicious I have ever had. The produce was largely from the hotel's own farm, which is about 100 metres from the back door of the hotel and available to visit to see the source of our dinner! Very fresh and delicious, with some unusual heritage varieties of greens and root vegetables served unpretentiously.
There are some reviews on here complaining about the service - the service is not formal French-waiter style, but who wants that when on an island holiday anyways? We found our waitresses friendly and efficient, and knowledgeable about the local foods they were serving.
My favourite part of the restaurant is the cozy little couches beside the fireplace, perfect for sitting after dinner with a drink and listening to the live music. Ideal winter romance spot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeanutButterKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    57
    24
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver. B.C.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, healthy options available.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had breakfast and dinner here as it was adjacent to the hotel. The eggs benny with jalapenos was delicious, but requested with sourdough in lieu of their thick bun that comes standard. Pancakes with orange butter and maple syrup with blueberries was delicious. Dinner was generously portioned, not cheap but even in our budget conscious weekend we felt it was worth it. Local wines and beer available at the bar/restaurant and worth a try.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank backpack_to_suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
1 review
“something has changed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Something has changed at the Harbour House Hotel restaurant. This used to be our place of choice for dining out when visiting the island, but not now. Sloppy presentation, overcooked, lukewarm food, and long waits for food to arrive add up to a poor dining experience.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh counts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I live here on Salt Spring and this restaurant is my #1 go-to. My partner and son are gluten intolerant and the chef here makes amends for that. The food is the freshest available since much of it comes from their beautiful organic farm. The chef is creative but also good at comfort foods. The bar serves good beers on tap and makes good mixed drinks. They often have music in the evenings. On a summer afternoon, the patio can't be beat for the view and the lovely flower gardens. The servers are friendly and competent. There's nothing more to ask for! Oh, except maybe a good iced tea without sweeteners (oh...am I an American in Canada? uh...yeah).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tulsigrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The garden in the back says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The garden in the back says it all: this is great,fresh local food, in the tradition of the French laundry or chez panisse but with reasonable prices. Thoughtful sumptuous recipes are created from nearby ingredients including saltspring mussels, local organic chicken and saltspring cheeses. Also, a reasonable wine list with a modest but complete range of local and imported wines. We left feeling happy and eager to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour House Restaurant also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing