We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, menu and staff”

Restaurant House Piccolo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
BC Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food, menu and staff”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A little dated the restaurant, but makes up for the lack of ambiance by offering gorgeous food, and wines.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    27
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Reliable, Friendly, Unchanging and Excellent”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This restaurant is a stalwart on Salt Spring Island. It seems that many restaurants have difficulty surviving the winter slow season or change ownership as owners relocate. But Piccolo's scandanavian owner seems to have dialed in an unwavering formula that works to keep itself packed. After a first visit in 1999 on a sailing trip, I've been back scores of times. Paul, the avuncular and charming veteran waiter, still mixes the same great Manhattens and laughs at anything he senses might be a joke. The menu is pretty much word for word unchanged, with only the prices expanding and salad no longer complimentary. A specialty is salmon, either caught fresh and poached or sautéed perfectly, or home made gravlax. Other fresh fish, really great weiner schnitzel, great risotto, beef and venison are also on the menu. The wine list is extensive and expensive, and wins awards, though there are a limited number of reasonable selections by the glass. Reservations are almost always needed on summer weekends due to the yachtsmen who frequent Ganges Harbor and the fact that seats are limited by the size of the smallish house that the restaurant occupies.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane94306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love House Piccolo!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Whenever I am on Salt Spring I have dinner here. On my last trip I ate there on both Friday and Sunday. Amazing food, beautiful prepared and presented and outstanding service. House Piccolo never disappoints. It is very small so be sure and make reservations.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and very professional service.”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We loved the small, intimate space, the wonderful food and the exceptional service. We were greeted warmly and had attentive, professional service through our meal (attentive, professional service being hard to come by at a lot of Ganges restaurants). I would highly recommend this restaurant. Though not inexpensive it's worth paying for this level of service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank canajungirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Treasure!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have recently discovered House Piccolo on Salt Spring Island. We have been there several times ourselves while boating in the Gulf Islands - and now we have a terrific place to take our guests. Lovely service. Delicious food. Love that seafood salad. Great wine selection. We will be there again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJimVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant House Piccolo also viewed

Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
Salt Spring Island, British Columbia
 

Been to Restaurant House Piccolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing