We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“four dishes all good”

Restaurant House Piccolo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“four dishes all good”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were four diners seeking fine dining on Saltspring and were delighted to find reviews of Piccolo were all accurate. All of us had different mains and all were excellent - fresh, well prepared, delicious. (veal, duck, sablefish, venison) I have not been to very many restaurants where every dish was of interest and worthy of consideration. Slight downgrade as our server (new) did not know the menu as thoroughly as might be expected but otherwise terrific. Decor simple, wine list satisfactory. For a "resort" destination an absolute five star experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    29
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nothing to dislike here. European atmosphere and a wonderful ambience. The food is outstanding and the wine list is classic.
A must visit for those who like the best.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice in some ways”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant a couple of years ago and the food was much better at that time. It is a cute little restaurant and has a lovely atmosphere. The service is very attentive and genuine. We were made to feel welcomed and seated right away. There is a very large selections of wine for those who enjoy special wines. We started with appetizers. I had the squash soup which was very delicious. My husband had the baltic marinated herring. He enjoy this very much. I can't say the same for my rack of lamb chops. I had ordered them med. rare but they came to the table well done. I mentioned this to the server and she said she could take them back but this was the special and there were no more left so I ate them well done. We were there at 6:30 pm and the special was already almost gone. My husband had the spring salmon which was quite dry from too much cooking. The food was very salted for both our liking. We skipped dessert and had just coffee and left. I probably would go there again, but not with the same expectations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we've been to in years!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a lovely, serene restaurant located in a small house near the center of Ganges. It is the type of restaurant where you take your first bite and sigh with pleasure. I had the tenderloin au poivre the first night and it was exquisite! The scallops the next night were also wonderful. Yes, we went two nights in a row. The desserts were also great.

The service was excellent, the décor lovely. If you want a special dinner while on Salt Spring Island, make sure you go here!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PNWBWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lamb shanks that melt in your mouth”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended this restaurant by several locals. They were all spot on. We had lamb shank and risotto and it all just end melted in our mouths. Gravlax appetizer was very good as well. It's rather small so I'd definitely suggest reservations.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank becky3176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant House Piccolo also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Ganges, Salt Spring Island
 
Ganges, Salt Spring Island
Ganges, Salt Spring Island
 

Been to Restaurant House Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing